hey it's IND demon and today we need to talk about a new game that is making a sweep through the industry in blazing fashion in the form of Marvel Rivals which in my opinion should become the industry standard for how these sorts of ips are given Life and video game form of course people are coping and attacking it for also not being woke Beyond this the Ubisoft situation gets more interesting as buyouts and liquidation talks get thrown around so I want to explore that as well let's get into it firstly Marvel Rivals is here I finally got around to playing it myself and yeah I think it's a pretty great game is it just OverWatch with Marvel heroes absolutely but it feels more fluent to play and I really enjoy the quality of these characters and how everything works for me so far I've mostly been playing as mantis because there's no rooll lock in Rivals as of right now anyways and a lot of people clearly just enjoy Zerg rushing the enemy team and attacking them so I've pretty much taken it upon myself to babysit everybody and keep them healthy by healing their wounds cuz people are morons but mantis is dope though I always end up playing characters in these online games that aren't who I think I'll play at first I also found Venom to be really dope to play as well I love his style of tanking and for DPS so far my go-to is the Punisher who is basically just Soldier 76 meets Bastion from OverWatch but cooler cuz well he's the Punisher dude come on look at him of course Marvel Rivals doing well is not good for the industry because it's copying elements from other games and this this is not original apparently this brings me to Former blizzard head Mike yabara who complained on Twitter stating that Marvel Rivals is not original and should not be celebrated he said looks like OverWatch Marvel Rivals ships tomorrow much like light of mriam a clear copy of horizon zero Dawn out of China I mean even the character named Widowmaker in OverWatch versus Black Widow in Marvel Rivals net EAS 10 cent all the same yeah this didn't go over very well for Mike Yara at all you can feel the seething through the screen too plus his claim that black widow is copying Widowmaker is stupid the community note humbled him which stated Natasha Romanov AKA Black Widow is a popular Marvel hero who made her comic debut in 1964 more than 50 years before OverWatch and Widowmaker were created the poster is spreading misinformation and I mean the community note like usual is absolutely right Widowmaker did not come before Black Widow although yes if you look at how these characters play and how they operate within both games I do agree that they are similar they're both snipers but I mean again Black Widow existed before and was always a military spec ops badass assassin sniper lady anyway so what role did you want her to be in a Healer Black Widow being a sniper just makes logical sense the same way that Captain America with his shield being a tank is just logical too of course Mike Yar is mad I mean he's someone who panders to wokeness of Plenty already we need to remember this former blizzard executive who is trying to make people not play Rivals because it go goes against with his team made is what it's always been corporate jealousy this Mike yabara guy was instrumental to the rebranding and release of OverWatch 2 by the way a game that promised a full single player experience and then completely killed the original game in order to force players over to the brand new OverWatch 2 game client and it quickly turned out that all the changes that blizzard brought to OverWatch 2 were terrible reduced player party counts characters had to be bought with either real money or grinded on until unlocked via battle passes to play at first which yes makes zero sense cuz the game is a hero shooter and if certain Heroes were considered the meta it's obviously then just paid to win if you can just spend money to quickly unlock the brand new hero over the people who can't afford it of course OverWatch 2 would eventually announce a single player mode was cancelled not cuz it wasn't good but simply CU blizzard couldn't monetize it the same way they could the multiplayer so instead of giving players what they promised blizzard decided to gut the whole operation and chop up the single player experiences which by the way had entire levels cinematics and even skill trees for each hero simply because they couldn't make you pay extra for it I wish I was kidding dude which then just made OverWatch 2 pointless to exist I mean what's the point if the one big selling factor in your single player efforts was cancelled cuz you were all too greedy also they reed 6v6 player matches again later on as a new feature after enough Community backlash caused blizzard to Pivot their decision and they also made it so that all new Heroes could be played ailable from the first round right away which they didn't do it first and again they're just adding things that were already there to begin with and then calling it a new feature it's so dumb and by doing all of this it just doesn't justify overwatch's 2's existence I mean looking at OverWatch 2's numbers on Steam alone the game never even reached Drgon Age Veil guard concurrent player counts even to this day and when compared up against Marvel Rivals it's just staggering as fandm pulse put it Rivals has a 487. 