Hello everyone, welcome to a new video. Welcome to this conversation between friends. Hi !
As you can see, I'm not alone today since I have the great honor of being accompanied by. . .
Bonjour French for those who know me, there you go, with the beret still on So "Bonjour French" is not your first name. No, it's Charles. Can you maybe start by introducing yourself in a simple way, as you wish.
Of course: I'm Charles, I'm 27, I come from Paris , I'm originally from Corsica, for those who know, it's a small island in the south of France, which is magnificent, by the way, you should go there. . I confirm I started as an entrepreneur two years ago so I set up a company called "hello coach" and we help foreign students to integrate into France through various services , in particular the learning French by speaking, by conversation, because we think it's a very good method, like Nelly, I think it brings us together, to learn the language by exchanging with natives and we help the students also to find accommodation in France.
- What are your social networks, where can people find you? -I think everyone knows you on Instagram with your cap we recognize you -With the beret - Sorry It's almost the same. You can find me on Tik Tok on Facebook and on Youtube in the name of "bonjour French" quite simply and so you said that you welcome, finally you participate in welcoming students in France what actually motivates you to do that ?
I think it's great but what made you want to do it? So basically, I think it's also through my experience and that when I was little I was very very shy, I was sickly shy but suddenly languages they helped me anyway, well languages and other things, but especially languages and getting out of your comfort zone, going abroad, learning a new language, it really helped me develop and then gain self-confidence so I think it's something very important for people also who come to Paris, it's that many come and speak French but above all the written word: they know a lot of grammar but are not necessarily very good at easy to speak it and at the beginning we targeted Chinese students who are particularly victims of it I think, who are very good at writing and who are very very strong but when they arrive in France they find themselves lost because they cannot they can't exchange, they don't have the ability to speak. So that's why we created this company and that's why I decided to do this.
It's funny because you tell me that you were in any case very shy and me too, I have the impression that there are a lot of French teachers who were shy at the time in fact, I wonder why. There are a lot of them I think they are who are like that it's in relation to what we've been through we want to help others in our own way and sometimes the way well is to teach via the networks and then afterwards to give lessons but suddenly I think that 's what kind of brings us all together. Are there other French teachers who were very shy at the time?
It's not the first time I've heard that, is it not complicated for you to expose yourself on the networks or is it like therapy? A little of both, at the beginning it was really complicated frankly, filming myself etc in the street at the beginning it was at home but even filming myself at home it was very complicated and there what I suddenly did recently, because I had a work-study, I'm lucky to have a work-study at the moment, and we actually filmed scenes in Paris and we went to see tourists to ask them to pronounce complicated words so a little game, a sort of fun little game, and if they succeeded they were given a croissant, a pain au chocolat. Oh that's motivating!
That's why there was the little carrot anyway to motivate them. I'm willing to play your game, there's no problem. Do you want to pronounce "kettle"?
So I fell back into my direct shyness because I got rejected I think the first three or four times and I don't approach people the right way. For almost half an hour I didn't want to do it anymore and then after you do it again even if you get angry etc, that's part of the thing, this video in particular I think it was the hardest video I I did because it was the first time that I really approached people in the street you see, that I had to stop people in the street and it was a hassle, in the end it worked rather well, it's sometimes it's hard to expose yourself on the networks In fact, it's a bit special for me because being a teacher and teaching something gives me self-confidence because I'm already proud to teach it It's my language, and I really want to help, as you said, shy people Because I know what they feel it also helps me, that, to fight my shyness so now I can say that I don't feel shy anymore but sometimes it comes out exactly as you say, in somewhat unusual situations But yes, helping people to stop being shy, it allowed me to stop being shy It's beautiful! But suddenly that's it, it's advice I think it's to get out of your comfort zone and do things that scare you in general You I don't know at what level you were but I really I was the little nerd in the class who said nothing, who was super shy, super withdrawn And suddenly it was the trips, learning languages, sports, finally the accomplishments in general that helped me get out of that, if I can help, if we can help people get by with our videos at our humble level, that's great.
So in fact, if I sum up, speaking a new language and telling yourself that you are capable of it, well. . .
it can help to gain confidence in yourself, in your abilities and to get out of this situation. How many languages do you speak? So I speak French suddenly, English Spanish and a little Chinese.
Can you tell us little words in Chinese? I don't know if I said it well, basically "I'm 27". I am super impressed.
Since I spent two years in China I was able to learn Chinese there and then I also spoke a lot of English so it was mainly English in the end that I learned, that I developed. And you, what languages do you speak? me.
