[Music] so today Nvidia launched the RTX 5070 and despite the puff pieces that were totally not paid for trying to do damage control before review day somehow I think those puff pieces aren't going to make much of a difference to this reality where the RTX 5070 simply does not have enough vram for modern games seriously I think this could be worse than the situation we had with the RTX 370 in 2020 which isn't all that surprising because after over four years Nvidia has only deemed us mid-range Gamers worthy of getting an extra four meas gigabytes
which is clearly not enough to keep up with the uplift in visuals we are getting from games again over four years later and overall it ends up just like this channel leaked a month ago not even really faster than the RTX 470 super and so I don't have much else to say about it especially because it has no Supply pretty much I'll get into the specifics later in the video with some exciting leaks but for now let me just point out that public information out there you can look this thing had single digits to no
stock at micro centers depending on which location you checked and so all right then let's move on from that dud to what of course is the bell of the ball of today of this week's releases the RX 99070 series now overall I would say that once again this was about the performance I've been expecting with the 9070 XT bearing the 5070 and raster well the 970 also overall beats the 5070 uh in most reviews and on average actually the 9070 XT is between the 7900 XTX and XT and raster well the 9070 is within single
digits of the 7900 XT again in rasterization and in ra tracing the 970 XT gets close to the 4070 TI super well even the 970 lands close to the pathetic RTX 570 some big rate tracing win should have been the one thing Nvidia could claim with that graphics card over the 9070 at the same price but they really can't at least not in all reviews and so look even though I leaked this outcome roughly a couple months ago in a video it is still very impressive in my opinion that AMD has managed to just about
catch up to Nvidia and Ray trade in per raster performance that means that if Nvidia slips on a banana peel again with the Next Generation AMD may actually catch up in R tracing and that's just wow however now let me move on to the things that did surprise me about rdna 4 reviews today now the first thing and this is continuing a bit with the ray tracing discussion is I did find it interesting that while there were certainly outliers where Nvidia destroyed AMD and raay tracing there are are games games that I consider to be
fairly optimized uses of raid tracing because they need to because they require raid tracing GPU to even use the game and so if there's a game that requires raid tracing you can't have it run like crap on any one vendor's GPU games like you know maybe Metro Exodus enhanced Edition or Star Wars Outlaws these games seem to be some of amd's best showings and so I do think that well despite things like Allen wake 2 which are is a game that was not very optimized and it was clearly programmed on PC to make Nvidia look
good I'm sorry I'm just going to say it I'm not sure that that sort of thing the Allen wake 2 performance is something that we're going to see as often as we see with you know again games like Metro exus enhanced Edition as we move forward where we get more and more games where there isn't a non- raid tracing option where you have to use Raid tracing where the game is built up from the ground up for it and also built from the ground up to run well on a PS5 Pro or R and A4
and the more that happens the I think horrible rate tracing performance games for AMD are going to become more and more of outliers as developers that require rate tracing for their game cannot afford to have one company's products run like crap especially again when that company is the one making game consoles owned by tens of millions of people uh now that's just speculation by me but I do think people should think about that when they see some of the worst outcomes today oh and speaking of outliers here's a fun little leak for you all I
saw some reviewers surprised that Counter Strike 2 ran so badly on RD and A4 although badly relatively speaking I mean it's still maxing out 400 htz displays depending on the settings with 1% lows that actually are pretty close to the 5070 Ti from what I saw but anyways let me tell you it used to be worse than what you're seeing today uh in fact what I am now leaking to you on screen is the counter strike 2 performance of amd's Rd and A4 graphics cards 3 months ago before they were fully optimized this says again
from an internal report inside AMD this was flagged for me as an outlier that should get a lot of improvement before Aran a4s launch and so I didn't leak it until now and it did get a lot of improvement but not as much as they or me were hoping it would and so I don't know hopefully there is more improvements to be made could it be AMD fine wine trademarked happening all over again I don't know maybe who really knows but what I will say is that I think that's plausible because rdna 4's architecture seems
like quite a departure from rdna A3 and how it is performing and actually speaking of architecture another thing that surprised me today is just how well these cards perform in 4k that's really the resolution where Rd and A4 performs best relative to Blackwell despite having a third less Infinity cache and a third smaller bus than the 7900 XTX that it can roughly match that stood out to me today as good good God the third gen Infinity cach with Aran A4 is really impressive and it really makes me wonder if it's this impressive just with 64
megabytes why there isn't at least 8 12 or 16 megabytes in it all of their apus by now but who knows maybe that will change with amd's Medusa apus anyways though the final thing that surprised me today was that the power consumption of these cards is well odd in camped frame rate gaming R A4 seems like a iCal beast in terms of efficiency and its idle power is also pretty impressive but apparently if you let the RX 970 XT specifically go nuts with power it will go nuts with power and maybe even consume 400 watts
although at the same time the ARX 970 non XT was found by kit Guru at least to be the most efficient card in the world so overall I would just take all of that together and say that I think AMD has kind of caught up to Nvidia in efficiency but if you let their graphics card go nuts well it will go nuts and again this is just so impressive that's not just raate tracing but also efficiency that AMD has seemingly at least mostly caught up to Nvidia in one generation well using the same node as
