It is the 23rd of August 2024 and about 1 hour ago a my neat PJ result was declared. So I'll tell you exactly what happened. I was packing my bag because tomorrow in the morning at 5:30 I have a flight and I'm going to Delhi to meet the people that I've always wanted to meet.
In fact by the time you're watching this video I'll probably already be there. Out of nowhere my friend messages me that the result is out and I open up my phone. She has sent me a drive link and I'm like why is there a drive link in the first place?
But that was the drive link which contained the list of all the people that have qualified NEP PG their ranks as well as their percentile. No marks were declared because I I guess we're going to find that out later and score. I was really panicking because it was the middle of my packing the bag and suddenly the results are announced.
I was expecting them to be at around 30th of August but okay 243 it's okay. The laptop was right here where I'm sitting and my papa came up to me and said result. Somehow with super duper anxiety as to what is going to happen.
I copied and pasted my role number and there it was. There was my result. I am all India ranked 1371307 in NEPG 2024.
And I have so many thoughts that I really want to share with all of you guys. Now that my NEP result is out, the embargo is lifted and I can literally talk about all the hardships and all the ups and downs that I've faced during the preparation. This year was my internship year.
I just ended internship in April and gave my exam in August and today is the result. So this was my first and only attempt for APG. Before that I gave INSET May edition.
Number one, this exam is not going to be testing what you're going to be studying in one year or 6 months or 4 months or from any short courses. This exam will actually test you what you have done for the last 5 and a half years. If you have read good books, if you have attended your clinical postings, if you have talked to good seniors and have met good doctors, I'm pretty sure that you are already halfway there.
If you have missed out on everything in the last 5 and a half years of MBBS, it's going to be literally tough for you because this exam the way we are the direction which we are going forwards 100% clinical. What is the best time to start preparing for NEPJ today? It is right now.
Irrespective of what year are you in the idea is to get as much knowledge inside your brain as early as possible. Next, I want to talk about mental health. During this PG preparation, I have had so many thoughts of giving up.
With me were most of the interns and most of the interns had already given up like 80 to 90% of the interns were not studying seriously for NETPG. My intern group I had around 8 to 12 people. Out of that two people were studying seriously for NEPG.
Other eight were planning to do MMO ship and after that um planning to give NEPG. Almost every single place that you go you will find the same thing. It is so easy for any of us to get demotivated seeing that others around us are not studying.
And on the other spectrum you have repeaters who are sitting in the library for 12 hours, 15, 16, 17 hours a day going on studying and studying. So you already naturally feel like I am not in the competition in any ways. So that exact same thing happened with me.
I looked at my fellows and I was like these people are not at all studying. Why should I? Secondly the exam got postponed three times.
First it was supposed to happen on 3rd March then 7th July then 23rd June and finally on the 22nd of June they gave us the date that it was going to be held on 11th of August. So so many postponements really did affect my mental health. Uh at one point the postponement affected me so much that I had to take a break from my internship and go to Goa just to have chill out for a few days.
I even documented the exact experience on this video. Next, in the last one week of the examination, we were given our test centers and to to those people that don't know, 80% of the aspirants out of 2 lakh 20,000 aspirants who were sitting for this exam, 80% of the people were given centers outside their city. I had filled out four city choices and I got the fourth one allotted which was Mumbai.
I live in Nagpur. I had given places all around Nagpur but lastly I was given Mumbai and in Mumbai I was given the evening shift. The morning and the evening shifts were drastically different according to me.
Morning one was a relatively easier shift. Evening was difficult. And what happened was that going to a new place, studying in a new environment.
And secondly, during the day of the exam also there were heavy rains in Mumbai. To reach the exam hall, I had to walk almost 1 kilometers because the traffic got stuck. So so many ups and downs happen that are beyond our control.
Like I I cannot control postponement. I cannot control weather. I cannot control traffic.
I cannot control how my batchmates feel. I cannot control how much my seniors are studying. So so many ups and downs are happening at the same time.
Plus as an intern you have pressure of doing duties. Due to this what happens is that your mindset gets completely okay like completely the person who is able to keep his mind calm during these situations is the person who will win according to me. A1 5,000 everybody studying with the equal intensity.
It's just few points which determine who is going to be on the top. It's just few questions that you might know, you might not know, you might have accidentally studied that actually determines what rank you're going to get in the first 5,000 people and that is going to be determined by how your mindset is. So anybody who is going through a tough phase in life and you are preparing for a competitive exam need PG CA exam so JW advance or whatever it is have your mind calm.
That is the most important thing that you can do. I lost my mind at several places which is perfectly normal but please don't do the same mistake that I did. Nextly I want to talk about internship.