. like you, English, Spanish, Italian a little bit. Don't ask me to speak Italian, no I won't speak Italian.
no I don't practice it on a daily basis so it's true that it's a little difficult to maintain it and now I don't remember it, but I understand it a little. I would like to improve my English and become "fluent" that's why I understand a lot my students who tell me "I feel blocked when I speak in French" and all because I feel the same blockage and I try to pass on my experience to my students. And you do it well.
Thanks. Well we talked a bit about our work, I would like us to talk a bit about our hobbies and your hobbies, what makes you vibrate on a daily basis, what do you like to do , What are your passions ? apart from teaching French suddenly and creating content, these are now part of my passions.
I really like doing sports so it's also one of the things that allowed me to develop and I think that for people who don't do sports, you have the impression that it's only physical but in the end I think it's very mental and it helps you to surpass yourself, it helps you to. . .
When you've had a bad day, it allows you to relax, you can have new ideas finally there you go , I I love doing sports so at the moment I'm running a lot, I'm preparing for a third half-marathon which will arrive on Sunday. I know you did a half marathon? we did it together for the record we did it together but we never saw each other, we just wrote messages to each other but he left long before me and arrived long before me.
At least you've finished it, it's already good for the first one, what's important is to finish it, and that's good, I also find you have this aspect of surpassing yourself, personal accomplishment, of set goals, to achieve them and suddenly the first one I had done (a bit like you Nelly) I think I had very little training, I had never done long distances, I had done 10 km the max and while a half-marathon is 21 km but with the atmosphere, what does it push you? The atmosphere is incredible to live, and suddenly I am preparing for my 3rd, there I prepared myself much better so I hope I will beat my record (less than two hours) that's the goal So there I have to do it and here I love doing sport in general especially for that to reach goals and then to help me grow. I did a lot of gym, weight room so that's really what helped me also to get out of my shyness I think, to gain self - confidence physically but also once again mentally and I do swimming, cycling, so that's a lot of sport, I love it.
When is the triathlon then? So I had to do one in June, so who was in Paris you see, so for those who know it goes through the Canal de l'Ourq, it's not super clean frankly it doesn't look great to swim there- low but hey, it's better not to drink the cup what, and suddenly I had to do it, I prepared myself etc for that but this same weekend I had the opportunity to go to Berlin so for an event which is called "L'expolingua" so it's an event that brought together content creators and language teachers , so like me, and I was invited by a partner so who was Lingoda and Chatterbug I didn't think about it , I said to myself "I have to go" it's too an important opportunity and it 's the first time that I was able to meet content creators who were doing the same thing as me. It's great to have the opportunity you see to meet people who do the same thing and with whom you can share all that because the difficulty is that you find yourself quickly alone I find when you are an entrepreneur etc.
So I will do the triathlon next year for sure I hope. So you are passionate about sports, and in terms of culture, do you often go to exhibitions, do you visit museums, do you go to the cinema, what do you do? I like to visit exhibitions, I do it more and more, because I have my mother who is a journalist, who is an art critic, so she is really passionate, she is passionate about that, she transmits to me that, I try to go there more and more in museums.
I like music a lot, also rap, especially rap, you talk about it a lot on Instagram. I really like concerts, I really like the whole atmosphere, the atmosphere around it, to experience a concert is great and I listen to a lot of it, well, a lot of music and particularly rap. Also of the French variety, so it's two slightly different things, but I like both.
What do you like for music? As music. .
. it's the classic answer that everyone says, but I really listen to everything, not so much rap except if you consider that Orelsan yes it's rap but here are more text songs and I don't really like electro music, otherwise I like everything: classical, pop, rock. Not too much "young's" music, yes because I'm an old me.
when she tells me Orelsan or Nekfeu there sometimes it's even poetry Yes it's true that there are two types of rap suddenly, it's more text rap as she says: Orelsan or Nekfeu sometimes it's even poetry I find Nekfeu, I don't know if you're listening to yourself, but he makes crazy rhymes there are a lot of figures of speech so it's borderline poetic, but there there is rap that is a little more mainstream, which I also listen to a lot, but there are two types of rap, we can classify it like that, but you suddenly like rap text rap, which is more poetic. And in terms of cinema, if you had a film to recommend to subscribers, what would it be? So my favorite film, of course, I have to choose a French film, which you watch because it also helps you to learn, to improve your French so it's "Le diner de cons" so it's very French humor but which I love.
Go ahead, give us a summary in one minute to make us want to see "the stupid dinner". It's the story of some friends who gather around a dinner and in fact their goal is each to bring back a "con", so someone who considers a "con" around the table for in quotes "making fun of him" so it's very funny because he finds people quite funny, in particular Jacques Villeret the actor he brings back and suddenly the whole plot is based on this famous dinner of idiots. The dialogues are great and with the subtitles, I think it's perfect for practicing French.
