Hello friends and welcome back to Scaling Stories. Today I'm going to be playing some survival Minecraft while reading some stories I found on Reddit. Also, by the way, I know I'm able to run in Minecraft.
Some people were telling me in the comments to run more. I'm just trying my best to walk most of the time so it's easier on the eyes with the captions in mind. So, with that out of the way, this story was titled, "My boyfriend doesn't want me to go to my best friend's wedding.
" It was posted by sorry particular 169 on January 25th, 2026. Okay, I don't know what to do because I'm really torn and I understand where my boyfriend is coming from. My boyfriend Jake, 23 male, and I, 21 female, have been together for 2 years.
We met during orientation at university. Everything is great between us. He's met my best friend, Ella, 21, female, who is getting married to her boyfriend of four years.
They are high school sweethearts, and I love both of them. We were all friends during high school and grew up together. They were always together and perfect for each other.
I only dated one other person during high school, and his name was Sam. I really liked Sam. We dated for three years during school and spoke often about going to uni together and getting married, but it was young love.
And when acceptance letters came around, he ended up moving out of state, so we broke up. My best friend asked me to be her maid of honor, and I'm so excited. We've been wedding planning for the past couple of months while her fiance was finalizing his groomsman.
I was surprised when she told me Sam would be the best man. I told my boyfriend about this, and he wasn't happy with the idea of me attending the wedding, as Ella expected each of the bridesmaids and groomsmen to be paired up for activities such as walking down the aisle and the first dance, as well as photos. He didn't like the idea of me doing all those romantic things with an ex-boyfriend.
I explained to him that Sam and I haven't even seen each other for 3 years, but he said he still felt uncomfortable with it. Jake is invited to the wedding, so I tried to say that I would still spend most of my time with him, but he said he still doesn't want to watch me walk down the aisle and have a first dance with someone else. Plus, he didn't want to have to be reminded of this every time we go over to Ella and her fiance's house, as all the official wedding pictures would be plastered all over the place.
Does anyone have any advice on what to do? I love my boyfriend and I understand where he's coming from, but I want to go to my best friend's wedding. Edit: I just wanted to clarify a few things that I've seen people talk about in the comments.
Thank you for everyone's advice. I really appreciate it all. First of all, it wasn't a big surprise that Sam was chosen to be Ella's fiance's best man.
I'll also call Ella's fiance Luke for clarity. Luke and Sam have remained in contact over the years and are still super close, but I don't ask him about Sam too much just because I'm not super interested in what's going on in his life. The most I ask about is is he good?
And that's about it. Secondly, I didn't make this super clear in my post, but when I say Ella and Luke will have pictures of Sam and me plastered all over their house, I meant that there would be pictures of the wedding party all together around the place. As for Jake, a lot of people are saying he's being controlling.
I don't think he is. I'm not his first girlfriend and he's only my second other than Sam. And he doesn't like the idea of the photos of the wedding party being around because in the photos it would have the whole wedding party together and he wouldn't be in the photos, which to him makes it seem like I wasn't there.
I'm going to talk to him tomorrow about this all and see what he says. I'll give an update soon. Scaling stories corner.
Well, I definitely think OP's boyfriend was being controlling in her post. She talked about how he's not controlling and that he's had other girlfriends in the past, but does that even mean anything? He's legitimately telling her he doesn't want her attending her best friend's wedding because of an ex from high school.
It's not like it's her and his wedding. The day is about the best friend. He should be confident that there are no unresolved feelings, especially if OP and Sam haven't seen each other in 3 years.
And in OP's words, she's not interested in anything happening in Sam's life and hasn't shown any interest. Also, OP and her boyfriend have been together for the past 2 years. Surely that time spent together has to mean something.
I understand if he's upset about being left out because he's not in the wedding party and he's her boyfriend, but again, it's not his wedding and not his day. Now, here are some of the top comments from OP's post. Commenter one says, "My childhood best friend missed my wedding because her husband didn't want her to go.
Our relationship never really recovered. " Are you willing to damage your relationship with your best friend by pulling out of this commitment you've already made? If your boyfriend is this upset at watching you perform your bridesmaid duties, maybe he doesn't go.
That's a more reasonable solution since he's the one with the issue. Commisser 2 says, "If he's going to be jealous of something so dumb and cause you to miss your best friend's wedding, he's not mature enough for a serious relationship. I've been in several weddings and nothing about walking down the aisle or even dancing with a groomsman is romantic.