1 increase of players compared to OverWatch 2 during its release so yeah no wonder that Mike yabara is mad and want he did not play the game he's mad cuz Rivals is absolutely destroying OverWatch too and of course his comments there in his post where he says Net's 10cent all the same it's kind of ridiculous too they're both Chinese companies yes but that doesn't mean that they're the same company cuz they're not that's like me saying that BioWare and Clay entertainment are the same company simply CU they're both situated primarily in Canada yet BioWare which made stuff like Drgon Age V guard has nothing in common with Clay entertainment which made games like Mark of the Ninja which is Awesome by the way highly recommended and stuff like Don't Starve just cuz they're both Canadian game studios doesn't mean that they have anything in common besides where they are Mike Yara kind of went a bit off mask there and pretty much said Chinese game studios are all the same it's all Chinese people what's the difference actually there is a difference Mike but you know if you want to be jealous and a tad bit racist I guess that's your choice to do so as well the the point here is that Mike Yara is clearly coping and really doesn't want people to play Marvel Rivals because it's clearly doing what they're doing just way better in pretty much every single way and yeah of course it's based on Marvel characters which obviously has that brand recognition attached to them for obvious reasons my biggest takeaway from Rivals from what I've played beyond the smooth gameplay and as you've been seeing on screen beautiful visuals is that the game is putting the most important things forward as a priority which is game performance and being fun as health to play the game runs smooth as butter you get placed into games in like 10 to 15 seconds everything loads quickly and games just start super fast and the best part is there's not any stupid slop like Concord that tried to do where they had your whole character pronouns in the select screen or anything dumb like that like you take one look at mantis and go yeah that's a woman but how do you know I mean she's an alien well she's a woman in terms of her body shape and all of that I don't need you to tell me this is somehow a man cuz it's not the same way if you unironically put he him beside the punisher's massive frame I would face pal like thanks tips I couldn't tell that the Punisher was a man I think the fact that he looks like a guy was a pretty good indicator of what he is and what he has going on between his legs the whole pronoun thing and gender stuff has always irked me cuz it's just stupid if you need to go out of your way to tell me what your characters genders or pronouns are you failed already think about it especially from the perspective of a hero shooter you should be able to immediately tell who is who they solely on their silhouette or how they look with within seconds you take one look at Venom and you can go yeah that guy's definitely Venom I don't need you to say well actually Venom uses they them pronouns cuz they're referring to the Symbiote and the person within the Symbiote at the same time just shut up you nerds Venom is a he cuz Eddie Brock is the guy that the Symbiote is attached to I'm not going to call Venom but they them or non-binary cuz he says we are Venom get that Seattle San Francisco gobby G Talk out of my face sick of these people in their nonsense too many of these game devs these days are prioritizing things that don't matter at all just make your game fun to play and have it run well and then leave all the stupid stuff at the door grum's even made an easy to read graph here which shows exactly how things are going in 2024 so red means woke game blue means non-woke game and these numbers are the steam charts highest concurrent player counts for each game released in 2024 as you can see the woke games have just shy of over a 100,000 players combined across seven different titles here this means that Space aring 2 alone is pretty much about doubled the player counts just by itself when compared to every single wokey woke game combined here on Steam if we then use pow world or Wukong it just becomes a blood bath and I mean it's not even remotely closed in terms of player counts or sales Mike Yara over there with blizzard would situate OverWatch too with those woke games cuz whether he wants to admit it or not OverWatch is a pretty pandering franchise in case you didn't know I'll never get over the fact that blizzard actually made a diversity tool where they type in prompts get the highest woke character points and that this same system is real and that they use it to make their characters even to today you think it's just a coincidence that every character pretty much an OverWatch is some gender identity nonsense that never existed until a few years ago all of a sudden now they're all non-binary or whatever the hell else they are what does any of this have to do with the game playay nothing at all but mikab Bar's team when he spearheaded blizzard really wanted to ensure that everyone checked off some sort of list cuz what better way to circumvent criticism of any kind if you don't need to fix anything but instead just throw agenda in front of your problems and go sure our game deleted our single player but did you know that Venture is non-binary Marvel Rivals is basically the answer to the question of what if OverWatch was a video game that focused on fun over identity politics and then they just kind of did that and rolled with it I mean the