and entitled Karen blatantly steals my shopping cart right from underneath me despite the dozens of carts that she literally passed in order to grab mine and even though I was obviously using the cart in question this lady refused to take no for an answer and I'm honestly blown away by this lady's entitlement and I really hope that Karma comes back to bite her where it counts here's what happened okay so this happened a few months ago and for context I'm a 29 year-old female and I had just been in a pretty bad car accident back
in April where I had partially wrapped my front end around a tree at 50 mph fortunately I came out mostly intact outside of a broken collar bone as well as severe muscle strain in my legs I had gone to the store with a friend and I had decided that I no longer needed the scooter and wanted to start walking again she parked as close to the store as she could but I grossly overestimated the strength I had in my legs as by the time I got in the store I was practically using my friend as
a crutch because my legs were trying to give out thankfully there was a bench near the entrance inside where she deposited me she asked if I was sure I didn't want a scooter and me being stubborn said yes I was sure we weren't in any hurry to go anywhere as we had no other plans and we were mostly there just to chat with one of the door hosts as they were a friend of ours so the plan was to sit and rest my legs while we chatted and then go do our shopping now my friend
had gotten me a c to use for when we went shopping but said she had to go to the bathroom and to wait for her to get back now I was still chatting with our door host friend at the time so I said that would be completely fine shortly after it started to get busy so I had to stop talking to the door host so they could do their job then I decided to start scrolling through my phone while I waited for my friend to get back now it's important to note that I was leaning
forward with my good arm on the side of the cart as I did this to let people know that I was using it even though it was empty and I also want to mention that the cart Bay was completely full and someone would also have to go past it in order to get to me trust me this will be relevant later just as I was starting to wonder if my friend had fallen in and was just about to start texting her a lady came up to my cart and while I was leaning on it started
to put her child in the car seat I said to her what do you think you're doing this Karen said to me what you're not even using it I said to her yes I am I'm waiting on my friend in the bathroom she then looks at me and says well I need it more than you do can't you see my baby's tired I then gestured over to the cart Bay I said to her there are a bunch of carts that you just passed in order to get to this one why didn't you just grab one
of those like a normal person this entitled Karen looked at me and said why can't you just grab one yourself and let me have this one I don't have time for this my baby's tired and you're being rude so I said to her okay let's see I'm just sitting here minding my own business while waiting for my friend and a random lady is trying to get me to let her steal my cart but apparently I'm the rude one yeah somehow I doubt that this Karen then looks at me and says oh my God why do
kids your age always have to act so entitled didn't your parents teach you to respect your elders I'm telling you to give me this cart right now now hand it over she then actually tried to move it but I had my foot on the cart so she couldn't get very far I said to her I don't care how old you are and my parents taught me that respect is earned and not given so take your kid out of my cart and get lost you're not entitled to just take whatever you want simply because you're older
go get your own cart it was at this point that I stood up to yank my cart back but that proved to be a mistake as I almost fell into the cart due to my weak legs instincts told me to use both hands to catch myself on the cart but that was also a bad idea due to my broken collar bone all this to say that I made a very bad decision and the amount of pain I was in afterwards made for a very vocal landing on the floor my door host friend heard me Yelp
and came over to ask what had happened the lady then told them that she was just walking by when I stopped her and tried to steal her cart but the door host looked at her then at me and then back to this stupid Karen the door host then said I watched her friend give that cart to her when they came in and she should be back any second now the entitled Karen then said but I have my kid and this idiot is just faking whatever it is she has for attention you need to make her
get another one and then off she went no Fanfare no police called No Justice Just me sitting on the floor trying not to cry from the amount of pain that I was in my door host friend helped me back up and onto the bench and got me another C just as my friend came back when I told her what happened she was pissed but ultimately agreed there wasn't anything we could do as this entitled Karen was long gone by then and after that interaction I definitely ended up needing that scooter after all wow that Karen
is absolutely out of line seriously there's a cart Bay full of shopping carts that she could have used but instead of taking one of those she grabbed the one that someone was leaning on and being like Oh I'm going to take it like is she really that entitled that she has to act like a complete in public and sure this story doesn't have like this Stellar ending that everybody would like really hope for but honestly that's just life sometimes awful people get away with stupid things and they mistreat people like the original poster here and
then they Scamper off back into the darkness looking for their next victim so to the original poster I'm so sorry you had to deal with that and hopefully that entitled Karen gets exactly what's coming to her if you like am I the jerk you're probably going to love am I the genius check it out linked Down Below in the description also go to Ami thee jerk.com sssubmit if you would like to submit your own stories today I messed up by fabricating my job experience and getting a senior level job that I definitely shouldn't have and
now after trying to run this job for just a little bit I'm realizing that I'm definitely unqualified for this high stress position because at this point I seriously don't know what to do here's what happened okay to start things out I've realized that I am completely screwed to rewind for a bit of context I've got a pretty decent career history education and work experience for being in my early 30s but I put a lot of effort into over accentuating that experience when applying for jobs a few months ago go and I found my way into