You'll be so busy with other bridesmaid duties that those will barely be a blip. But the fact that he thinks he can control you like this is concerning. " OP says, "I tried to explain this to him originally and say that I would just be doing a job by walking down the aisle and dancing with Sam, but he said weddings are a naturally romantic scene.
I feel like he thinks us dancing together is going to be like Damon and Elena at the Mystic Falls thing. " Commenter 3 says, "Since when is walking down the aisle and a planned dance romantic? Do not forsake your friend for this drip of a guy?
" Update 17 days later. Okay, so I wanted to give you all an update since some people were asking. I'm not sure if this is the right way to do this.
I've never made an update before. First of all, I read everyone's comments and wanted to say thank you, even if I didn't respond. A lot of you gave me great advice, excluding the usual Reddit breakup advice, lol.
I talked to my boyfriend about it after I made the post and read some of the comments. I took your advice as well and made sure to explain that there was nothing romantic about walking down the aisle with a guy I haven't spoken to in years and having a dance with him. I also told him I'm going to the wedding and I'm going to be Ella's maid of honor no matter what.
We had a bit of an argument about it and he wasn't super excited, but he ended up saying he would come to the wedding because he would rather at least be there to celebrate Ella and Luke, Ella's fiance, and also he didn't like the thought of me having fun without him and him being all alone. He has a bit of anxiety about that and doesn't like being left out of things, so I understand why he didn't want to just stay home. That conversation was two weeks ago and since then things have gone downhill.
After the conversation, he was initially really sweet, his usual caring self. Then he became overly sweet. It kind of felt fine in the beginning, but when he started making comments and jokes about how he wanted me to remember how amazing he was as a boyfriend, it started to feel weird.
It kind of felt like he was guilting me. After reading the comments, I started to notice more things, too. He always asked questions about where I was going and who I was seeing, which isn't new, but I started to see it differently now.
Then he started asking more questions whenever I was on my phone, asking who I was texting and what I was saying. Then he started reading the messages over my shoulder. This wasn't that big of a deal before he has my password and I have his, and I don't care if he reads my text since there isn't anything to hide.
Now it kind of feels like he's monitoring me. After that, the worst of it came. Whenever I was going out, he asked me to update him.
Not in a normal way. As in, if I was in the shopping center, he would ask me which stores I was going to, what I was eating. He asked me for photos of the food I was having.
I thought it was because he wanted to be involved, but I was dumb. I'm kind of ashamed to say that I did send him all of those photos and all the proof he needed for a couple of days, but then I got sick of it. I asked him why he needs all of that information and he told me just cuz I want to make sure.
I asked, "Make sure of what? " He didn't really give me an answer. Then the final straw was about 2 days ago.
Another argument, this time about Ella. He said Ella was trying to manipulate me into getting back with Sam, that she always had a vendetta against him. I said he was being stupid because if that were true, she wouldn't invite him to the damn wedding.
He said he didn't feel comfortable with me going. He said he didn't want me to go and if I did, I was crossing his boundaries and that I wouldn't be his girlfriend anymore because what kind of girlfriend would purposely cross their boyfriend's boundaries? So, I told him that's okay.
I wouldn't want to cross his boundaries and broke up with him. You were all right. He was controlling me.
I don't feel happy about it. I feel sad. I feel like I wasted years of my life on someone I loved.
I told Ella she didn't celebrate. She was sad for me, too. said he was nice, but I could do better and I should be with someone who helps me grow my world, not shrink it to being just them.
I'm going to focus on looking forward to the wedding and helping Ella out. Thank you to everyone again. Scaling stories corner.
Well then, damn. Yeah, it's not surprising OP's boyfriend was a really controlling guy. I think maybe he was masking it for a bit before or maybe OP had rosecolored glasses on.
I read something about how people can only put on a mask until the 3 month or 6 month mark or something in a new relationship before you see who they really are, but they were together for 2 years. So OP probably gave him the benefit of the doubt until the commenters from the original post made her think from a different perspective. It's a good thing she got out because from what I can see, he was trying to isolate OP from her friends and probably would have done similarly with her family until she was alone and fully dependent on him.
at least from what I'm predicting from similar stories I've read on here. Now, here are some of the top comments along with comments from the original post with OP's response. Commenter one says, "So sometimes the breakup advice is correct then.
