crazy new neighbor thinks she owns our entire building and tries to kick me out of my own house our new neighbor thinks she owns the building March 30th 2022 so let me begin this with I'm on mobile so sorry for the formatting anyway I 31f live in a block of six units apartments for non-australians a month ago the unit above mine went up for sale and sold fairly quickly and the new owner moved in less than a week ago this morning I got up and went to take rubbish out and found a note stuck to
my door I honestly thought it was a I'm new to the building kind of note you no oh I could not have been more wrong dear tenant I recently bought your building and wish to introduce myself my name blah blah not going to put her actual name and I think you will find me a fair landlord however I do have rules one everyone is to be in their units by 9 p.m. if you're going to be out past this I suggest you find accommodation elsewhere two no pets allowed if you have any they must be
relocated before I do an inspection or I will call the ranger to remove them this is the only warning three I will conduct an inspection once a month and you will be present to answer any questions or face eviction four failure to pay rent on time will result in your eviction if we all follow these rules I'm sure we will get along sincerely blah blah what the f did I just read fun fact about my building we all own our own units nobody actually owns the whole building I won't lie I got to the number
two and had a slight panic attack because I have cats and there's no way I was giving them away before I remembered we bought our unit just before Christmas we rented it from a friend prior and when she told me she was thinking about selling it we brought it didn't even have to move so in some ways it still feels like renting but we actually own our unit now I'm not great at confronting someone I tend to shake a lot but at that moment I was quite angry so I went upstairs and knocked on her
door you know the gut feeling you have it was spot on that door opened and there stood a Karen her hair blonder than my own her nails long and bright colored she didn't look happy to see me there I introduced myself and explained that I lived downstairs and that I wanted to talk to her about her note she started to talk over top of me explaining that her letter was basic rules and even a child could understand it and if I didn't like her rules I could hand and a letter to vacate wow I would
ask if people are really this up themselves but I work in retail and could answer my own question I told her that I actually own my unit she hadn't bought it or the rest of the building but only her own unit and that she couldn't enforce anything in her note she didn't like that at all she started yelling at me saying that yes she had indeed bought the whole building and that failure to comply with her rules would mean I would be evicted I was just starting to think maybe I was wrong when another neighbor
opened his door he came out and asked what the issues was about and could she stop screaming as he worked nights and was trying to sleep I told him I was trying to explain that she hadn't bought the building and she started yelling again my neighbor told her to stop and then said the best thing I had heard that day are you stupid her jaw dropped as he explained to her how wrong she was and that he was in fact part of the straa committee kind of like a HOA that oversees the building and that
she had no right to make rules for everyone she gave us dirty looks before slamming the door I thanked him and he said in the entire time he lived there he hadn't seen someone so entitled update 1 April 2nd 2022 so I guess this is an update to my last post I had a lot of people ask me to post if she did anything else this is also currently happening and my so is witnessing it and texting me as I'm at work so if you missed my last post I had a new neighbor move into
my building and she left notes on everyone's doors saying she had brought the building and gave us insane rules to follow she does not own the building but only a unit or apartment jury is still out if she is insane or stupid she has been quiet for the last few days and I thought maybe that's it apparently I was wrong so each unit in our building is allocated one parking space just one I park in mine and my so Parks his car on the street on the other side of the building our parking lot had
one visitor space it's a very small parking lot six spots for residents and one visitor the visitor spot is nearly always empty and my neighbors have said my so could park his car there if he wanted as we are the only unit with two cars but he doesn't mind parking where he is this morning my so woke up to yelling our kitchen window overlooks the parking lot and he snuck a peek out the window and saw entitled neighbor standing next to our nice neighbor's car and they were arguing loudly she kept yelling ug that she
had a second car and needed to park in his spot and he had to move his car or else she would have it towed he kept repeating that it was his parking spot and she could either park it in the visitor's spot or on the street and if she towed his car he would report it stolen so said she kept yelling she can park where she wants and he needed to move it or else so my so decided to park his car in my empty spot in case she tried to park there while I'm at
work last message he sent me she has stormed upstairs in a huff and slammed her door update I got home from work and she has parked her second car in the visitor spot but she's parked at so badly it's blocking the driveway in right now I'm parked on the street but too tired to deal with her update to sorry I didn't update sooner so like I said before her car was basically blocking the driveway and I had to park on the street anyway when I got up for work the next day it was still there
but when I came home it had gone I asked my so as he was at home and apparently a tow truck came and took it away I'm still not sure which neighbor called the tow truck but I have a suspicion it's the one she was arguing with so said she has been quiet all day only the odd footsteps update 2 April 5 2022 well I'm back as many of you predicted her entitlement grew in case anyone missed the update on my last post her car was towed but I don't know which neighbor did it I'd
count a link post sorry this made her more angry but seeing as I was at work she hasn't blamed me or my S it's been raining all week and as I don't have a dryer I haven't been able to do any big items like sheets or towels only clothes as I can hang them up inside on Saturday it was finally sunny and I raced home from work dragged my SE out of bed so I could wash all the blankets and dry them in case it rained again I managed to get through five yes five loads
