I started my bodybuilding Journey over 10 years ago but I'm not going to lie when I was first starting out I used to do and think a lot of dumb stuff some of these things are still blowing my mind to this day so here are the five things I wish I knew when I was starting out the first thing I want to talk about is a trap that a lot of people fall into and it's not just beginners some people keep doing this even after years of going through the gym this thing is what I
call being the optimal Chaser SL flip flopper it's one of the worst things that can happen to you it's understandable that beginners fall into this trap but as I said it's not just beginners there is a ton of people who keep on looking for the most optimized exercises but that is just so wrong on so many levels if you want to know my honest opinion the word optimal doesn't even mean anything it just makes people jump from one exercise to another one every single week so it just becomes like oh this is cool oh I
want to do that but I also want to do this but also that and the end result is just a very mediocre physique and at the beginning of my bodybuilding journey I unfortunately also got caught in this trap but I eventually managed to get out of it and you need to do the same thing listen seriously look at me and listen stop chasing optimal exercises what you need to focus on instead are the basic exercises that is what is going to get you big that's what the best exercises are you can go on the simplified
Hub right now by clicking the link in the pain comment and spend just 5 minutes reading a couple of the body part articles or watch some of the body part videos and you will know exactly what exercises you should do this is personally one of my biggest regrets because if you keep on flip-flopping between these optimal exercises you will never get anywhere because you are just chasing your own tail learn about the basic exercises and start grinding the next thing I wish I knew when I was starting out is that not all protein is the
same when I was saying that I used to do a lot of dumb stuff I was referring to this back then I thought that protein was always just protein and that there is no difference at all but I was extremely wrong and it took me some time before I actually learned more about this topic you won't believe me when I say this but I seriously thought that there was no difference whatsoever sometimes when I was feeling lazy and didn't want to prepare a meal for myself I would just grab a couple bars of chocolate look
at the nutrition label and say oh wow if I eat enough of them I can get it enough protein just from chocolate and proceed to eat a ton of chocolate thinking that was super smart for figuring out that you can eat a bunch of chocolate to get your protein in but that is sadly not how it works all it did was make me fat and I can tell you that since that time you will never see me with a chocolate bar in hand ever again yes I'm traumatized how did you know so instead of trying
to get in your protein from chocolate or any other terrible food focus on high quality protein sources like lean meat eggs dairy or protein powder these are the foods that your body will be able to fully utilize to build muscle which is not the case for foods like the beem mentioned chocolate or even foods like rice bread and even peanuts even though the nutrition label of the product might say that it has a certain amount of protein that doesn't necessarily mean that your body will be able to use all of that amount if this sounds
a little confusing I highly recommend you to check out this video which will clear everything up well even though I used to think that I could just getting my protein from chocolate I'm actually kind of surprised that I understood the concept of progressive overload pretty pretty early on and that's the next thing I want to talk about even though I understood that I need to progressively overload in order to build muscle I never thought about actually writing it down so even though I knew I had to progress I would often just forget what I did
last time and this for sure slowed me down a lot but hey at least I almost got it right so don't repeat the same mistakes and write down all the important stuff the amount of weight you used the Reps in each set all of it write it down on your phone or just take a paper notebook with you and do it that way the effort you have to put into it is so small while the benefits you get from doing it are insanely big it really doesn't get any easier than this it's an absolute must
if you want to get jacked do you think that all the people you see every week in the gym that keep on looking the same year after year are checking their progress of course they don't that's why they still look the exact same the gym is not a casino you can't just come in do random stuff and expect to come out a winner well you can really expect that in a Caso either but whatever you know what I mean the next thing I wish I knew when I was starting out is that doing cardio will
actually make you more jacked even if it might not seem like that at the first glance I used to do what I think a lot of you are doing nowadays which means that you come home from school or work go to the gym and then spend the rest of your day sitting in front of your PC playing video games which means zero activity and terrible Fitness now you might be thinking how is that relevant to building muscle well my friend this is is very relevant if you are a notorious cardio Skipper or not even a
cardio Skipper just a general movement Skipper then you will run into a lot of troubles in the gym that are caused by your poor Fitness when you start guessing out in the middle of your set then guess what's going to happen you won't be able to get the most out of your muscles because your cardiovascular system is going to catch you off before your muscles even get a chance to reach failure and that's not even taking into account how embarrassing it is when you walk up the stairs or something and you immediately start guessing out
you don't even have to do like quote unquote proper cardio if you fear it so much you just need to start moving at least a little bit just go for a walk or something literally do anything that will get you out of your seat don't forget heart is a muscle too the next thing I wish I knew when I was starting out is also connected to the sedentary lifestyle and that is underestimating how important sleep actually is it's one of those things that has been said so many times that people don't pay attention to it
anymore anymore I'm pretty sure that when I mention sleep your brain did something like oh yeah I know dude and then you stop listening because you are so used to hearing it that should just turn your brain off automatically but please turn your brain back on and actually absorb this information I'm about to tell you because it might seem like it's not that big of a deal if you just keep on gaming for a couple of hours instead of going to sleep but it is in all honesty if you sleep like 4 to 5 hours
every day just to play more video games party or or literally do anything else don't even bother working out because it really doesn't make sense you are building muscle when you sleep and if you don't sleep you don't build muscle or at least not as much as you could have it's really that simple in this day and age it seems that people would rather jump on PS rather than to use the natural PD called Sleep which is absolutely crazy to me so stop clowning around with trying to optimize everything when you don't even give your
body enough sleep I guarantee you that if you learn from these mistakes I made when I was starting out you will surpass 90% of the people who are going to the gym because the solution to everything was always in the basics if you are looking for an easy to follow training or nutrition plan then go to bodybuilding simplified.svg [Music] did you like this video then you will for sure like this one too [Music]