" Commenter 2 says, "Damn straight. It's insidious and like a frog getting slowly boiled. We don't know if we should just jump out.
You did everything right and I wish I had your self-awareness and reflection at 21. " Now, if you experience those behaviors again, you'll know to end things sooner rather than later. You deserve a partner who will love, support, and cheerlead you to widen your world rather than shrink it.
And you be aware of your surroundings and home in case your ex-boyfriend escalates. Enjoy the wedding and focus on your best friend's relationship and wedding as made of honor. Commenter 3 says, "Just stumbled across this and just finished reading your original post.
Something isn't really making sense to me. Groomsmen and bridesmaids were supposed to have a first dance together, but your first dance didn't have to be with Sam, right? And so why was he so hung up about it?
OP downvoted says, "Ah, unfortunately, it does. " Ella wants a choreographed first dance where all the bridesmaids and groomsmen dance together. Ella and Luke would start the dance, then Sam and I would join, and then the rest of the wedding party before everyone else joins in.
Once everyone else starts, I would be able to go off with Jake and dance with him. Not anymore, I guess. Whoa, what's this?
Hi, friends. I hope I didn't scare you with this part. Since making multiple videos now takes significantly longer compared to making one video with multiple stories in it, I'll try practicing every now and then to see how the process goes and how efficient I can get with it to be able to read more stories.
So, with that out of the way, this next one was titled significant other of nine years called off our wedding, implying we were over. Is this something I could make work for us? It was posted by simply Steve Shay on January 30th, 2017.
So, he, 28 male, and I, 26 female, have been together for almost 9 years now. When we first started dating, we had a rough patch due to both of us not being ready for a relationship after just coming out of abusive ones, mine physical, his emotional. We broke up for a year and ended up accidentally rekindling after he caught his father cheating on his mother and didn't know who else to go to for advice.
So around 2012, we got back together and have been great since. During the next two-ish years, I was finishing off college and starting a career while I figured out my next move, furthering my current career or going back for postgrad. We were happy where we were and mutually didn't feel a rush toward marriage until we were more set in life.
But neither of us had doubts this was a long haul thing for us. Fast forward to September 2016, we got engaged. He's joining the Navy and didn't want to leave me high and dry.
I wanted to follow him because I still wasn't sure on postgrad and my current job will get me hired anywhere. We realized we were holding off on marriage for a perfect time that would never come. We loved each other and wanted to make that commitment.
Originally, we planned an alopment of sorts. Just immediate close family coming with us on a cruise and a casual party for the rest of our friends and family after we got back. It was honestly perfect for us and everyone knew that slash agreed.
Somehow it turned into a 100 plus attendee formal wedding neither of us truly wanted didn't hate it but thought the other did want. It was in April and left very little time for us to plan a formal wedding. This is something that I almost called off the wedding for in order to alope because it was just too much and wasn't what we envisioned.
Neither of us liked parties or big to-dos. It was a lot of money and stress and probably would have been different if that wedding was our plan A, not an accident. To top it off, I've been having issues at work.
non-jobthreatening, just a lot of stress. And he totaled my car after being t-boned. Not his fault.
So, finances, lack of a car, and stress took their toll. Things haven't been great for us the last few weeks and just kept spiraling downward. It came to a head, and he voiced concerns about marriage stemming from how we've been the last few weeks.
I told him I wasn't sure if we could survive canceling the wedding. They were issues that without the stress of everything else, we could have worked on easily, but with everything going on, they seemed insurmountable. A day or two later, after giving him time to think, he said it's best if it's all called off.
It was implied it meant us, too, because we didn't think a relationship could bounce back from a canceled wedding in that way. Anyways, now we're considering trying to make it work, but he's afraid I will resent him for the canceled wedding and that it will cause further problems. I know it's a valid concern because I was sobbing when he canceled it.
0% because of the party, but because of being in the general situation. Now though, I truly feel that I'm relieved it's canled. Though I'm only stressed about how to confront family since save the dates were sent and our wedding shower was cancelled the day before the party.
The wedding was nothing that we wanted, and I feel that it made issues 20 times worse due to the stress from planning a wedding, spending money on a wedding that neither of us were truly excited about, the total car and finances for that, plus stress from work, plus the stress of him leaving in a few months. Most people know that it was canled due to issues in our relationship. My parents are very supportive of us making it work, surprisingly, without a wedding.