a vice president of sales position for a midsize company after a long interview process that I never thought I'd actually get I'm also quite certain that they think I'm older than I actually am but never asked other than the Sterling background check to start things out I have a dual degree from a well-known school and a master's degree from another very highly ranked school on top of some professional experience throughout that time in school mostly working full-time a few years back I took what was basically an internship and what was basically the Vice President of
Sales for a small company that looked bigger than it actually was the owner of that company owned a franchise I work for part-time and I was making maybe $50,000 a year basically as an admin assistant with a snazzy title because I worked for his original company part-time it looked like I had been with a company for 7 plus years when in reality I had done very little and was making maybe $15 an hour most of that time 2 years ago I leveraged that to get a regional manager job at a larger company use my buddy
who worked with me as a reference and I ended up getting hired making over $100,000 a year base pay plus a bonus that I would also receive I did okay there but it was clear that I didn't have the chops for it and I was still learning and in the end I got laid off in March but thankfully my boss I was good with said that they would verify whenever I needed a reference well when I started applying for jobs I listed my experience as the regional vice president of sales and created this hybrid job
description about what I actually did and included some senior level duties to make it sound like I was a key employee I then ended up with an interview for this startup company completely bsing my way through five interviews and I got an offer for a $200,000 base pay plus a bonus to run their sales Division and deal with their external stakeholders and you know what I thought I could handle that but I honestly can't the job is extremely plug-and playay they wanted me to completely revamp their entire sales structure week one and I didn't even
know what their product did I tried to BS my way through client calls but these people have been tearing me apart every week for any strategy that I recommend and are letting me know how worthless I am if I don't get fired by Friday I will be absolutely shocked after the call I had today I got away with it for a few months through being respectful attentive and giving 110% towards figuring it out but it is clear that I don't have the skills needed to be where I am yet so I'm just completely screwed they
say fake it until you make it but faking it doesn't work unless you know how to make it yet I feel like Mike Ross ins suits but instead of being competent but lying about my credentials I actually have the degrees but I over exaggerated my experiences and they bought it so I'm just the idiot in the wrong spot what should I do before we go any further the original poster actually gave us an update here's what they had to say okay I was gone for a lot of last night and oh my God I didn't
expect this to blow up in the way that it did but many of you have provided phenomenal advice on how I can navigate things and Luckily everything is such a mess at this place that it's at a point where the ship is already halfway into the water so as long as I keep it from completely sinking I would consider it a huge success so seriously thank you to everybody from the bottom of my heart now to answer a question that's been asked is that honestly the biggest problem is that I'm stuck between this awful love
triangle as to what they actually want to happen the end goal changes monthly and every strategy that I propose just gets shut down there's two partners who both want a different strategy and outcome for a different reason then there's this needy jerk thirdparty investor whose end goal is to Simply IPO or get acquired in the next 18 months which in this case is the absolute best thing that could happen and they probably should have been looking into this months ago unless they want to toss cash into a fire all of which are impossible because they're
now bleeding money and half of that time I'm trying to maintain relationships with very pissed-off key account stakeholders I'm failing on all accounts and I don't have the experience or skills to navigate any of this garbage wow this is really funny to me because oh my God I can't imagine being in this scenario here you land a job that pays really well which is all after you literally exaggerating all of your experience like that is already stressful enough and I'm so sorry that you're going through that but seriously it is so funny that you found
yourself in this position like if this is not the definition of like what can go wrong when you fake it until you make it then I just don't know what is because the original poster has it right if you're trying to fake it until you make it you've got to know something before you try to make it and it really seems like the the original poster is in over his head so honestly I really hope this all works out for you because what you describe sounds like a very comedic Nightmare and if you're lucky this
company can get acquired by somebody else am I the jerk for not letting my mom see my kids after she tried to Fat shame my daughter here's what happened I'm a 31-year-old female and I was always on the chubby side growing up and my mom who's 58 was always hard on me for my weight it deeply impacted my self-esteem to the point that I ended up losing an unhealthy amount of weight in my teen years just in some kind of effort to please her once I left the house I gained some weight back and after
years of therapy I finally felt like I had a healthy relationship to food and exercise my mom also seemed to stop being obsessed with my body once I wasn't around her 24/7 and our relationship got a lot better I eventually had a daughter 9 years ago let's call her Mia for the sake of the story and Mia is a sweet girl and adores her grandmother well a couple of days ago I sent her and her brother who we will call Liam to stay with my parents for the weekend on the car ride home I noticed
that Mi wasn't her usual bubbly self and I asked her if something was wrong she was clearly embarrassed but eventually she started to ball her eyes out and she told me what happened apparently that afternoon they had gone out for ice cream and Mia tried to order a cone with two scoops but my mother stopped her and changed her order to a single scoop in a cup and when Liam ordered a cone with two scoops my mom didn't say a word when Mia asked why Liam got a cone and not her my mother told her