creative director for Marvel Rivals is this guy named Guang Guang a last name so good as parents look through the whole book of names and when n we're naming our son the same thing twice I mean you got to respected dude I knew a guy growing up called Chen Chen like what a crazy name man but you got to respect these things so Guang Guang over here is the creative director and honestly this is the kind of guy I trust with making video games cuz this guy looks like he knows what he's talking about the kind of guy who likely Smiles awkwardly in family photos but if you give him a computer and a goal and some beer the dude can probably build you anything and I respect that Marvel Rivals didn't put some attractive out of touch eag girl to promote this stuff either they just put the creative director and went here's what's coming okay cool have fun I like that a lot personally but circling back to Mike yabara who is salty but Rivals doing so well the guy isn't without controversy himself he has been known for his own controversies too as game developer. com put it it began with the quick exit of executive Jen O'Neal who was supposed to join Yara as co-president of Blizzard O'Neal alleged to employees that she had been offered lower pay than Yara a development that came right as the studio was denying that it was system atically paying women lower salaries than their male counterparts to his credit yabara had reportedly encouraged company leadership to bring their pay packages in alignment but yabara once again became the face of controversy at blizzard when he led a Q&A with employees where he introduced a Hardline and unpopular return to office policy and informed workers they would only receive 58% of their profit sharing bonus after an especially strong fourth quarter addressing the latter news Yara explained to employees that and other company leaders were also impacted by the reduced bonuses if you think that executives are making a lot of money and you aren't you're living in a myth he said at the time seemingly unaware that the sentence sounded like he was downplaying the pay discrepancies between Yara and rank and file developers that discrepancy May unfortunately once again be on display with yara's exit as a leading executive Yara is likely to receive a sizable golden parachute that his colleagues down the line will not so this guy isn't is n exactly someone I would feel sorry for and he's clearly just very angry that Rivals is eating away at his former company's market share of the pie but the reties is that current blizzard and the state of OverWatch is not to be blamed on Rival success but it solely sits on the shoulders of Blizzard themselves they were the ones who ruined their own games they decided to Pander to woke identity politics and push for all the other gender nonsense in their games all of this plus the Lost of trust in removing the promised single player mode and removing features only to reimplement them and then sell it as an update just led to a lot of people leaving OverWatch behind myself included I think what 2024 has done if anything I hope at least is teach these Studios that we as players have far more power than they think we do they do not dictate whether things do well or not the players do we don't need to play your games and we can pull support whenever we want to if gamergate has taught us anything is that the market shifts and answers solely to the almighty God of this industry which is if players and the more these types shift away from what people want or attack games like Rivals the worse it's going to get for them I mean you know things are stupid when comments like this on Reddit gets attention this one user said not a fan of these character designs to be honest especially characters like Luna snow who are very male gazy and serious lack of diversity but the game looks like it could be fun thoughts This Thread went about as well as you'd think but it proves the point regardless saying something is male gazy is just stupid just say it for what it is you're a woke communist who hates the sight of attractive healthy women because your brain has been broken by leftist Propaganda and the lack of diversity makes no sense either Luna snow is Asian Spider-Man is white black panther is a black guy Scarlet Witch is Romani I think and neore is clearly based off of his Aztec inspired version in the MCU and Venom is an alien and of course there's Jeff who's a shark there's more diversity here than most games have but the difference here is that good diversity will happen no matter what when it's not made the priority just give us cool characters and focus on making them badass and then that'll become the selling point this whole you can't like this thing cuz it's too much like this thing argument is dumb no matter how you put it did I mention that Mike Yara deleted that comment by the way and he was also followed up by saying worded poorly had to delete massive DMS of Blizzard sucks which should be expected I guess it's clear what they are doing it's not the first time once the net e deal went South everything was a free-for-all and it all went into hyperdrive here's the thing Mike nobody owns gameplay mechanics well unless you're Warner Bros who actually trademarked the Nemesis system that's real by the way look it up but you don't own genres like hero Shooters you don't own mechanics like healing or shooting enemies games have been heavily inspired or rip off others for