My sister is super judgmental and somewhat hypocritical about the way I handle issues in my life. So, she's all about f him, move on. His family loves me and would support whatever our decision is.
I know it comes down to us, but family is important to both of us. Scaling stories corner to be honest. That's kind of tough.
OP got into this relationship when she was around 17 or 18, and at that age, you're not really sure what you want and what else is out there. but they've been together for 9 years and you think that after that much time together, you'd know for sure if you're really locked in with someone, faults and everything included. To call off the wedding entirely and imply that the relationship is over just like that.
9 years together and you can make that decision in 1 to two days. I'm not sure if that's something she can or should work through. A decision like that doesn't sound like it was made impulsively, so he's probably had some thoughts about it for a while.
I think she's better off not trying to work through it with someone who has already let her know she's not the one. Now, here are some of the top comments from OP's post. Comment one says, "This sounded like a dream relationship until this bit, but thought the other did want it.
So, there was a hidden but severe communication failure there, but of course, you can bounce back. If you don't cancel getting married on the day you planned to get married, you just cancel the big expensive wedding itself. You both got sucked into a wedding neither of you wanted but found out in time.
This is good. And tell your sister to go f herself. Commenter 2 says, "A huge part of being married is dealing with life obstacles like that.
Was it really about the big expensive wedding? Does he even really want to get married? Being married means that you survive life as a team.
That includes standing up to family, bearing the weight of financial burdens, and making decisions that benefit both of you. If getting married was really that important to him, calling off the huge show and aloping wouldn't have been so hard. Why were calling off the party and calling off the marriage synonymous?
I think I'm missing something. Or the bouncing back reasoning is a cop out. If it's not to me, it seems like a pretty silly reason to throw away a life you planned together.
Commenter 3 says, "Plenty of people go on after a wedding. They see if they can work on the problems first. Have you guys had any counseling?
" Update 6 days later. No, we couldn't because he cheated. I found out this morning through an anonymous Facebook message that he wasn't loyal and there was more to the breakup than I knew.
I called him twice with no response. So, I sent him a text about the message. Still no response.
So, I decided to check his phone records. Lo and behold, a mysterious number popped up around the day things started to go downhill for us. He'd call the number on nights I was working and texted throughout the day.
Soon after I saw that, I checked Find My iPhone. He got his first iPhone, and I helped him set it up like two weeks ago. His GPS showed he was at a random house near downtown that I knew none of his friends lived at.
Soon after that, he called me. He denied it all and was trying to be all supportive. The moment I said I had proof he was hiding things in his phone records, his entire demeanor changed.
He specifically stated I didn't sleep with anyone, which was odd since I never brought up cheating. As he was talking, I checked Find My iPhone again, and from the distance, it looked like he left wherever he was and called as soon as he was in the car. I asked where he was, and he said he was driving.
I asked from where, and he got very defensive, saying it wasn't my business since we weren't together. I reiterated that I knew he was hiding things from me. I still never brought up accusations of cheating yet.
He called me creepy and stalkerish. I asked who the specific phone number belonged to, and he refused to answer, saying I was crazy. So I said I deserve to know and he said it was a friend from work.
For the next few minutes he refused to assign it gender pronouns. A little bit later I pushed it and asked if it was a woman and he admitted it. So I asked who it was and said if it were one of the few women I know then I get that maybe he was venting to them.
He refused to answer. So yeah, we can't work it out. Also prior to this he was already acting like a hot and cold jerk for the week after he left me on the day of my bridal shower.
either acting like he didn't care one bit about me or that he wanted me back because his life was falling apart. Needless to say, I became more relieved that the relationship was over and was more mourning the fact that I was in the position I was in cancing a wedding after a failed engagement. I realized he was very selfish and I took on every responsibility in wedding planning and our relationship while he had nothing to do but work and come home to play video games.
For the record, I like video games but only when I have the time. Basically, this was the icing on the crab cake, and any bit I had left hanging on to the relationship went right out the window. I honestly feel relieved.
I don't feel sad. I feel free and happy. I'm not sad being in the apartment we shared anymore.
My sister had helped me two nights ago set up a new bed that helped change the entire look of the bedroom. Also, Monday, I'm going to a theme park with a coworker. While I'm not exactly trying to jump right into anything, he's a great guy and we have the same interest.