As you say, we can understand the French humor which is quite special, quite second degree, very ironic in this film so I approve, I also recommend. How about you, your favorite movie? I've already made several videos on that, by the way, on must-see French series.
In series I repeat it all the time but I love "Ten percent" I don't know if you've seen it. I haven't seen but yes I know. Lupine too is now a classic to see if you are learning French.
and in film. . .
I'm going to tell you about the last film I went to see at the cinema last week, which is called "masquerade" with Pierre Niney. Pierre if you watch us. .
. If you come across the video, if you get lost on Youtube. it takes place in Nice so the sets are absolutely magnificent and it changes Paris a little bit because there are a lot of films that take place in Paris and there for once it's a completely different setting, very Mediterranean, I adore.
ok, it made me want to go see anyway. You told me that you like sport very much, do you like practicing it, or watching it? or both ?
Do you watch sports on TV? So suddenly I like to practice it a lot as I said, I also like to watch it so since I was very young I have been a big fan of football, especially PSG and France who are currently playing for world Cup. I think it brings people together, it's one of the only sports that brings people together so much and there's also the atmosphere so I'm a supporter of Paris so I also like the whole atmosphere side, singing for the team, to support your team, so it also allows you to travel, which is also one of my passions, but I love the whole folklore side, the supporter side, the good atmosphere with your friends, etc.
, and to allow the players to transcend themselves. . .
you feel that you still have a weight in the results and in the team, on the team. I also watch the World Cup even if there is debate, there are many debates on the boycott etc. I boycott.
Are you boycotting? Totally? I'm boycotting but I don't like football so it's pretty easy.
Ok so you boycott all the time, what. Did you even boycott 2018? No I didn't boycott 2018, I watch when France plays but it's not something that transcends me or especially this year in fact, it's true that it's complicated especially this year with Qatar, finally all known abuses.
I have a friend in particular who the fact that there is a big football fan and who boycotts, I respect him but I think that unfortunately it will have no weight because if there were States which boycotted or s 'there was something else. . .
but individually it won't change anything and yesterday there were like 12 million people, I think TF1 broke its audience record, so you see that proves that people don't boycott and it proves that, unfortunately, individually, it has no weight, so I do n't want to deprive myself personally of something that I like and especially the World Cup is every four years and after that can seem a little selfish, a little individualistic to think like that, but suddenly, I think that it has no weight unfortunately the boycott I completely understand what you are saying In your opinion, who will win this World Cup world ? Make your predictions. France of course!
We are one of the favorites anyway, I think there was Argentina who were favorites too, who were beaten yesterday, then there is Spain who are playing today so there you go but there are a lot of favorites but France can keep its star, I hope especially after the very disappointing euro that we had experienced 2 years ago but yes I hope it's France but it's true that it's very strange that this either during the winter like that, it's too weird and that there is no Fan Zone finally you see it's really a special world cup. Good France will win the World Cup, you will have heard it here, by Charles. We'll talk about it again in a month, a little less.
The prediction is made, we'll see. And you, do you watch sports? So football you understood that no, rugby not so much either, not even at all.
even as Toulouse? Even as a Toulouse native, no. On the other hand, I watch Formula 1 since the Netflix series?
no, not really, for me it started little by little, I have friends who explained to me and then the trigger was when I went to see the first Grand Prix in real life, in Budapest 2 years ago , and since then I haven't missed a single grand prize. You are a bit of an F1 fan. We can say.
Do you support a driver? The French obviously, Alpine and the two French pilots Pierre Gasly and Ocon. Afterwards there is a Monegasque who is Charles Leclerc, Charles if you pass by there too But suddenly he does not consider himself French, he is Monegasque.
It is a special status in France. Monaco, yes. Have you ever been to Monaco?
No. I love Monaco, yeah it's amazing. What did you like there?
it's very small, it's a rock and there's the royal family, it's a principality and it's really surrounded by the Mediterranean, so there's the sea everywhere, then it's a very special atmosphere, it's very rich obviously you need a lot of money to settle in Monaco and there's a small beach, well I don't know, it's a really special atmosphere on the Côte d'Azur what, yeah it's nice. We're going to end this conversation there because we've been talking for 25 minutes, yes. We invite you to go see the rest of our conversation on Charles's channel, it will be published normally in two days, two days after the video comes out will be published on my channel so hello French.
there you go, Friday at 6 p. m.