the RTX 580 a similar die size to the RTX 580 getting the same efficiency and similar rate tracing to a cut down version of it while using last generation memory wow what a home run in architecture design and uh all right those are my thoughts on the RTX 570 and the RX 9000 Series performance but what's my overall conclusion what should you buy and what should you expect for stock and Supply when the 9000 Series releases and even after will there be more resupplies of these products well I'm going to link all of that to
you including the real pricing you should expect for them moving forward but first in ad from Micro Center this piece of content is brought to you by Micro Center and March is Micro Center's monitor Madness event check out great deals on a wide range of monitors all month long starting March 1st if you want to take a look at these at the website too you can go look at the monitors to the link in the description it helps the channel a ton when you look at that but then also below you will see links to
Micro Center opening a new location in Santa clar California if you sign up in the link below you can receive a free 128 GB flash drive and store when it opens and then Microcenter is also running their GPU tradein program now where you can bring in your GPU purchase at Micro Center and receive an offer the same day if maybe you're upgrading to the RX 9000 Series tomorrow or whenever you're watching this and Micro Center also helps you recycle old Tech whether it's donating it or just disposing of it in general and they also have
tons of news at their Microcenter news uh in the link in the description as well so they can make it easy for you to keep up with all of the new releases coming at Micro Center and one more time remember that even just clicking on the links in the description helps the channel a ton it shows them that you are responsive to the sponsors that support mors law dead and also of course going to those links gets you to their website where you can find the best deals on PC parts and I do think now
is a good time to buy something like an RX 970 XT as I'm about to get to well in today's leak I actually think this blends perfectly into what you've all been waiting to hear and that is what I'm hearing about Supply are those pictures circulating on Twitter showing mountains of rna4 legit well let's let's go to my sources here now this is a handful of sources that were willing to be quoted the First Source who works at a major online retailer said that today they checked in their system today being March 5th and they
said compared to the RX 970 XT they will have 8times 580 10 times the 57 DTI 14 time 90 and 27 times 570 launch Supply yes that means if you add up the total quantity of all the models they have for the 5070 5070 TI 5080 and 5090 you will still have a third the launch supply of just the 970 and 970 XT which is just absolutely insane and again you also didn't misread this 27 times 5070 launch Supply the 5070 is probably the biggest paper launch I've seen in my lifetime it seems like at
that point then probably I'm just thinking live right now yeah I'd say maybe a fourth the supply of the 3090 at launch it would be my guess like completely nothing and that is not going to be the case with the 970 970 XD But continuing this quote here they said that they're also told that we should expect shipments every week for months that's equal to the entire 580 launch supply of the 9,000 Series as well which is incredibly exciting that is something new that I learned today something I've been wondering it's not just the initial
launch Supply expect reshipment to keep coming and coming and coming for the 9,000 Series over the next couple of months now the only bad news though this person said is that it seems like only 20 to 30% of the launch Supply will be at MSRP and this was echoed basically by everybody right Source number two who works at a major US retailer said they have ample 9,000 Series supply for tomorrow tomorrow being March 6th and that meanwhile they didn't get a single RTX 570 at their location oh and by the way this person was told
uh that aibs have been briefed on a potential ultimate na'vi 48 SKU that can launch in quarter 2 and aims to be solidly between the 5070 TI and 5080 in performance now besides that that's all I know I don't know if there's going to be higher vram models I don't know what clock speeds like will it hit 3.4 GHz I don't know I don't know if the ram will be clocked any faster what tdps they are targeting but this is well this is something that I speculated or not even speculated just suggested AMD should do
is have some crazy higher tier model to justify a higher price next to the 5080 that's now selling for like what like over $1,500 on eBay could be easily done um and the only other thing I will say though and a warning here is that I have to assume this is happening number one because AMD can do it but also number two because as or if tariffs continue AMD wants to try as hard as possible to justify the 9070 XT being compared to again the 5080 that will undoubtedly still be for sold for like twice
as much as what the 9070 XT Ultimate Edition will be sold for but anyways moving on to Source number three here this person says that at their location and they're a US retailer they have about 2 to three the 580 launch supply for RX 9000 but unfortunately only 20% of that Supply will be at MSRP and to make matters worse non MSRP models apparently aren't getting that onewe temporary rebate so expect a decent amount of cards at MSRP yes but then expect even more be priced much higher oh and another thing that's silly AMD is
apparently telling aibs to request that retailers they work with take pictures of MSRP models and stores so that AMD can share them on Twitter on release date which I'll get into my overall thoughts pretty soon but I guess I'll just say it right here you know the amount of MSRP supply for Blackwell so far has been nearly zero so this is better it's better as you can see here from what I've leaked so far from the first three sources is that 20% 30% somewhere around there anywhere between I'd say 20% to a third of the
supply will be at MSRP and remember they've three times the supply of all of RTX Blackwell supplied so far so if you're really quick I think you will have a decent chance of getting an MSRP model at least in the United States on launch day I think it'll be more rare to get MSRP models outside the US to be fair um and so you know that is good but make no mistake about this AMD is doing what they think they need to do to make it fairer than Nvidia and it is more fair and honest
