well I saw Moana too I remember when this was first announced earlier this year which is not normal for an animated movie at all yeah this is actually a retool Disney plus series that got frankensteined into a cinematic feature cuz I guess Disney was so upset that wish didn't make any money that they needed a big hit as a result this is the first Disney animated movie to not be animated inhouse instead it was done by the Vancouver Studio presumably for cheaper than any other modern Disney theatrical animated movie and considering how they had to
upgrade the animation to the standards of a theatrical film I can only imagine this led to a lot of crunching the animators to get it out in time there isn't any proof that this happens yet but like considering how often it happens with other animated movies that in theory should be produced the normal way I would be genuinely shocked if crunch didn't happen on a movie with this tight of a production time I'm honestly worried about the future of Disney Animation Studios if this movie successful which let's be honest it will be recently it was
reported that Moana is like the most watched Disney movie ever on streaming so it would be stupid to assume that a sequel wouldn't bring in the big bucks this was a very smart decision for the Disney Executives even if it comes at the expense of their loyal hardworking animators if they can get a rushed lower budget animated sequel to make a billion dollars then what incentive do they have to keep producing animated movies inh house especially when the last two in- house animated movies famously flopped well okay wish famously flopped Strange World flopped but nobody
even noticed but like that's worse right you do realize that's worse basically what I'm trying to say is don't see Moana 2 in theaters I know me saying that isn't going to change anything about its box office but like I don't want this movie's production practices to be normalized they will anyway but what are you going to do the good news is the movie was pretty mid so it's not like you're missing anything the story is certainly 3 episodes of a TV show stapled together just like the good old days welcome back Atlantis Milo's Return
okay okay it's not that bad they do kind of tie everything together into one cohesive story but the pacing is pretty wonky and you can very much tell where the episodes start and end this is the one where they meet the kakamura this is the one where they go to the clam underworld this is the one where they fight the purple electric monster it makes it so Moana and Maui don't actually reunite until like over halfway through the movie so you don't really get that great chemistry between them too much instead Moana has three new
friends and they're all kind of one node and boring the one guy likes Maui and likes drawing Legends the girl is smart and fiddles with the canoe the old guy is grumpy the friends don't really add anything outside of the one artist guy translating a kakamura drawing and then that's it and Moana has like no personal struggle to go through in this it's just can I sail to this dangerous Island again all that heavy self-doubt she had to contend with in the first movie isn't really there anymore until the plot decides it needs to be
so Maui can sing a mediocre song about it oh yeah the songs are pretty uniformly mediocre by the way they all kind of run the Gambit of fine but forgettable I didn't notice any atrocious wish level lyrics but also I can't hum any of them the loss of lim well Miranda is sorely felt here and yet so many of these songs try and emulate his only to f at it not just the fast rapping and quote unquote clever word play it's like they literally feel like reworkings of every song from the previous movie the opening
song it just feels like where you are again the I want song it's kind of just how far I'll go again she literally climbs up the same steps why am I not just watching the first movie Maui's song is like you're welcome again the visuals are pretty cute but that's about it is not great I think the only song that was half decent was sung by a new character it was fun adjacent but also all the swirling colors throughout the sequence just made it feel like the poor man's shiny and do I look like someone
who would settle for the poor man's shiny not to get into spoilers or anything but this new bat lady character was very disappointing I thought what they did with her was just really lame and it's not even a cool twist it's just kind of I don't know it just happens things just happen in this movie They Don't Really flow together they don't really leave an impact on you the editing is very very very choppy like there was one scene where you see moana's Grandma surfing towards her as the Ray and then it cuts to moana's
reaction and then it cuts back as she's already in her human form it just happens so quick and leaves no impact and that applies to like 20 or 30 different moments in this film I counted roughly and yeah the animation is not great they dressed it up with similar textures to the original to make it look presentable but then if you look at it in motion nothing is as fluid or expressive as it is in the first movie there are characters in the background whose faces look stiff and unsettling the main character's movement of faces
are noticeably more rigid I was not impressed by a single shot of the water in this movie which if you know me you know that's very important to me I take amazing looking water very seriously but the Ocean looks so boring in this oh and the character of the ocean that sentient wave it barely shows up probably cuz they didn't have the budget to animate something so complex cuz this wasn't supposed to be a theater this would have been a perfectly fine cute little Disney plus series but nothing about it holds up to the scrutiny
of a theatrical release not even the writing it's just really Bland the new characters are so forgettable like I said and Moana and Maui are just way less interesting now that they don't have anything going on internal struggle wise there were a bunch of kids in the theater and the only time I ever heard any of them laugh was when the chicken screamed me personally I chuckled one time when the old guy used a cabbage like a paper bag to breathe into that's it that's the only thing I found funny in this I guess I
can kind of give the movie credit for its climax it made me think hey that's pretty neat that does some kind of fascinating things they walk back on one of those fascinating things as expected and the other one I'm not even clear on what it means like something happens to Moana and I I I I couldn't even tell you what they don't explain it at all even so the danger in the final sequence really woke me up out of my coma and there's a pretty cool moment afterwards is it worth seeing the movie for no
the truth of the matter is I'm going to forget everything that happened to Moana 2 by tomorrow I said that in my letter box review of wish a year ago and obviously that didn't age well because wish and its awful lyrics and script became the internet's punching bag for a while there but I'm pretty confident that statement's going to hold true for this one it's like nothing it's about nothing you just want to see Moana and Maui sail across the ocean again and fight stuff here you go a couple cute new creature designs they expand
on a bit of the lore and introduce an interesting Pantheon of gods that can come into play in Moana 3 because yeah they're definitely making that this movie has the most overtly marveles mid credits teas I've ever seen in an animated movie and like I'm not opposed to more Moana but it has to be done by people who really know what they're doing I mentioned that the loss of Lyn me Miranda in the song department is felt but the same is absolutely true for the legendary Ron Clemens and Don muser who directed the first film
surprisingly if you try and replace the directors of The Little Mermaid and Aladdin when making a sequel to one of their movies you get something on the same level as The Little Mermaid 2 and Aladdin 2 Return of Jafar I know what a concept welcome back Disney directed DVD sequels 5 out of 10 one of the most boring movies I've seen all year but with that said and guys this is the official end of the video if you don't want any spoilers whatsoever you can click off here 3 2 1 Penguins as I used to
say before I just gave up on having spoiler segments in my videos but like I got to do it here are you ready it's time to answer the question on everyone's mind was tomato TOA in the movie see I only thought they would do it if he was in the mid credit scene cuz I didn't see any scenario in which they returned to him during the main plot overall though I didn't really care that much I mean after after all I own the rights to Toma anyway so it's not like Disney could legally use him
even if they wanted to but with that said did they circumvent copyright law and find a way to include him in the mid- credit scene anyway yes they did oh my God yes I leaned all the way up in my chair my mouth was open he sang a little song about his funny crab leges the writing on him was completely consistent with the first film oh my God yes it was the best moment of my entire life so yeah just for that I'm giving this movie 1 billion kajillion trillion out of 10 but it was
also very dull and Disney is definitely going to gut their main Studio sometime in the next 10 years if it makes a lot of money so don't watch it [Applause] oh