the first game without Luca or ad was a disaster for Dallas exactly what the Mavericks were afraid might happen so during the timeout the jumbo Tred karaoke oh that's fun so this dude pretends to be singing so he can get on and say fire Nico and the camera guy immediately flips out he's like get off that guy now and to make things worse security kicked him out of the game for that oh now people were real pissed so a guy held up a sign that said GM Nico Harrison again he was kicked out so every
time the new owner got out of his little seat to like use the bathroom or whatever fans let him have it you ruined our team but why are they so mad obviously because they traded Luca but also this new owner just said something that is unforgivable but in the game before hey ad looked great uh for like 30 minutes because he got injured to the surprise of no one fans protested outside the Arena chanting fire Nico so this new owner gave an interview dude tried to explain why they traded a 25y old generational Superstar for
data Davis but made it 10 times worse this might go down as one of the stupidest things an owner has ever said in sports but before I got married I had a few complicated relationships I mean marriage can still be complicated why do I feel so anxious if I don't immediately get a text back is it normal that that honeymoon phase ends in a relation reltionship those things used to really worry me but I got answers that still serve me today in therapy well my sponsor better help can connect you to a therapist who can
help you find answers to some of those questions instead of being stuck in an endless loop of questioning yourself you can talk through relationship concerns with somebody who is trained to help you find real answers better help is a fully online therapy making it comfortable and convenient I wanted to vet them so I signed up for better help and I had a great experience you just fill out a questionnaire and better help matches you with a therapist in as little as a couple of days they've got a diverse network of 30,000 plus licensed professionals with
a wide range of Specialties like relationships and the cool thing about online is you can easily switch to find the right therapist for you which is really common by the way in the real world a lot less awkward online they carefully make sure that these therapists are well qualified and their customer support team is there to help if you have any questions so get help with relationships or whatever you have going on in your life just click the link in the description or go to betterhelp.com Hoops to get 10% off your first month of therapy
but at least the fans know why Luca got shipped to La so this guy's name is Patrick Dumont he is part of the Adon Dumont family who bought the Mavericks from Mark cubin back in December 2023 Patrick is the governor which means that he calls all the shots it's like you know the bus family owns the Lakers but Genie bus is actually in control so Dumont was like yeah I traded Luca and and here's why first off he says no we're not moving the team to Las Vegas okay that's a conspiracy theory and no I
wasn't being cheap okay I'm not trying to save money by shipping off Luca instead he threw Luca under the bus if you look at the greats in the league the people you and I grew up with Michael Jordan Larry Bird Kobe Bryant Shaq O'Neal they worked really hard every day with a singular Focus to win and if you don't have that it doesn't work and you shouldn't be part of the Mavericks if you want take a vacation don't do it with us wow okay without calling out Luca by name he's basically calling him a lazy
selfish bum but does this guy even watch basketball to list Shaq as one of the guys who worked hard every day is a joke okay one of the main problems between Shaq and Kobe was work ethic the man used to come into camp out of shape he once put off having surgery so that he could have his fun in the off season Shaq said well since I suffered the injury on company time why shouldn't I also be able to get surgery and do recovery on company time basically like uh yeah F the team okay I'm
trying to have fun in the offseason and also Larry Bird okay I love Larry Bird right but this guy got in a literal bar fight in the 1985 finals which means he was in a bar late at night during the finals he said yeah i' make mistakes I'd made a lot of mistakes I like to drink beer and go out and have a good time okay I'm human which sounds a lot like oh I don't know a certain Slovenian basketball player and how does he not mention Dirk nitzki when listing Champions there's a statue of
him outside of your building oh but then somehow it got even worse when asked about his GM Dumont said in Nico We Trust we had a tremendous run to the finals last year but before that Year's trade deadline our trajectory was not a playoff bound team those trade moves made by Nico allowed us to achieve our potential and get to the NBA finals which is true I mean getting PJ Washington and Daniel Gafford gave them the defense and the depth they needed to support Luca Luca is the reason they made it all the way to
the finals none of the moves matter at all without Luca I mean if there's one thing that all NBA champions have in common it's having a top five to 10 player with like maybe one exception so this owner not only showed in one interview that he doesn't know the NBA but also he doesn't know how to run a team it's like getting new tires on your Lamborghini and thinking the tires are the reason it goes so fast then you trade your Lambo for like a broken down Corvette and you're like jokes on them I kept
those magic tires you're an idiot but the old owner actually tried to stop this trade from happening okay when Mark cubin sold the team in 2023 he was told he got to keep basketball decision making right well that was a lie because Dumont did not even consult Mark cubin in this and when he heard about it Cuban immediately called GM NCO Harrison by the way who he hired but it was too late Nico was apparently done with Luca and now we know why because reporter Mark Stein Dropped a Bomb he says that Nico was mad
because Luca refused to improve his diet conditioning and attitude with refs we know that he believed that the injuries would only get worse as Luca got older and so Nico was not prepared to give Luca that 315 million Max extension he was going to lowball the third highest average scorer in NBA history who just took them to the finals now you can see why so many fans are saying these new owners are cheap they don't care about basketball they don't want to pay some big luxury tax bill trying to win they just bought the team
because they want gambling legal in Texas that is it so Nico Harrison believes Luca has peaked okay Luca's best years are behind him and we'll see about that if that's how you feel fine but at least get a gigantic package for him instead they got a 6-year older Anthony Davis Max Christy in one pick so fans dug into Nico's past and they found out he was in charge of that famous meeting that lost Steph Curry from Nike so there was a famous pitch where Nike mispronounced Steph's name as Stefan right to his face and they
forgot to switch out Kevin Durant's picture in a PowerPoint Nico was Steph's pointman at night meaning that this meeting was his meeting that went wrong so to put in perspective why these fans are so angry it's kind of like when LeBron left Cleveland for the first time to go to Miami right like he grew up there fans felt so betrayed that he would leave them they burned his jersey but now imagine if it was your own team that caused the breakup I mean these fans went from Durk directly to Luca and they know how lucky
that is and they blew it look at this neat little chart that I made about how long teams usually have to wait between Championship level Stars only teams with a title are ones I listed the Knicks haven't had a championship level guy since Willis Reed 51 years unless you count Patrick Ying then the Bucks had to wait 38 years between Kareem and Giannis Cavs waited 32 Seasons before they finally got LeBron James some of these I kind of stretched a bit like Ai and embiid but you get the point good luck by the way of
getting a free agent to go to Dallas now Kyrie is probably so pissed after making the finals last year clay specifically went to Dallas to play with Luca now hey maybe trading Luca was the right thing and we'll all look like idiots but most likely it could be another 30 plus years before they get a player like him again so fans have all the right in the world to boo this guy Patrick Dumont and Nico Harrison and not get kicked out of the game but another star is going to be on the move this off
season both Trey young and and Kevin Durant are probably on new teams after what the Suns and Hawks did at the trade deadline but the number one team rumored for KD Is Wild you would never think in a million years that they've got a shot at a player like KD