[Music] I've just left Thailand to come to Australia after being there for two months and it always surprises me how many people I speak to that say they don't like Thailand now I think there's a few main reasons why this is and if you've ever been or if you've been before stay tuned and keep watching because you leave agree with me for the reasons that people don't like it you'll disagree with me or before you go you'll have a little bit better information about what the place is like rather than going and expecting something different
than what the reality is first thing you're going to notice when you get to Thailand and when you get off the plane is the heat I've got to admit it's a lot hotter than what I thought it would be and more humid certain times of the year where it's a bit hotter like April May 98% of Thailand is always going to be hot it's a tropical country for example if you fly into Bangkok right now as we speak it is 33° but on the fields like it says it is 39° and that's pretty much a
standard weather in Bangkok most of the time so if you don't like the heat yeah you can find cooler places islands like kosamu are going to be a little bit cooler in their own sub climate if you're looking for some kind of like dry Mediterranean style heat it's not the best place for you or just go from November December January February and you'll probably enjoy it a lot more what you might be used to in Europe is going to be worlds apart from Thailand what you might be used to in the US or Australia is
going to be Worlds Apart I personally love the Heat and I love the culture I love the lifestyle if you don't enjoy the chaos and noise and hustle and bustle that is associated with southeast Asia you might not like it the roads are a little bit crazy the noise in general is a little bit louder there's a lot of vehicles there can be a lot of pollution there's all of these things so if you don't like the chaos if you don't like the noise maybe it might not be right for you personally for me and
you're going to notice a trend throughout this video the things that most people say they don't like when they say they don't like Thailand are the things that I do like and the reason I keep going back also got a few other things like clothing and the etiquette that you should treat people with is very different to other places now you'll get used to this it's nothing like you turn up and you get one thing wrong and everyone goes at you you you'll get used to what's right and what's wrong and what you should do
and what you shouldn't do it is just different to especially what I'm used to back home Bo nearly got shut on now if you're down in the islands you can pretty much bypass most of these things because it's been so driven towards tourism now that the traditional ways of life and the culture of Thailand just doesn't really apply there for the most part so if you've been to some of the islands you're thinking don't know what you're talking about that's why now this is the one that always baffles me and I hear this a lot
people saying they leaving Thailand or don't want to go there because the cost of living I don't know where you're currently living but for most of the world especially english- speaking parts of the world you're going to be getting a hell of a lot of your money in Thailand now if you go to some of the most touristy places like pet like kosamu maybe Bangkok couple other places yeah you're going to be paying a little bit more but the cost of living still isn't that crazy I hear it all the time and I even watch
videos on YouTube and it's quite frustrating cuz when you read it and they're like saying you're paying £1,000 for a rent on a on a condo like who are you renting from to pay that a quick little caveat on that you can pay upwards of a th000 2,000 3,000 for accommodation each month you can get somewhere very very nice but what I mean I've heard of people saying a one-bedroom apartment or a studio is now £1,000 a month which is nonsense you just need to shop around a little bit more and just make sure you
don't get mugged off if you want to go to Thailand and live a comfortable life on a good amount of money each month you still can don't worry don't listen to them what I will say is people that say it's super cheap like you can get by on £500 or €700 a month I think they are living like a local a big part of going to Thailand and being in Southeast Asia for me is living and a nicer life than I could back home the cost of living still isn't anywhere near what you'll be paying
in most of Europe and for what you get for an apartment for food for drinks or on a night out transport will all be so much better than what most of these people used to they are just comparing it to the previous Thailand from 10 20 30 years ago and just getting a little bit upset cuz it's not as cheap anymore don't listen to them by the way I am a 30-y old man walking over a skate ramp with a backpack on and the thing I like about being in an area where nobody knows me
is if i' done this back home I'd probably be locked up or my friends would be filming me and it' be in about 10 group chats but it's not here cuz no one knows me so I don't really care let me walk and talk the laws and the government can be strict and they've got a little bit of a name for themselves in Thailand especially amongst tourists now I get it I understand however let me put a little bit of a different spin on it people ride around on scooters and motorbikes all day every day
without helmets on in Thailand and one thing that is illegal in Thailand is to ride a scooter or a motorbike without a helmet people do that all day every day and occasionally you hear of someone getting a fine now I understand the locals do it and they kind of get a pass but imagine if your country like the UK had a law saying you had to wear a helmet on a motorbike and you went past the police you would get stopped instantly they would blues and to you straight away they would pull you over you
get a fine you'd probably get points and if you done it again you'd lose your license now in Thailand just because the laws are generally quite relaxed when things do get enforced they kind of get enforced quite firmly and that's where people get upset and I get it but we're going into someone else's country as long as you respect it and follow the rules most people will be absolutely sound there will always be an exception to the rule there is with everything but if you abide by the rules and don't be a drunk dick when
you're out you should be fine and even then you'll probably still be fine even if you did there's just a slight chance of you getting in trouble so when people say about corruption this I get it I understand what you're saying I'm not disputing that but play by the rules you're probably going to be fine don't play by the rules you're still probably going to be fine you just got a little bit of chance not to be let's talk Thai food probably the best cuisine on Earth maybe maybe not I don't know I'm not saying
that as a definitive statement but some people don't like the food and there's two usually main reasons why they don't like it in Thailand one is the spiciness and two is the hygiene maybe there's a third that they've been there a little while and they've just got bored of it I get that too the hygiene isn't something to be worried about millions of tourists go to Thailand each year and millions of tourists are absolutely fine there's just an odd occasion when you're not and if you come from a western Society like me our hygiene is