It's just nice to have attention from someone I get along with. Edit: Yes, I'm getting tested ASAP. Scaling stories corner.
Honestly, I didn't think cheating was something that was happening while reading the original post. I figured he was somewhat checked out of the relationship because it's just really odd to me to give up on a 9-year relationship the way he did. It read to me like he wasn't sure about OP being the one and he had cold feet about locking in the rest of the future with her.
Cheating explains a lot of his behavior though. What a jerk he was to do that while going through the whole wedding planning process with her. Glad she was able to catch him and not waste any more time with that piece of crap.
Now, here are some comments from the update post with OP's response. Commenter one says, "Also, Monday I'm going to a theme park with a coworker. He's been subtly flirting with me to the point I had to get second opinions.
While I'm not exactly trying to jump right into anything, he's a great guy and we have the same interests. It's just nice to have attention from someone I get along with, even if it turns out he's really just oblivious and wasn't flirting after all. Countdown to your ex turning up after it doesn't work out with his cheating partner and whining because you've moved on so quickly in 10.
OP says, "Haha, I can definitely see that. I'm definitely not truly moving on. I'm just enjoying life for now.
I know I'm not ready for a relationship or anything steady, but it's nice to have the distraction. Commenter 2 says, "You seem like you're taking this all in stride. Good for you.
Just a message of caution about the coworker, though. Be careful not to get too close too fast. You should probably enjoy being single for a while before getting back into the dating game.
" OP says, "Oh, I definitely am. While I would be interested in the guy, I'm not ready for a relationship yet, and my expectations in one probably don't line up with starting a new one. I really don't want to make things awkward at work.
It's just really nice to have a distraction for now. By the way, literally, as I'm in the process of making this, OP posted another update 30 minutes ago, so I'm including that now as well. Second update 9 years later.
Holy crap, I just saw the Buru post. I browsed Boru a ton and skipped over the username at the beginning. The more I read, the more I was like, "What the f?
What are the odds? " Also, this sounds like me a little. I checked back at the top, and sure enough.
So, my ex ended up knocking up the chick he'd been cheating with 3 months later, and he'd been cheating on me since before we were engaged. Then, he tried to call me to come back because he caught her talking to male friends about a video game and accused her of cheating. I basically told him to get the f over it and stop calling me.
Looking back, it was almost a decade of passive emotional abuse and controlling behavior. He at one point passively implied or accused me of incest with my cousin who I saw a movie with. Lots of guilt to assuage his own and controlling behavior, breaking up with me to control me, etc.
Things happening the way they did, leaving me the morning of my bridal shower, making me call everyone on both sides to tell them not to show up because he wouldn't respond. Totalling my car, cheating, honestly was probably the only way I could easily flip a switch and move on. Like, what the f was I thinking because I'd been with him since I was basically still a child.
It was the best thing that could have happened. It sucks. It had to be so traumatic, but it was probably the only guaranteed way to end it.
I've since been married and divorced, separated a year after marriage, divorced about 6 months later. I met a guy a year after the original post happened who was basically my ex's opposite and I was seemingly out of his league. He was perfect until the day after we got married and it was like something flipped.
Looking back, there were zero signs. Later, I caught him spending tons of money on of messaging random of models on Twitter all day in DMs and replies, and he ended up having an emotional affair with a chick he met on WoW and convinced me to be friends with. We separated for a while, living in the same house as roommates, never talking cuz he kept threatening self harm, and I had hoped he'd come around.
One night, he got drunk and put his hands on me, shoving me and raising a hand, but never hitting me. So, I told him I'm filing the next day. He told his therapist that unless he beat me, shoving didn't count or physically cheated.
Not for lack of trying on his end, then I'm his and there's no excuse to divorce. His family blames me for leaving him during his mental health struggles and in sickness and in health. He convinced them I cheated on him instead.
He also opened a credit card in my name and ran it up $30,000. I got him to pay it off with his share of the equity in the house we sold during the divorce in return for not reporting fraud. So whatever, I just wanted to move on.
Clearly I know how to pick him. I guess to me he seemed safe at the time. He said all the right things and honestly I don't believe there were signs.
He just hid it well until he felt he didn't have to anymore. Twoish or three years later after remaining single me and a friend I'd known passively for years started talking because we both watched the same show no one else would watch. The history for us is we met in a small Discord that is real life friends only and had been in there together for years.
