my toxic entitled mom is demanding that I gain 25 lbs for my sister's wedding simply because she doesn't want my sister to look as fat as she does in her wedding photos because after I lost about 25 lbs recently they've all been treating me incredibly different and now I feel like I'm at an impass because at this point I don't know what to do here's what happened okay so to provide some kind of context about a few months ago my sister and I were both slightly overweight not exactly fat but we both would have handled
losing maybe about 20 lb So eventually I started working out and eventually I lost 25 lbs and I was very happy with myself and I actually started to feel confident again however my sister had a busier schedule and she never found time to consistently work out I knew she felt insecure about that because I was noticeably skinnier than her but we both were able to move past that for a while until she got engaged once she got engaged she really tried to lose weight but was never able to lose more than a few pounds and
she was really stressing about that to the point where she would have melt Downs about it well eventually our mom came to me and started telling me about how much my sister struggles with her body image and she thought that I should gain back 25 lb for the wedding because apparently if me and my sister were together for pictures she would look fatter than me and she was really worried about that well I refused to do that because I worked really hard to lose weight and I wasn't going to lose all of my work however
my mom was very mad at me saying stuff like if you loved her then you would do what you need to do to help out even if it's it's hard but I still said no my mom then told my sister and she's been ignoring me and my mom said that I could no longer be the maid of honor if I didn't gain weight so seriously is this deeper than I thought or am I seriously in the wrong in this situation because right now I really don't know what to do this has got to be the
most delusional thing I've ever seen in my life first of all no you're definitely not the jerk these people are out of their minds if they think this is reasonable in any kind of way like let's really think about what they're asking you right now they're demanding that you gain $25 PB so that your sister doesn't look as fat in her wedding photos and it's like wait a second what is actually happening right now this is crazy talk to like the highest degree do they really expect you to gain 25 lbs before her wedding like
is that really what they're asking of you because if they are then this is truly insane just because she's so insecure with her body doesn't mean that you should have to change anything about yours so no you're not the jerk for shooting this down because this truly is a ridiculous demand and the fact that your mom is in any way suggesting this from the start in my opinion is absolutely unacceptable if you like am I the jerk you're probably going to love am I the genius check it out link Down Below in the description also
go to Mii thee jerk.com submit if you would like to submit your own stories today I messed up by thinking that my phone was cursed by demons as I nearly had a panic attack by what I was seeing on my screen here's what happened okay so this happened about 2 days ago so I'm in events in bartending and it is a silly season so the work has been brutal I came home from an event having slept maybe 3 hours over the course of 3 days and I was tired and barely walking straight not to mention
that it had been a really awful night as well and in the process I managed to spill a lot of beer down my apron and onto my phone the phone was okay once I got it out of the cover and dried it up but even still by the time I got home I wanted to cry so I'm tired and hungry I decided I want to make some food and I'm the type that really needs some background noise so I pull out my phone to put on a YouTube video I double tap my screen to unlock
it and something is really weird my entire display is upside down I then flip over the phone to check the camera placement and yes the display is just upside down at this point I'm freaking out a bit again I'm so tired I'm probably on the brink of psychosis and looking down at my screen right now makes me feel like my hand is perfectly intact but attached the wrong way around I try to turn it off but neither the lock buttons nor the volume buttons respond the screen still seems to be working though so I double
tap and confirm that can unlock it when I open my camera it looks so weird it's just an old Purple Haze but the front camera thankfully still works though I then start googling thinking that this must have happened to someone before but all I can find are tutorials on how to change your auto rotate at this point I'm actually sobbing we recently had an event where people clone digital cards so I'm thinking maybe something happened like that did I get hacked did I drop my phone and I don't know piss off the god of Android
operating systems is it demons in my phone am I just literally so sleep deprived that I've started hallucinating I'm no stranger to psychedelics but I've never experienced anything like this is it psychosis am I having a stroke it was then that I remember the beer I spilled down on my apron well I checked and would you look at that after I dried off the beer I put the cover back on upside down so yeah that was definitely not a fun night because I was incredibly tired this is really funny to me because I can see
myself doing something like that where I take the cover off my phone I'm in a state of delirious sleeplessness and my brain's like oh yeah demons have your phone this is it like I'm sure someone else out there has had some kind of like weird experience when they were really sleep deprived because for me my brain's like oh yeah what you're seeing right now is absolutely real let's freak out just in case so to the original poster I know where you're coming from because these kinds of experiences especially when you're tired can feel incredibly real
am I the jerk for not telling some guy that I went to dinner with that the research that he was trying to mansplain to me was actually research that I had published because after I told him this he lost his mind claiming that I was trying humiliate him and at this point I seriously don't know what to do here's what happened I'm a 33-year-old female and I work in a very small technical specific M dominated field now I won't give too much information on it as I think you could find my identity if I did