so much higher that our bodies just aren't used to different levels of bacteria or different ways of cooking different ways of handling things but it's just the way they do it and they operate and they're sound on a day-to-day basis so it's more than likely you will be too so don't stress about that part I've eaten in some questionable places and I've been sick once and it was probably my own doing rather than them so generally the hygiene is sound and the more you're exposed to little bits of bad bacteria or whatever however it works
you're going to be even stronger with your stomach and be able to eat more and more the spice is one of them where you just choose the spice level that you want most high food has Spice in and has chilies because they can tolerate it in this the way they've always eaten but there's plenty of dishes that don't and if you want to eat Western you can Western food's going to be a little bit more expensive but some people just don't like Thai food they don't get on with it this one I couldn't get on
board with and I I do agree for it's over tourism in certain areas like puket you can feel it when you're there it's not the same as other parts of Thailand and it's got a feel that it's no longer traditional Thailand anymore the the locals aren't maybe as friendly as what you'd expect elsewhere in Thailand with it being such a friendly country and the way of life the prices the roads The Foreigner to tie ratio is all off so I get that in Parts certain people probably don't like Thailand because of the over tourism I
still don't think for the most part if you dodge the busiest times of year that it is overly populated with tourists everywhere I still think you have some nuggets once you get out of the main main areas and you can still go down to the beach early in the morning sometimes and have it all to yourself so yes it is getting more crowded with tourists yes if you go to other countries you might have less tourism but there's a reason people go to Thailand and it's because it does now cater very very well for tourists
so for me the fact that it's got some of my home Comforts and the modern amenities that I'm used to outweighs the fact that there's more tourists there now otherwise what would I expect going there and having shopping centers or or western food and all of this but just to myself just wouldn't happen you can't really have both so I'll just take that little bit of extra volume of tourist for being able to have a burger have a p or go somewhere that has a bit more of a home feel when I actually feel like
it or when I just fancy a change from the normal food or the normal restaurants now this next one is a fact there's no disputing it the language barrier is a thing and wherever you go in Thailand English is not their first language it's not remotely close to tie in any way shape or form the languages couldn't be further apart yet they do speak English enough for us to be able to get by and that's not everywhere some places people don't speak any English but some places you will get a little bit especially if you're
in the more touristy areas now it's enough to get by it's enough to communicate it's enough to rent a scooter it's enough to book a hotel it's enough to order a meal but is it enough to have a proper decent conversation without it being very broken not for the most part I would say over 95% even in the more busier areas will not speak amazing English but we don't speak amazing Tai so if you're going there longterm and that is a struggle for you I understand why you would want to leave and why it wouldn't
be right potentially try learning the language could be an option it is difficult but some people do it and I've toyed around with the idea and might do it also the transport and transportation the modes of transport and just the general traffic can be a little bit questionable maybe a little bit dangerous at times or feel a little bit dangerous I know more than a handful of people that have came off of motorbikes or been in accidents in Thailand it does happen I also know a lot of people that have never had an accident and
I understand the roads are dangerous I can't talk on here and say they're not they can be dangerous and that's why you've just got to take as much precaution as you can maybe if you're not confident on a bike particularly don't go out on one but you can get taxis everywhere you can get scooter taxis car taxis now depending on where you are and depending on what times you travel there's going to be a lot of traffic but if traffic bothers you just don't travel during rush hour or get public transport ah and I forgot
this is me from the future coming back to the past if you know your nan Granddad Mom Dad Auntie Uncle even cousin or brother who is coming out to Thailand or going out to Thailand and they are not confident on a bike or you're worried about them getting on a bike discourage them and tell them not to ride I've seen some Moody drivers riding along wobbling along I've seen a scooter hit and take out a cone I've seen people stack it around corners like luckily I've never seen anything fatal or really really bad happen even
though it does happen quite regularly but if somebody's not confident on a bike and you're their family member or friend to give them a little nudge in the right direction because ain't no one want to see your mom dad and Granddad Auntie Uncle on a bike wobbling around on the roads just an accident waiting to happen and even then everything comes with a risk is it a reason not to go to Thailand or leave if I was a lot older I would probably say yeah I could get on board with that I could understand it
if my only mode of Transport was a scooter but if you can be in a car or get a car taxi around and I was older it wouldn't bother me because you would still be able to get around safely and you wouldn't need to trust your own judgment or rely on the fact that if you did come off your bike if you were a little bit younger you'd be able to recover from it whereas if you were a little bit older and you were riding around your balance is worse and your recovery is worse could
be a little bit peek Tong if if things go peek Tong now the final part of this video and the final reason is going to be very similar to the first now because of the weather in Thailand they have seasons so for Summer of the year you're going to have a wet or Monsoon or or rainy season and then for the other part you're going to have a dry season where there's a lot less rain it's a bit cooler and it's a bit humid so people can get a little bit annoyed with having only a
few months a year where they're guaranteed Sunshine but in my experience in the rainy season you're still going to get a lot of sun you're just going to get a lot more rain than what you would do in the other months the dry season for most of Thailand is between late November December through to early March so keing here if you disagree with me tell me in the comments but make sure you say why don't just say you disagree with me and not give any reason why hear it don't be a keyboard Warrior if you
agree with me great if you think there's something that I've missed let me know in the comments as well and if you stayed this far and been watching if you've subscribed already or lik the video or just watch this far I appreciate you thank you and I'll catch you in the next one