I met him like two times at meetups but we never really talked as he's a friend's friend's friend. We played the same MM O2, but were in different groups, so we never really talked. Apparently, he fell first, but stayed distant because he knew I was still recovering from my last two exes.
His best friend also sent me screenshots later of him gushing about me, but not telling him who I was, and how he never wants to stop talking to me, but doesn't want to scare me off. His friend vouched that something about me changed him. I ended up tentatively getting interested because I knew people who vouched for him.
Multiple people who have known him since they were 5 years old, saying he's probably the most standup guy they know, that he's very reserved and almost robotic in terms of emotions, but will do anything for anyone without being asked or expecting anything just because it's right, and never fibbing or lying or hiding things because he just didn't understand why. His best friend jokes he probably has a sprinkle of tism. He had two exes over like 10 years and is happy alone and never talked crap about them and only said that it didn't work out versus calling them crazy exes or beaches.
Long story short, I moved across the country for him and he's the best person I know. We have a child and he's the most supportive and loving partner and father. Truly an involved parent and strives to make sure I'm not the primary caregiver.
On the few times that I am, he makes sure I never have to think about anything else. traditional in the sense that he wants to provide for us and refuses to accept any financial contribution from me, but doesn't want me to be barefoot in the kitchen serving him. So, house chores and mental workload are split.
If I had to go through my two exes again knowing I'd meet him, I'd do it all a million times over. He's genuinely my best friend, making me laugh constantly, taking interest in things I like, and the best person I ever could have imagined for me. Edit.
Also, to answer some questions, how do you accidentally throw a big wedding? We both come from different cultures that put a similar value on large families, so it just ballooned. I was too passive at the time and kind of floated to what everyone wanted.
He admitted later to doing it in hopes it would delay the wedding. Super judgmental sister. A broken clock is right twice a day.
She's super judgmental, but was right about him. When I divorced my recent ex, she blamed me for giving up and not knowing what I wanted and for being childish. I had confided in her that I was assaulted once and she tried to prove I was lying.
So, I have low contact with her. How do you total a car but not be at fault? Turns out he was at fault but lied to me about what happened.
I was still just under his spell. Overall, a lot of the issues were due to me being passive, thinking I needed to be a good submissive partner. due to our cultures and that if I tried hard enough, he'd love me.
I was with the guy since high school. He was all I really knew. And my ex before him physically abused me in 10th grade.
I didn't exactly have a picture of support in my life to handle things. Weird to go on a date so soon after. It was a rebound date 100%.
He ended up knowing it. I knew it. We never did anything or kissed.
Just hung out and flirted. We both had annual passes to Disney World and would go hang out since we had a lot of days off due to shift work. I just needed to distract myself and not feel like an unwanted person, if that made sense.
The rebound guy and I are still friends and I went to his wedding since I introduced him to his wife. Also, I know it wasn't healthy, but I had a lot of emotional trauma I didn't deal with. I went to therapy and I was with the guy since 17 with the behavior to make me dependent on him like a drug.
Was it healthy? No. But I did what I needed to do, I guess.
Was I a mess? For sure. Growing up with family who didn't support you as a person, taught you to hide and lie about everything out of fear, and didn't make me feel like I could mess up would do that.
I was a people pleaser who always believed it was my fault somehow. I had a desperate need to be loved and wanted since I didn't feel it from my family, aside from superficial obligation or to keep up a facade. So, I found it elsewhere.
My family had opinions about everything I did or didn't do, and it took me until a few years ago and lots of therapy to stop caring. Edit two. Also to add, how is going on a date with a guy not making it awkward at work?
In short, I worked for the fire department. Dating or hooking up and then not talking about it was acceptable. Officially, dating made it weird.
So me going on a platonic date plus flirting was actually fairly tame and honestly a little normal since the lines between personal and professional life are kind of blurred. Scaling stories corner a really unexpected find that was OP's second update. I refreshed her page and I couldn't believe that something new was posted after 9 years.
If I had started on this video like an hour sooner, I would have never seen it and it wouldn't have gotten added in. I just want to say how funny it is that her cheating ex tried to get her to come back after he thought his girlfriend was cheating. It definitely felt like Karma was coming back strong there.
Although maybe she wasn't even cheating on him and was genuinely talking to guy friends about video games and he was projecting super hard on her because, you know, he's a cheater. Anyway, I'm really glad OP eventually found someone who treats her right and makes her feel like they're the one for each other.