a really long time now it's just how the industry is especially in the AAA space of course we all know what trends are and OverWatch and how it worked was a trend that became trendy and then people copied it a plenty and let's be serious blizzard copied Concepts like bad battle passes and loot boxes as well from other games too like you can't be serious here of course most hero Shooters didn't work like Concord or battleborn but it doesn't mean that other hero Shooters can't exist now plus Rivals is not even a first person game it's third person sure some attacks may make you go first person like Punisher using his turret but largely speaking the facts remain all of this just sounds like one guy that's mad that another guy made a better Burger than he did using similar ingredients OverWatch and blizzard used to be the kings and queens of the gameing World hell they won game of the year when OverWatch first came out but it's obviously through corporate greed crunching devs and bending the need to woke identity politics which all happened under Mike's watch that OverWatch as a franchise just crumbled over time you can't be angry that by your own volition you left a massive gaping hole for the competition to fill due to your lack of incompetence and then get salty cuz other companies saw that opportunity and then capitalized on it I mean it's Marvel for God's sakes what's next you're going to attack Disney for this all these companies just want to make money to be real with you I'm surprised that Disney allowed Marvel Rivals to exist how it is especially since Disney's editorial board is notoriously anal when it comes to how their IPs get used however I should state that Disney is changing a lot of things Marvel has become over time more into what people want slowly but surely I mean Deadpool and Wolverine and Rivals proves this Star Wars unfortunately is more of its own Island amidst the Disney IPS that refuses to change but Rivals proves that if you just make a game fun that runs well that isn't pushing all of the nonsense you get the success as well and because it's netes which is Chinese they are vemily against wokeness actually let me tell you a story while I'm at it so I did a video a bit back about Star Wars Eclipse those sources that I spoke to about that video told me about netes the people who made Rivals they also own Quantic dream that's making Star Wars Eclipse 2o anyways netes as I was told from these sources is very vocal in meetings with Publishers and potential partners that they see the Western viewpoint on gender in such to be horrible the exact phrase I was told is that nedes finds the Western agenda to be full of degenerates and they do not agree with anything going on in the west right now in terms of anything to do with said wokeness so it's really no surprised that Rivals which was made by netes is what it is cuz China has laws against depicting men as a feminite or women as manly the government there for bids it and women must be women no matter what is the deconstruction of Western Society due to the ideological rotting of wokeness aboon to Chinese Powers within entertainment and more absolutely it is but the fact of the matter is that if the West wanted to return to its more prominent and far more powerful version of itself they too would need to reject the very Concepts that they've been pushing for so long onto others but because these politics and ideologies are so baked into the DNA of so many things these days what is going to happen is Eastern developers in studios and companies will consume the majority of the gaming pie and people like Mike yabara of course knows this and is really mad about it but ultimately it's due to his own decisions as CEO of blizzard and others that the West is in such a a weak spot when it comes to these things anyways he helped Foster the downfall himself and is now salty that said downfall is undoing his work if you wanted OverWatch to stay King you wouldn't have done what you did to it but you did therefore you can't be angry that Rivals exists and you can't stand there with your golden parachute that siphoned money from a company that needed to be bought out by Microsoft to save whatever remained of it and act like you're somehow holier than thou now you deleting those comments even though the internet like always keeps everything proves this don't get mad about Rivals be mad at yourselves for being idiots this then brings me to Ubisoft which is pretty much a natural evolution of what I've been talking about in this video already so spoilers Ubisoft is dying I reported on this I spoke to way too many people who work there already and confirm that it's a sinking ship that's going to die in some way come 2025 this comes from tweaktown.
com from editor Derek Strickland Ubisoft headed towards privatization and Dismantling in 2025 so like I said because of the woke of the West these Western companies are weaker than ever before Ubisoft is one of these western w companies then there's tensent another Chinese giant company that already owns 49. 99% of the shares of Ubisoft as of the making of this video Ubisoft wants to go private and get its shares under control before someone else fully controls Ubisoft like tensent for example industry analyst juice van druin which I definitely just mispronounced had this to say about Ubisoft Ubisoft is headed for privatization and Dismantling in 20 25 with its share price plummeting from $28. 99 to $12.