of sheets blankets and towels and I hung them all out of the line outside we all share it there are technically two different lines for us to use and we have never had an issue before I hung out my last load and went inside to chill I went back out about an hour later to get the first load off and found every single item I had hung out on the ground nothing had replaced it all dot of it had been torn down in my pegs and Peg basket gone most of what I'd hung out was
still wet and now covered in dirt I got my sew and he helped me bring everything inside before I went upstairs and knocked on her door when she answered I asked if she had taken my washing off the line and she smugly informed me that she had not given my permission to use her line and that next time I should be polite and ask and she might let me look I'm going to level with you guys I work in retail and deal with nightmare customers I know how to be calm around these kind of people
and I tried to be polite about this whole thing with the letter and the car but my bed is my safe space and I wanted it clean and she with that just to be Petty I calmly told her that everyone can use the line it's part of the building and nobody has to ask her permission she tried to talk over me but I just held my hand up and told her I was part of the straa committee I know all the rules and who owns what and she needs to pull her head out of her
ass grow up and stop her behavior because it's not doing her any favors I told her to have a nice day before she slammed her door update 3 April 10th 2022 I was really hoping my neighbor would settle down but here we are though this story has a satisfying ending I think this just happened last night and I'm still a bit tired so I'm sorry for any spelling mistakes our neighbor had been quiet for a while in my so and I thought maybe she had finally realized she couldn't control the whole building one one of
her cars was parked in her spot and the other was parked on the street behind my so's car nobody's washing had been ripped off the line no new notes were stuck to doors until yesterday as we are the bottom unit apartment we have a side door that opens out onto the shared yard I think the only time I use the door is to air the place out or as a shortcut to hang washing out sorry anyway yesterday we were going about our day when we saw entitled neighbor and a few other people setting up tables
and chairs in the yard no big deal it's shared space a few minutes later there's a knock on the side door and it's her so opened the door it's a glass sliding door so she could see us we couldn't pretend we weren't there and did the usual greetings she told us she was having a party and we needed to move our wooden Planters off our patio because she needed the space for her barbecue um no firstly the patio is our space not shared space and secondly they sit right next to the glass door so I
don't want some random looking into my living room all night while they are cooking so reminded her she doesn't own the building and we wouldn't be moving when one of her friends asked WTF was she doing they had already set up the barbecue in the yard she huffed and walked off without saying anything us and we thought that was it it was not a few hours go by and we ended closing the curtains for privacy whoever designed this building didn't really keep privacy in mind for a detail but anyway we can hear talking laughing and
cooking the usual sounds of a backyard party when there's another knock on the door I was cooking dinner so my so answered it again this time it was one of her friends saying she had to use the bathroom an entitled neighbor told her to just knock on our door instead of walking upstairs so politely told her sorry but she couldn't use hours and she apologized for knocking and intruding not even 2 minutes later there's banging on the door and by now my so is pissed he opened the door and entitled neighbor started to lay into
to him about how dare he expect her guest to go all the way upstairs and that he needed to apologize to her and keep the door open for her guests now my so is usually a calm guy very easy to talk to and rational but in that moment he lost his he told her to off and stop bothering us to get her head out of her ass and she can't lay claim to everything she sees our bathro wasn't hers to use her guests could use her bathroom and if she knocked on our door again he
would call the police for harassment at this at this point one of her friends came over and told entitled neighbor she needed to leave us alone and stop bugging us before apologizing and telling us to have a good night we expected the party to be loud and go on all night but it actually wrapped up pretty early about 1:00 a.m. I think this morning when I got up everything had been cleaned up from the yard but our Planters had been knocked over jokes on her because we hadn't planted anything in them yet and most of
the soil in there was used cat litter I used potting mix as cat litter because it's cheaper so now she can smell my cat's old turds update 4 May 1st 2022 while I'm back back I thought maybe my neighbor had settled down and I was done with her behavior I do hear her fighting with the upstairs neighbor now and then but that's about it this happened this afternoon and I'm still trying to figure out how her brain works so in my previous posts I explained how my new neighbor thinks she owns the building our apartment
is in news flash she doesn't and implemented some crazy ass rules none of which were legal it took a few arguments but I thought she finally understood she didn't own everything boy was I wrong so as I am on the ground floor I have a glass sliding door that opens out into the shared yard not happy about this but we mainly treat it like a window anyway being that it was a nice cool day I had the door open but the screen door shut and locked so I could air the house out after having rained
and the house smelling musty whenever that door is open my cats will sit at it and watch all the birds outside I was pretty tired and my so suggested we both lay down and have a nap while I wait for the washing machine to finish thought sure why not it's quiet today and we went and laid down we were woken up about an hour later to a rattling noise in the lounge room and I thought maybe one of the cats had tried to climb the screen door again so I got up to scold them and
