I never thought I would ever say this but I miss Len Manuel Miranda if Moana 2 came out 30 years ago it would be lost at a bottom of Walmart $5 bins as one of Disney's direct DVD sequels to animated Classics forgotten to time only there to try and squeeze out some more life from a story that ended perfectly like all of these except this one I like this one a lot this movie would have been nothing but a vague memory to most until some random YouTuber similar to me is is like oh did you
know that they made a sequel to Moana and then that video gets a billion views and the YouTuber makes 30,000 more videos and the cycle repeats and repeats and repeats basically what I'm saying here is that Moana 2 feels like a larger scale version of these something that really should have not been released in the state with this type of halfhazard attitude by the executives that were pushing it if you haven't heard by now this movie was supposed to be a Disney Plus show but with Disney constantly panicking for more money they were like wait
wait wait wait we have nothing coming out this winter we we need to make the real money and so they just repackaged this show entirely taking a fun simple show and butchering it Into Obscurity completely trench coding it as a gigantic movie for the holidays for everyone to see as a big family little do they all know they got scammed to paint the full picture it's going to take a bit of context because while Moana 2 isn't the worst movie of the year or anything there's a lot wrong with it that go beyond just being
very planned because whether or not you actually end up enjoying this movie which is fine by the way you should understand what it can mean for animation as a whole and how companies treat not just the audience watching them but The Talented artists that make them the first Moana while full of little flaws in its story is a stunning work of art I remember watching in theaters with all of my friends I was only like 17 at the time and it just washed over me like a wave the animation just made me emotional the fluid
physics in the water was an actual dream it reminded of when Pixar first started and their approach to animating movies it was like seeing Disney's in-house animators finally grab that Pixar magic for a moment which by the way if you didn't know the magic of the early 2000s was seeing Pixar movies evolve which was kind of fun to grow up alongside each movie would take a step further into animation technology Finding Nemo with surface scattering and lighting Wally with a virtual lifelike camera movements the balloons and up being one of the few instances in animation
that could showcase hundreds upon hundreds of simulated objects at once I mean cars gets a lot of flak despite being one of my favorites but it revolutionize reflective metal surfaces which ended up being incorporated into movies like Iron Man and Transformers I mention all this because that's what Moana felt like for years Disney was trying to grab that Pixar magic making their own 3D animated movies aide Pixar and while early attempts were cute in 2016 alone we got zootopia and and Moana with the most high definition stunning gorgeous 4K HD clear as day oh my
God the water is perfect is the best looking water that you will ever see in an animated movie I mean the theme the message the core ideals it better have been done perfect it's all about water I mean it just did water the best and I don't think anything will ever top it except a Moana 2 but imagine my surprise when I watch Moana 2 and the water is just water it's less fluid than the first less clear defined or focused on it's just there like like any other animated movie it feels dated immediately well
if this launch is a TV show then fine you know what it's really high quality for a TV show but to go out of your way to see something Grand on the big screen just to find out that it's not meant to be seen this way that's really sad you can tell Manu was quickly repackaged and shipped as a movie the marketing has been very lackluster because I think Disney's just hoping to grab some easy money without sounding too confident about it and I just think moan as a whole as a property deserves better the
first movie just means so much to so many people representing a group that's rarely shown on the screen with this much passion movie a show and then a proper sequel is what fans really deserved but here there's just so little to take away I mean the entire journey in this movie is just so aimless so nonconsequential punal when I tell you that there's no conflict in this movie I actually mean it the first movie with its Grand Stakes of saving the island while dealing with pompous self-righteous demigod the energy was massive the journey was captivating
you really root for Moana to win you really need her to win and the crazy creatures that she meets along the way are interesting and hilarious I mean one of them literally has one of the best YouTube channels on this site and then in Moana 2 you meet nobody you have someone that you think is is a villain but as quick as you meet them you they're just not a villain anymore and then they're just out of the movie and then the real big bad villain who you are supposed to worry about you never see
him until the mid credits and it's just Moana and Maui chasing a cloud for the third of the movie what is the plot what is the plot I mean okay I'll tell you what the plot is supposed to be it's supposed to be watched over a 30 minute to hour long episode on Disney plus the villain that you meet probably would have had a whole episode to develop her and why she's holding Maui hostage for like 30 minutes it's so dangerously stupid and butchered it's hard to tell the motivations in anything the first movie Moana
goes on a journey of self-discovery battling internal conflicts with her father and responsibility to the village and having to prove herself that she can do what she has to here she just goes on a little road trip with her buddies there's nothing in any of these small moments throughout the movie that change her being or anyone else around hers being the pacing is the worst part the intro tries to introduce moana's little sister it shows a couple couple new friendly faces it has the dad with gray hairs it tries to add more life to the