I can already see a few comments and few Reddit posts being made about me that this person did not do his internship and that's why he was able to study. So let me just clarify. I have done my entirety of internship from GMC Lagur.
I have documented every day of my internship on my Instagram. You just go and see the internship while you highlight and you'll see all the days of internship being documented in the form of stories in the form of posts. So nobody can say that I have not done it because I have literal physical proof of that.
I had taken a 3WE extension from it which I which I in the end completed. So overall uh everything was done and that 3WE extension also I documented in my vlogs. So I have done internship and during internship I've studied.
It is very very difficult to study during internship. I'll tell you especially during heavy postings it's almost impossible to find good balance between your studies. So don't be disheartened but know that you have to push on duty 8 hours 12 hours duties but in internship if even if you're doing extra extra duties for your JS you are not going to get an MD or MS degree you are not going to get any other degree apart from MBBS so putting so much extra effort doing falukam that we do in internship is not going to give you anything so prioritize internship doing the clinical work understanding the cases seeing and learning the procedures just going on rounds and learning from the patients rather than doing the falu work of sampling report collection and accompanying the patient and all of that we all have to go through that phase but that should not be your primary goal and that should not trouble you that because of this I'm not able to study modules just do something whenever you are on your job you cannot afford to miss any days the only days which I missed in my entire last oneear journey was the days after postponement after postponement I'll be honest with you for 1 month after both of the postponements I was not able to study anything I totally gave up did not even open my book did not give a single GT so that is the case so my dear interns whoever is watching this please study even if you are an intern and don't look at anybody don't look at your batchmates you just sit down you just watch your revision videos make your own notes and study those notes again and again next I would like to specifically talk to those group of people who are actually doing good in their studies good is not determined by how much you are scoring in your grand test or what is your percentile what is your score good is that you are trying every day and you are trying to complete some targets every day that is it that's the definition of good I don't care how much you are scoring in grand test or all what will happen inevitably is that there will be some batchmates of yours there will be some seniors of yours mostly seniors mostly batchmates seniors they will start to get envy from you because they will see you studying in the library they'll see you studying elsewhere and they will try to pull you down even if they are not showing it to you on your face mentally they'll be trying to pull you down Identify those people and stay away from them.
I have had so many personal experiences with this regard. So don't let them get to you. Now to those group of people who are actually sharing their journey online.
I I see a lot of interns who are documenting their everyday journey, documenting their what they are doing, how much they are studying. You will definitely come across comments which say that you are not going to crack nep this year or whatever you're doing is just show off. Even if you show a day where you're going to internship, you are waking up early and you are studying for a few hours before going to internship after coming back you are studying a few hours and then you are sleeping even then people will call you out and say that this is unrealistic this is toxic productivity this is falus salu so don't listen to these people they will always try to bring you down do what you're doing and let others do what they are doing let others say behind your back let me share with you my story about how I faced the toxicity with respect to the medical field in our community like in the YouTube and Instagram space and how it really badly affected me.
First of all, INICT was never ever my target and the reason was I was looking for surgical branches at the time. Going to a surgical branch why INICT is not the most ideal route. This is a well-known fact.
I'm not making anything up that was the case. So, I never ever studied for INICT. In fact, I'll show you my Maro key screen recording right now.
So, I'm opening up Maro and I go to tests. So you can see that this is the entirety of the test which I've given and you can see INSET May 23 call mania grant for INST mania 7 ineta then 2023 call I did not give grant to INST pattern did not give and national INIC mock I did not give so basically I I was not at all targeting INIC in any way or form what I did I'll tell you in the question bank if I go this is the previous year questions and here I have completed everything so from inic or from NET whatever all 247 modules I've done. So my only preparation for INICT was solving the PYQS that's it news no GTS of INS I gave maybe one or two GTs for that's it and my main preparation was NET and I'll tell you there is a bit of a syllabus difference between NET and INI topic same but depth is very very different is much more deeper for clinical questions as well so that was the case but I was like I'm going to give the exam anyways just to get a CBT like experience so I gave it I came back home and within a week the result was released and my rank was 3,600 something.
So that was my rough rank. I did not really post about it that much because personally since I was not studying for it, it made no sense for me to post it. But I did give you guys a hint that it is above 95th percentile which it was.
It was around 96th percentile or something. And my god people were like people were speculating like crazy. This guy is lying and uh he might not he he has not even qualified it.
Qualification basically means getting above 50 percentile. He has not even qualified it still. He's posting about it.
He gives fake advice on video etc. So this was the kind of things people were saying about me on various different platforms. 99% people were still positive is is just the 1% people.