but let's just say it's a subcategory of law I graduated 9 years ago and I am now a lawyer as well as a researcher I published some work here and there but nothing too major and no one outside of that field knows my work yesterday I went to a bar with a couple of friends who introduced me to to one of their friends who works in the same field as me I was pretty excited to meet him because it's rare to meet someone who works in that field he doesn't exactly do the same thing as
I do he's not a lawyer but a legal adviser but we do work on the same topics so naturally we started talking about our work at one point we were discussing a point in which we had different opinions so I explained mine to him and he replied by saying that my opinion was based on nothing while his was based on the work of a professional and by the way that professional is me he basically started explaining my work to me but in a completely wrong way and missed all of my points I asked him if
he was sure that that was what the author meant and he said that it was because according to him it was pretty simple actually for another good 20 minutes he explained all of it to me in details like I was some kind of first year law student now I didn't say anything because it was pretty fun to watch him say things that were completely wrong with so much confidence after that the topic changed and the night went on but at the end of the night right before leaving I decided to tell tell him that I
was actually the person that wrote the work that he quoted and that he hadn't really understood it in the slightest well he reacted very badly and got very angry with me he told me that I had manipulated him to humiliate him he yelled at me for not saying that it was my work at the beginning but I simply replied that he had embarrassed himself and then I laughed well I woke up this morning to text messages from my friends saying that I was wrong for causing drama in ttention and that I could have been nicer
to their friend but I'm not sure if I'm in the wrong there I mean yes I could have told him right away but is it that big of a deal that I didn't so am I the jerk in this situation because right now I'm not exactly sure what to do honestly no you are not the jerk because the way this guy was acting is completely uncalled for he was trying to act like some kind of expert on your research and to top it all off he was quoting it wrong it sounds like he was missing
the point of a lot of your published work and in my opinion I think you handled this like a pro you didn't get angry or defensive or upset you simply let him talk and basically dig his own grave and I think this could have been a pretty tame situation if this guy wasn't such a massive know-it-all jerk about it even though he was getting it all wrong his attitude towards you and basically the way he mansplained you in my opinion was so uncalled for so good for you for putting him in his place because this
guy absolutely had it coming my boyfriend is learning ASL so that he can better communicate with my deaf brother but my friends all have convinced me that this is a creepy thing to do and that he doesn't actually care about my brother and at this point I'm starting to second guess my entire relationship because right now I really don't what to do here's what happened so I met John in a college class last semester he's an overall great guy and he's very respectful and very kind he also has a great sense of humor and we
have a lot of things in common we've been friends since then and we've started dating this July and John is the first person I've ever dated in my life last September he met my whole family when I visited home for my brother's birthday my brother who we will call Trevor has been deaf ever since he was born so my whole family communicates with him either through sign language Trevor's lip reading or through text message messaging during our small celebration at home it was clear that my parents like John he was very Charming funny and respectful
he even tried to connect with Trevor by typing some of his jokes for Trevor to read whenever John would tell a story either I or my parents would sign to Trevor my parents said that they were happy that I found a sweet and caring guy in John and of course I'm glad to hear this before we went back Jon and Trevor had a quick Call of Duty gaming session and for someone with Trevor's condition he is a really talkative guy he's very expressive and likes to communicate a lot especially when gaming and of course he
couldn't outright trash talk but he does the closest thing with his hands so there we were at Trevor's room with John and Trevor playing while I was translating for them and I was laughing way too hard because Trevor was trying his best to Trash Talk JN like saying that he's weak or saying all these curse words but I'm trying my best to tone it down just for JN meanwhile I'm also translating Jon's instructions and strategies for Trevor also because this was the first time John met my family he was saying all these praises to Trevor
like good job or we can do better next time although I know that deep inside he also wants to trash talk my brother the two of them got along pretty well and they've been having some online gaming sessions ever since then well 2 weeks ago John visited home along with me again for my mom's birthday and there he surprised everyone including me by communicating with Trevor through ASL John was still in the alphabets some basic words and some rehearse phrases but we were all delighted that he even made the effort Trevor's face lit up and
I've never seen him happier having a new long-term friend friend with low communication barriers apparently JN had been watching some YouTube tutorials and got a free subscription to skillshare to learn ASL the two of them had a gaming session again and this time Jon and Trevor could communicate more directly now of course it was still kind of slow and I still had to do some translating but I could tell Trevor was having a great time they also got more comfortable with each other with more explicit trash talking which I did not tone down this time