found my entitled neighbor trying to to open my screen door like really pulling on it to the point the whole door was shaking I asked her what was she doing and she told me she had seen my cats through the door while on her way to hang clothes out and wanted to pet them but the door was stuck I told her it wasn't stuck it was locked because this is a private residence and she can't just walk in here whenever she pleased she kept trying to open the door while yelling that I can't keep my
cats from people if they want to pet them and it's her right to show them real love I repeated that this was my home and she couldn't walk in whenever she wanted this really seemed to piss her off and she started to yell at me that I was a little and was abusing my animals and how dare I speak to her like that at this point I was pretty sick of being yelled at in my own home so I just mustered up the sweetest smile I could before politely telling her to off if look could
kill my cats would be eating my body right now she tried to open the door again when my so came out and said he would call the police if she didn't stop she finally let go of the door glared at us and stormed off needless to say we are ordering another camera for that door now and yes my cats are microchipped ETA thought I might add this as it's been in a few comments my phone was charging in my bedroom and I didn't take it out with me when I got up where I live the
police aren't very helpful unless it's actually happening but I didn't want to turn my back on crazy my soul only got out of bed when he heard shouting because he thought I was talking to the cats update 5 June 2022 so if you're new to the story here's a brief recap or you can check my history my entitled neighbor brought the unit above us and thought she bought the whole building she hadn't and tried to implement some insane rules she also tried to park in other people's assigned parking and threatened to have our cars toad
told me I was abusing my cats because I wouldn't let her pet them screamed at me because I wouldn't let her friends use my bathroom anyway it's been quiet for a few weeks I normally hear her arguing with another neighbor all the time but lately nothing last week I brought a new car yay and it's slightly bigger than my old car so I'm not confident enough to park it in my spot so I've been parking on the street the other day I got home from work and I saw a young man standing on her balcony
he was quite friendly called out hello to me and introduced himself as her nephew and explained why he was there she broke her foot apparently at the last family dinner she tripped over a dog and broke her foot and is now staying with family because she can't get up and down the stairs he said he was house sitting because she said she didn't trust her neighbors but he admitted we are all really nice and quiet and maybe she is just crazy it took all my strength to not sing and dance right there update 6 June
15th 2022 well she's back was hoping she just wouldn't come back after she broke her foot but last week we heard a door slam from upstairs we looked outside and yep her car is there no idea if her nephew who was house sitting is there or not still anyway a few days ago I tested positive for the much whispered pathogen and I've been doing the right thing and staying inside and dying quietly I'm fully vaccinated so it's not that bad though I could live without the headaches my partner was away all day Saturday because he
was picking up his new car and he got home late Saturday afternoon parking his new car on the back lawn so he could give it a quick hose down from the drive I was inside watching through the sliding door when I heard her balcony door open and she started yelling at him to get off her lawn he told her to shove it it's not her lawn and he is done when he is done and can she please stop yelling because I have Co and it doesn't help the migraines well that was mistake I heard her
storming down the stairs and she starts banging on our door screaming that I'm diseased and I need to isolate somewhere else before she gets sick and if I don't leave she was going to call the police I told her through the main door that she has been told repeatedly she can't kick us out of our own place that we own I am staying inside and that she could call the police if she wanted but she would more than likely be find herself for wasting their time according to myo who was coming in after moving his
car she looked down right murderous but once she saw him she took off up the stairs haven't heard anything from her since or anything from the police so we think it was an empty threat I was so tempted to open the door because like they say sharing is caring ETA just wanted to add because I've had a few comments on it we can't get her evicted from her own home as she owns it just like we own ours also lawyers in Australia are very expensive just to talk to like when we brought our unit th
lawyers handling the sale charged us for everything they stuffed up the paperwork by misspelling my name and then charged us more to reissue the papers with the correct name as far as I know my upstairs neighbor spoke to his lawyer about her but they can't do much anyway update 8 7 October 6 2022 I'm back did you miss me I won't lie I was hoping I would never have to post again and she would become a normal neighbor I was wrong so she was so quiet for so long and her car was barely there I
was starting to think maybe she had moved out but I got a nice reminder last week that she is still around to start this story I must give a brief background there are eight units total in this building I am on the ground floor and the very nice old lady across the hallway and I have an unspoken rule that if one of us is home and the other isn't we sign for and accept packages so they just aren't let left in the hallway I had been expecting a package and I had a feeling it was
going to show up while I was at work but I wasn't worried because of my nice old neighbor she would drop it off when I got home no drama right wrong my nice old neighbor had actually gone away for a few days so with nobody around my package was left next to my front door but it wasn't there when I got home oh yes yes dear reader she had it about 10 minutes after I got home I heard the familiar stomping on the stairs and the banging on my door long story short my package had
been delivered and she wanted to do the nice thing and hold on to it until I came home but apparently it had accidentally ripped and she saw what was inside I won't lie it was sex toys I like to treat myself sui the moment I opened the door she threw my package at me yelling how I was a disgusting pervert and I should move out before it spreads I told her that opening someone else's mail is a crime it's not a crime to buy those kind of things but thanks for taking care of my package