And human psychology we focus on the negatives too much. We don't focus on the positive. So it really affected me badly.
And there was this one guy which I remember very particularly. He commented that this person has shown us all MBBS that he has read the big books like Park and Katy Tripati and Gaitton and Grey's Anatomy and yet he was still not able to qualify NICT. I'm like bro do you have literally no job?
First of all, you're a loyal fan. I appreciate that because you have watched all of my videos but at the same time are you not able to understand that this was not my target in the first place and even though it was not a target it was a decent rank according to me under 5,000 is a decent rank in any case. Guess what?
Whoever has written that comment, those same books allowed me to crack NETPG in my first attempt. All India rank 137. So yeah, that is the basic story about it.
What I also saw was that after my NEPG was done, I saw people writing that he will not even qualify inp. So uh to be very honest, it did not affect me at all people saying that because I have been exposed to all of this since the last 5 years. So it does not bother me anyways.
But I'm like there are people in the medical community itself that are very very toxic. 99% of people are not like that but 1%. So to that 1% yeah and to the people who are praying for my downfall pray harder.
In fact pray the rest of your life for my downfall but it won't come. This is my promise to you. So to especially all the creators who are watching this don't let toxic comments from the medical field affect you at all.
Whatever you're doing keep doing it. That is the most important thing. Next I really want to say is that no matter how much you study, no matter what you do to translate that in English, unless and until you have somebody's hand above your head guiding you, mentoring you and pushing you forwards, blessing you until unless you don't have that there is there is literally no way you're going forward in life.
I'm very lucky that in this one year itself I have discovered the Mahabharata, discovered the Gita, discovered Ramayana and all of this. Not that I was not aware about it but I actually indulged myself into it and started reading more about it and that way my faith in God actually strengthened quite a lot. Nobody talks about religion openly on this particular social media platform and neither will I.
I'm just saying that I had faith. I had faith in somebody who is over watching, somebody who is going to guide me, somebody who is going to have a blessing on me and somebody who may help me when time may help me when times get difficult and I really felt that during the examination time I don't know whether it was God whether it was some force or something else I felt that something was with me I had some blessings and I went to the examination center and gave my exam and the rest is history. So find somebody, find something or find somebody to believe in.
It is going to make your life so so much easier. You're going to go through rough patches. It's going to be very difficult to get your GT scores up.
But if you have a figure to believe in, it just makes things easier. Lastly, I wanted to say something and this is very personal to me. Uh one year ago, I had decided that this year was going to be my year and I had impossible dreams.
Like literally impossible dreams. My basic idea was to prove to the world that you can do anything. You can be plurotent.
When I say the word plur potent, I don't just say it like that. I mean it from my heart. Puripotent means a cell who can divide into any cell it wants.
If it wants to be an RBC or a WBC or a plate or a neuron or a GI tract mucosa cell or a lung cell or a liver cell, it can literally be anything. I wanted to show the world that it is possible. I wanted to set an example.
You can work on your business. You can grow your business quite a lot. You can work on your YouTube channel.
You can work on your hobbies. You can go to the gym. You can do your internship.
You can study for your PG examinations and still manage all of it and be on top of all of it. In the last one year, I've given two TED talks, rejected two offers for another two TED talks because of my schedule, was invited to several colleges to give speeches and I grew my YouTube channel by more than four to five lakh subscribers. I consistently made videos except for the two months which I was gone because of my exams.
I did all of my internship and most importantly I kept my mind calm and kept on studying over and over again. So my friends it is absolutely possible. It is absolutely possible to be plur potent.
You just have to believe in it. You are very special. You are able to manage your time well.
It's nothing. I am not at all special. I'm just a person who works hard.
That's it. There is nothing special about me. You'll find people like me everywhere.
It's just that I set a target. I try to achieve it. So my friends, whoever is watching this, I want you to embody the word plur potent and I want you to become plur potent and I want you to believe that you can do everything because you absolutely can.
If a Joe like me can do it, you definitely can do it, better than me, 10 times better than me. So yeah, in about 5 hours I've got a flight and I'm recording this video. But it feels really good that the embargo has lifted.
I can talk about my nepg and all I can say is that there are a lot of videos coming up in the future and most importantly neat PG exam saga which is going to be an hour long episode is going to be coming very soon on the channel hopefully next Sunday. Lastly I want to say thank you so much to everybody who has been a supporter of mine since a very long time. I remember second year MBBS results better and we saw the results finally that is done and neat PG is also over and if you're still watching till this part comment down I am plur potent and let me know that you've watched the entire video.
Ch. Thank you so much for the support and I'll see you next time. It's Dr Machel.
Goodbye.