than Nvidia but do not expect MSRP cards to be the norm very long Source number four here in fact says after one week definitely expect the base price of the ARX 970 XT to be around $670 and easily get up to 750 however yes they will have the numbers were Ridiculous by the way for this Source compared to the other me say exactly what they were to protect them but 10 times the supply of the 80 launch so yeah at least there is that and so there you go tons of RX 9000 Series Supply record
low Nvidia Supply so far and a mixed bag when it comes to the realness of these gpus pricing and so now I would say it's almost time to get to my conclusion for overall shopping advice between the RX 9000 Series and Blackwell but you know before I get to my final conclusion I do think this would be a good time to remind all of you that I was not the one who priced Nvidia or or amd's cards where they were nor was I the one that told Nvidia to callously ignore Gamers this generation Don't Kill
the Messenger in fact Don't Kill the Messenger who is me in this case simply because I also try to explain why things are priced in a way that we wish they weren't priced that way because I don't really think it's my job to just scream at the top of my lungs every time I see something that isn't exactly the way I want it to be for us right like all that would do is make me lose my voice and if I lost my voice well then I couldn't tell Jesse to leave my girlfriend's cat alone
and if I don't do that well he actually can kind of kick her ass so I should probably be able to tell her to stop when I can tell he's losing his patience and the reason I say all of this though is I just feel like I've seen a lot of armchair CEOs and online forums recently screaming at these companies and giving such brilliant advice like you can just win the market by pricing products below what it costs to make them there is actually a company that follows your advice Geniuses and their name is Intel
and how is that working out for them well very badly and because Intel followed this advice desperately trying to flail for any market share now there's actually going to be less competition in the market as they fail to compete more and more over time I just think people need to understand that there are real costs that factor into making gaming graphics cards that have gone up tremendously over the past 10 years and at the same time there are a lot of real political blunders going on right now that are raising the prices further of these
gaming devices and I can't control these things and all I want to do is give you the truth the truth about what these companies are doing why they're doing them and give you the best tools you can to make informed shopping decisions and so here we go here Don't Kill the Messenger this is the situation in my opinion after talking to sources and analyzing the market AMD is going to have a lot of cards above MSRP on release date for the 90 for the 9000 Series but the reality is there will be more cards above
MSRP and even higher above MSRP about a week from now it it genuinely does seem that eventually here we're going to frequently see 970s above $600 and 9070 XTS above $700 but tomorrow there will be MSRP stock and there will be more non-ms RP C that are are closer to MSRP and so if you want to get a graphics card this year that's at around this level of performance you know the 970 or 970 XT tomorrow this week really is the best time to buy these graphics cards because Nvidia isn't going to do anything to
help this Market from what I'm hearing heck they don't even have the 5070 Founders Edition available at launch their MSRP isn't just half fake mostly fake it's completely fake and they're not shipping any graphics cards and meanwhile while AMD will have Supply they will keep having Supply and yeah that's better than nothing and I guess as shitty as it is for me to say this this is the truth there's above MSRP then there's stupidly above MSRP with no Supply and the first option is better than the other so no this situation isn't perfect but it
does seem like one company just isn't supplying the market at all while charging 40% above MSRP for the few CS that actually show up at stores and another company is going against their short-term interests to supply a boatload of cards that yes aren't cheap but could easily be priced so much worse and so there you go if we tally it up AMD delivered on performance delivered on software it seems like FSR 4 is a home run for a first outing on accelerated um upscaling technology it sounds like they're also going to deliver on Supply and
they're mostly delivering on pricing compared to the competition considering the circumstances and so therefore rna4 whether you like it or not is the obvious recommendation over Nvidia as of now and if you want competition to continue I would say you should reward them for doing at least three or arguably four out of four things better than their competition because if you don't as I've highlighted recently you're basically telling Nvidia that they can literally do anything they want short of murder and you won't support competition all right so that is going to do it for this
video I hope you enjoyed it if you did please make sure you like the video comment down below share it and make sure you are subscribed to the mors laot is dead YouTube channel seems like half of you aren't let's get those numbers up people but then additionally numbers going up let's try to get the patreon numbers up as well there are exclusive pieces of content there um like d shrink episodes we just did an excellent interview with someone about physx a new dink will come out a day or two after this video drops in
just the lowest tier $2 a month gets you access to that the Discord the ability to ask us questions and so much more content that is always add free over there this independent journalism cannot happen without independent support that doesn't rely directly on sponsors to keep the lights on you're you're paying to keep food on the table for me for Dan for Gerard and for people who help with research more siiz de so please if you have that extra $2 $4 or whatever you can afford per month consider supporting us but besides that at a
minimum if you've made it this far into the video thank you for watching [Music]