JN had been religiously learning ASL ever since then and he's making a lot of progress well I was so happy with this that I told my close friend group from high school however most of my friends especially my closest guy friend told me that what Jon was doing was a red flag because it could be a form of obsession and emotional manipulation he also said it was creepy because Jon's becoming too attached to my family when we've only been dating for about 5 months he also said that Jon might only be doing it so he
could get laid or something like that now I know there's some validity to what my friend said but I'm not really convinced JN has been a wonderful and sincere guy the entire time and I know it's naive to say this because he's my first ever relationship but I can see this becoming longterm yes we haven't hooked up yet because I told him I wasn't ready but he has never pressured me to do it however is his behavior something that I should really be concerned about again I don't have any experience with dating and relationships so
I don't know if this is something that's truly concerning my friends are pushing me to break up with John but at this point I honestly don't know what to do oh my God your friends are idiots ignore every single one of them John is not being creepy he's not being weird if anything he's being the best boyfriend you could possibly ask for like seriously you're never going to find a guy like this he's kind he's sweet he's literally trying to learn sign language so he can talk to your brother like that is literally not creepy
that's like incredibly kind so for your friends especially this close guy friend to be like um that's a red flag he's being obsessive and he's being emotionally manipulative honestly it sounds like that friend is mad that you're not dating him and he's trying to get you to break up with John because he wants you to get with with him like this is insane you have a wonderful boyfriend there's no reason you should ever doubt his sincerity in this situation so truly I hope you find some better friends because the ones you do have are idiots
they are complete morons and they don't know what they're talking about because what you have with JN is literally once in a lifetime and if I was in your shoes I would ignore them and never look back am I the jerk for not contributing any money towards a staff gift that was going to the three top Executives of our company because after I found out that our manager was taking credit for the gift I decided to call her out and put her on blast completely exposing the fact that she was lying to all of us
but now she's calling me Petty and it's truly making me wonder if I might be the jerk in this situation because right now I don't know what to do here's what happened okay so here's the deal every year since I started at this job there is one person that arranges an annual staff Christmas gift where they ask everyone to contribute $30 total per person towards gift for the three top Executives in the last 2 years that we've done this the three people in management who have been given gifts have come down to our office and
thank that one person profusely for her generosity and how sweet she was to do this last year I asked her if she gave something from just her as well and if that was what they were thanking her for well she said no but since she was the one who handed the gift basket to them and wrote the card They maybe just misunderstood what's going on it's also important to note that she always does this first thing in the morning and will take the basket from our office and go up by herself regardless of people say
they'd like to join her or not and then she'd just say oh I forgot that they wanted to come with me well I checked with one of the assistants because you know what I'm kind of petty the assistant told me that while the card said that it was from the staff it did say the name of the lady and the rest of the staff while also saying that the same thing happened the year before now at the time I did not say anything and I just made a note of it for this year Well fast
forward and this is where I might be a bit of a jerk this year the lady once again sent out an email asking everyone to contribute a minimum of $30 per person for these three Executives one of the owners retired earlier in the year but she felt he'd still really appreciate a gift so I answered the email and I said the following thank you for reaching out regarding this I have given a lot of thought to this throughout the year and I've decided to organize my own gift this year instead with a smaller amount as
it's been a tough year financially for me and many others perhaps you can edit last year's card to say that this is a gift from you and the rest of the staff except for me and then list my name thank you and happy holidays well about 5 minutes after I sent the email she came storming over and told me that I had no right to accuse her of taking credit for the gifts and for not including everybody's name I then asked her if it was untrue that that's what her card said last year to which
she answered that this is how she's always written the card well apparently she is currently scrambling because a lot of other staff members are choosing not to give her a gift this year and her friend has told me that it was super Petty and not very much in the spirit of Christmas for me to ruin the gift to management this year while also grumbling about how self me and the other younger staff members were who didn't want to contribute to the gift so truly am I the jerk in this situation because at this point I
really don't know what to do oh no you're definitely not the jerk your coworker was clearly stealing credit for all of this because in my opinion she was clearly trying to suck up to management like seriously let's think about it for a second who in their right mind would get a gift for the three top Executives of a company because I guarantee you they do not know your name or anybody else's name they could never pick you out of a crowd or out of a police lineup if their life depended on it so in my
opinion this stuck up lady is only using the rest of her co-workers to try and make herself look good and be like wow look at what I gave you instead of actually listing everybody's names like she should have done so no I don't think you're the jerk at all for not contributing and I think it was fantastic that you exposed her for the liar that she is because this kind of behavior in my opinion absolutely should be shamed an insurance company refuses to cancel my parent subscription to their service demanding that instead they pay for