island but you have no time to really feel like it's living as soon as the movie opens with Moana on the island she has to get off the island I mean even faster than the first movie I generally almost couldn't stop laughing at one point for when 5 Seconds Moana is feeling some type of way about having to leave and then her grandma just shows up in the most awkward way imaginable it was like a super cut a a YouTube poop that removed all the context I just couldn't believe what I what I was watching
it was just so funny for a movie that's all about the natural movement of water and the flow that it holds it's hilarious how broken the stream is here the cast of characters Moana brings with her on the journey don't get any time to shine they feel like they actually could be pretty fun characters if we could just spend more time with them but we we just don't and don't get me started on the music maybe the most lifeless songs I have ever heard maybe the most put together absolutely nothing song to ever exist it
made me appreciate the first movie soundtrack so much more it made me appreciate Linn manwell Miranda more because while that man is cringe he can write a dang song and you notice immediately that his style is missing in this and it just it just drags on and on and on they even try to have fast rapping segments with some characters to replicate Maui's part in the First and instead it just sounds like a kid talking really fast like relax I can't I can't even understand you please please just relax oh yeah by the way Maui
notice how I haven't even really mentioned him he's just a gag character here no story or worth his Arc was finished in the first movie so he's just here to be here because that's that's who's in the series you know perfectly fine for him to cameo in a kid show but in this movie it's distracting and dull and that's the thing Moana one is a kids movie sure yeah but it can be enjoyed by all audiences it has the cute dumb moments for kids but the Epic serious drasic nature and wonder that anyone else can
Vibe with Moana 2 is is just for kids only for kids it is not for anyone else other than a small child the amount of gags the pad to runtime and keep small kids somewhat entertained are 20 times the amount of the first it's lacking in dialogue to move characters forward there's no Dead Space to take anything in you're either moving right to the next scene or seeing a character get kicked in a groin for a gag but at the end of the it's it's still not the worst movie ever not not at all but
it's sad what it represents you see the animation for this was outsourced mainly to Disney Studios that are in Vancouver outside of the US they did this because of it being easier and cheaper to produce the show because well there's less Union there than there is in California for all their other animated movies like where they animated Moana 1 and inside out too and a bunch of others and it just worries me that if this movie succeeds Disney will continue to Outsource to a somewhat lesser and cheaper studio for these movies Studios that are no
doubt talented but haven't been equipped to make large scale Timeless Classics like the first Moana it worries me to see this happen when right off the heels of Disney firing so many animators at Pixar before Inside Out 2 even released Inside Out 2 by the way becoming the highest grossing animated film of all time and yet the people that worked on it are fired before it even comes out it's this oneandone energy that Disney has been enforcing ing for a while recently spending too much money on the wrong things and making others suffer because of
it even with their success and then taking the success of the wrong things and keeping that cycle going it's also just insulting to imagine that these Executives think audiences are too stupid to see the difference and quality between a show and a movie a show is supposed to be longer more time spent on the world of story but slower paced you get to learn more about everyone but also allows for a cheaper production because Mak so much of one thing in just a short amount of time it is impossible movies are a large scale commitment
to make a Timeless but shorter project people tend to put infinitely more time into a movie than a show because the nature of going out and spending money on that one movie to watch is an event you're not just buying a month of content for $15 but a ticketed 2hour event where Everything feels big and Grand and amazing and that's not what Moana 2 is and trying to put it in a lineup as all these others is lame at the end of the day Moana 2 was never going to work unless it was made to
be a movie from the beginning and I wor for the kids that would grow up questioning the quality drop off between Moana 1 and 2 and just wondering where it all went wrong and don't tell me that kids are too stupid to notice because I did when I was 11 with Cars one and Cars 2 Moana just feels like a mistake from another time yet it's still happening and somehow feels more frequent than ever I just hope that if there ever truly is a Moana 3 if if there ever is let it get the time
and quality that it really deserves hey guys I've been MIA for a bit trying to figure out stuff behind the scenes and juggle my main real life job while uploading here on YouTube it's been a bit tough but I've been working on an over thee Garden Wall video for a while and it feels kind of dumb to release it near winter when it's such a fall feeling type of thing but something I've been pushing off for years now and I feel like if I don't drop it this year I'll just never drop it so yeah
just uh be on the lookout for that and I don't know I'm I'm I'm turning 26 on the 29th of November so if this comes out on that date or before then or after or whatever just just know I'm really freaking old anyways as always thanks for listening [Music]