both my parents and my fiance's parents ambushed us at lunch and told us that if we don't give them grandkids they will cut us out of their Wills posted by you/ helpfully unarmed I never thought I would be writing a post about my own parents here but here we are right for context my fiance and I have been in a relationship for the past 10 years and just recently got engaged while it's understandable that 10 years might sound like a long time we started dating really early and getting married was not a priority for either
of us we actually preferred to focus on our studies and careers for a while she's a civil engineer and I'm a medical student after earning a bachelor's and a master's degree I do freelancing as a developer to pay for my living expenses as we have been a couple for a long time it's quite common for people to ask us when we're getting married and when we're having kids while we are getting married as soon as I finish med school we decided a long time ago not to have children and remain very certain of that decision
as both of us are more career than family oriented however since the engagement our families have started putting more pressure on us to get married soon and have children even though we've told them plenty of times that's not going to happen my fiance and live together and are completely financially independent from our families some time ago during a video chat we ended up getting into a heated argument with our families after finally snapping at their ceaseless nagging for grandchildren and our relationship with them has been strained ever since now our familyes asked us to meet
them for a lunch in family at my parents house we don't live in the same city but it's close enough that we can go there for something like this and that's when the following situation transpired we arrived early enough to help out with preparing everything for the lunch and for the next hour or so things were pretty normal but after we had lunched and sat at the coffee table to chat it's customary here the room grew visibly tense our parents both hers and mine started a speech about how much they had done for us how
hard they had worked for us and how much family means to them I was already sensing something awful coming but I kept listening suddenly they said that during one of their talks they had come to a decision if my fiance and I didn't give them grandchildren after all they had done for us we would be cut out of their Wills their reasoning was as follows my brother is a gay man and as of now has no intention of adopting or pursuing any alternative to have children meaning I'm the only option for continuing the family line
he wasn't present during this and is just as mortified as I am my fiance is the oldest sister her younger sister is still in high school and therefore must set an example by having a family and continuing the family now if that's not psychotic I have no clue what is we quickly looked at each other and immediately left their house we haven't spoken to them since but as far as we are aware we've been disowned by now I never thought I would have to go through this just because I don't want to have children it
just shows how much entitlement they think they have cheers edit I did not expect this to grow so much in just a few hours thank you everyone for the replies sadly I don't think I'll be able to respond to everyone so I'll just clear a few things here my fiance and I have absolutely no interest in their inheritance we've been fine on our own for a long time and we can take care of ourselves thus we have absolutely no intention of contesting their will we don't need that money and we don't want it I only
posted this here due to the absurdity of their actions we have decided to cut content with them and uninvite them from our wedding my brother is giving us full support on this and as he is my best man this already means the world to me it's regrettable that it came to this outcome but we are not going to let them run our lives some people ask us why we don't want to have kids there are a few reasons for that especially the fact that we are both extremely focused on our careers having a child is
a responsibility that requires raising someone and giving them the affection lessons and time needed neither of us wants to go through that just to bring someone into the world also we firmly believe that the world already has enough people without us adding someone else to it lastly neither of us really likes kids as bad as that might sound we have no intention of ever having a child update 2 months later I did not expect to be back so soon but here we are about a month ago my fiance and I posted here about how both
of our parents threatened to take us out of their Wills if we didn't give them grandchildren which we won't be doing anyhow they've struck again and my fiance is absolutely fuming with rage now and wants to share the situation with you all after we left my parents home that day we had absolutely Ely zero contact with them they made their decision and we made ours we thought that was going to be the end of it now one thing that needs clarification our wedding was planned to take place on October 17th however due to the pandemic
outbreak large Gatherings of people were completely prohibited at least in my region thankfully the venue we had booked is run by the most lovely administrators as soon as the outbreak began they contacted us and gave us every bit of assistance needed to reschedule thus we rescheduled our wedding to October 2021 since the situation is still uncertain this could change but it shouldn't for the time being we aren't really bothered by the delay as we understand the situation is very serious and we don't mind waiting for a time when everyone will be safe hopefully this morning
while I was studying for some school exams my fiance got a call from the venue administrator asking why we wanted to cancel our wedding obviously this was very strange and confusing to us my fiance informed them that we had no desire to cancel our wedding and asked for further clarification apparently my fiance's parents had called The Venue on our half claiming that we no longer wanted to rent the space because we would no longer be getting married let me explain why the venue almost considered this situation legitimate in my country our IDs carry not only
our identification and Social Security or equivalent numbers but also the names of our parents to rent a venue you need to provide your ID as part of the bureaucracy I don't know if this is how it works everywhere but I wanted to make it clear apparently my fiance's parents wanted to take advantage of that fact and tried to dup the venue into canceling our wedding luckily the administrator is quite smart and notice that on our rental sheet required for the booking there are only two emergency contact names and numbers listed in case we can't be
reached my brother and my fiance's best friend at the time we booked the venue we were already in a strained relationship with our parents so neither of us listed them as contacts thankfully the administrator actually paid attention to this and took the care and time to reach out to us otherwise we might not only have lost our special date but also our deposit and dream venue I'll be honest I never expected the kind of behavior from anyone in our families but alas it seems I was wrong wrong anyhow now my fiance is absolutely livid and
I'm trying to calm her down we've already sent a message to her parents and mine as we're sure they're in This Together telling them to never meddle in our lives again my brother is just as angry as we are and he told me he's heading to their house to give them a piece of his mind I don't even know how to feel right now crestf fallen if anything I never expected or wanted things to turn out this way but neither of us will go back on our decision not to have children truth be told I
already have the paperwork for sterilization ready I just hope that one day they realize their sense of entitlement has cost them their son and daughter all because of grandchildren that will never exist cheers edit thank you all for the kind replies we really appreciate it we just spent the whole afternoon contacting all our services to ensure that methods are in place so this never happens again it's taken care of and thank you all for the advice I don't really know what my brother told them as he went straight from there to work I did get
a text from them complaining that we released our rabid dog on them which is amusing to be honest since my brother is a very calm person person we won't contact them again on a side note for those who asked our parents didn't give us a dime to pay for our wedding we worked hard and paid for every little thing ourselves they have absolutely no right over it I did mention this in the previous post we don't want their money nor do we need it we're just sharing and venting our frustration once more thank you all
for the kind words