this month and the next month of a service they don't need anymore so my mom decided to get Petty by calling their Bluff in the funniest way possible resulting in their service getting cancelled exactly the way they wanted from the beginning here's what happened okay so my parents had a house fire recently which was no fault of theirs by the way and while the house didn't burn to the ground it is basically a total loss due to heat smoke and structural damage they also have great replacement insurance while the long weight for restoration and replacement
will be frustrating they are in as good of a situation as one could hope for they also have one of those appliance service plans where they pay monthly if any covered Appliance isn't working properly the service company will send someone out to troubleshoot repair and if it can't be repaired then it's going to be replaced my parents have the total coverage plan including everything from Kitchen to laundry to the freezer chest and the mudroom fridge since the house is uninhabitable they call to cancel the service and ask about Pro rating this month my mom explains
the situation and the rep on the phone says sorry they can't PR rate this month nor can they cancel the for the next payment cycle even though by the way they're in the middle of this payment cycle basically it will be 45 more days of paying for coverage my mom then States they are dealing with the stress of a house fire and living in short-term housing my mom then says I understand you can't PR rate this month but can you at least cancel the service for next month based on our situation the representative says well
I'm happy to cancel the service effective today if that's what you really want to do but you still have to pay for this month and next month now I can tell from personal experience it is a bad idea to get cute with my mom my mom then says to him okay no we are not going to cancel a service we still have to pay for please keep the service in place and instead I'd like to file a claim on all of our appliances after my mom said this there was a pause the representative then said
you can't do that on appliances destroyed by fire my mom says a response oh no the house was damaged but the appliances were not destroyed since this plan is effective through next month please send a service representative out to the house for all of our covered pliances and do any repairs or Replacements as needed there was another pause and then the representative asked my mom to hold well a few minutes later a supervisor gets on the line and says that due to the circumstances they are happy to make an exception to cancel coverage early if
she would like to which my mom responded yes thank you very much so at the end of the day my parents got exactly what they really wanted because the way these people were acting was completely unreasonable wow I can't believe that insurance company was acting like that here you have literally a house fire and they're like sorry we can't cancel it you have to pay for this month and next month sorry about that it's like what are we talking about this is so unfair you know the house nearly burned to the ground right so personally
I love the fact that your mom was like okay time to come on out and see the damage you need to service all these appliances whether you like it or not let's file a claim let's do it basically saying she's going to call their Bluff so good job to your mom for getting this done because these people were being absolutely ridiculous am I the jerk for refusing to house sit for my friend after I found out they got a cat because I would not feel comfortable going over there as I I am allergic to cats
which has only caused my friend to be more angry with me than before here's what happened I'm a 28-year-old male and I agreed to house SI for my friend who we will call Alex while they went on a week-long vacation Alex has a dog that I've always loved and I thought it would be nice to help him out I even took some time off of work to make sure I could give the dog plenty of attention well a few days before Alex left I went over to get the house keys and a rundown of what
needed to be done and that's when Alex casually mentioned that oh by the way we got a cat this took me off guard because I am very allergic to cats Alex knows this I've had to leave Gatherings early before because of my allergies I asked why they hadn't told me earlier and Alex said they forgot because they'd only had the cat for about a month well I told Alex I couldn't stay in their house if they had a cat even if I avoided it because the dander would still trigger my allergies I then suggested they
asked someone else or hire a sitter Alex then got defensive saying I was leaving them in a Lurch right before their trip I felt bad but I didn't think it was fair for Alex to Spring this on me last minute I offered to check in on the dog daily if they could isolate the cat in another room but Alex said that wouldn't work they ended up scrambling to find someone else and they left for their trip very angry at me a mutual friend later told me that I should have sucked it up for a week
because Alex really needed the break and probably just forgot to mention the cat at this point I'm starting to feel that I might have overreacted because right now I don't know what to do okay first of all you're not the jerk in this situation because this is so unreasonable you are lit literally allergic to cats this is not a situation where you don't want to be around it because you don't like cats your body literally has a physical reaction to the dander from a cat so the fact that your friends are not understanding that or
even beginning to see where you're coming from is crazy to me so no you're not the jerk in this situation because this is absolutely something that Alex should have told you when you subscribe make sure to hit the Bell to turn on notifications to finish listening to all the stories check out the playlist at the top of the description and if you want some chill music to put on in the background check out easy mode.com if you like am I the jerk subscribe to am I the genius everything will be linked Down Below in the
description