it was because she's fat and she needs to lose weight or nobody will ever find her attractive and when I heard that I was livid the second we got home I called my mom and I told her that what she said was completely unacceptable and that from now on I would have to chaperon any time she spent with my daughter my mom then told me that I was overreacting and that Mia was exaggerating and that I shouldn't believe a 9-year-old over her she told me it's probably just something she picked up in dance class and
that I was just projecting now I was pretty sure that she was full of crap but I wanted to verify anyway so I had another talk with Mia I told her that if my mother says anything like that to her ever again that she needs to tell me right away she started crying again and told me that Not only was this not the first time something like this happened but also that my mother told Mia not to tell me because I'm fat and she wouldn't want to be like me well I called my mom again
and I told her everything that Mia told me and all she could say was well was I wrong you are fat and after she said that I just hung up she tried to call me again but I just didn't pick up and I haven't responded to her ever since this morning she got my brother involved and he thinks it is an overreaction to not respond and that she didn't mean any harm but I am pretty adamant about not wanting to expose my daughter to any of her BS I told my brother that if my mother
is willing to apologize to Mia and me and agreed to chapon visits I might consider letting them see each other but you know what I know she won't do that now I feel horrible about all of this because it's Liam's birthday next week and I know he wants his grandmother there but I just don't feel comfortable with my kids being around her yet so am I the jerk for the way I reacted to my mom's comments what should I do no you are definitely not the jerk that is so inappropriate first and foremost the biggest
red flag in my opinion is your mom trying to get your kid to keep a secret seriously that is so messed up that is absolutely not okay you do not go to someone else's kid and be like okay keep this secret don't tell your mom that I said this about you like no that is not okay hey you do not keep secrets with kids especially with the parents not being aware of what you're talking about that is highly inappropriate and in my opinion incredibly creepy but more to the point I think the Grandma's behavior in
this story is absolutely inappropriate she has no right to Target this kid in this way and if anything this is just the original Poster's mom literally picking up where she left off in the original Poster's childhood and to that end I don't blame you in the slightest for being like no you're not going to talk to my kid like that so no you are definitely not the jerk because if I was in your shoes I would have done the exact same thing am I the jerk for standing my ground and not letting my sweetmates take
my dorm room after I found out that my roommate would not be living with me during our fall semester because right now my roommate is screaming at me saying that I'm a jerk and that I don't understand his needs here's what happened okay for a bit of context our College randomly assigned Suites and rooms to students that apply for dorming it is not chosen by the students only the buildings and who they wish to room with I'm a 19-year-old mail and I'm moving to college in the fall I am in the process of getting to
know my sweetmates and roommate since I chose to do random assignment because I had applied late to college and everyone already chose roommates so I had to go with the first bed that was open after I had been assigned a room my actual roommate added me and we began talking however he soon blocked me and I could no longer contact him a week after this happened my sweetmates got in contact with me they added me and we started to talk they then asked me if I happened to know my roommate since he was the only
one they hadn't talked with yet I said yes but after we talked a bit he just blocked me we then all had the assumption that he would be no longer dorming with us hence the need to block me on Instagram so after much discussion that's the best answer we could come up with as to why he did so and I thought that was the end of the discussion but it seems I would be wrong one of my sweet mates let's call him Phineas that's not his real name would later tell us that we should vote
on who got the room now me being confused asked him why since I got the room fair and square by it being a to me but he said that he wasn't aware that the rooms were assigned and that even if they were we should vote on who gets it anyway since he wanted it well I told him no for a second time and I wanted it to be over with he then told me that he had a girlfriend and that I could understand that right well no I get that she's going to visit every now
and then and that it would be nice to have some privacy especially if they were going to do some spicy things but I already told him that I wanted the room since it was assigned to me and that if he wanted a single then he should have booked a single he keeps pushing the matter when I shut him down every time and I told him that if he continues to talk about it I would go to the ra and get in contact with the school about the whole situation and how Phineas wanted to violate explicit
rules and guidelines of living in the dorms now for more context our college does not allow the opposite sex to enter the bedrooms of the student and may only stay in the common area with a sweet door open to the hallway and this was a strict rule that even adheres to parents and family the guy then called me a jerk and said that I don't even need it since I'm single and I would never understand my other sweet mate who we will call Ferb obviously not his real name thinks that we should see who needs
the room more and give it to them but I think that it rightfully belongs to me since I was assigned the room and bed and that if I got so lucky that I didn't have a roommate anymore then that was my luck and not theirs so am I the jerk in this situation what should I do no you are not the jerk and it's very obvious that your roommate is jealous that you've got this massive room to yourself like seriously he's just jealous that he doesn't have that room and you get to share all that
space by yourself like you definitely got a good deal and that is not anybody's problem except for his so no you're definitely not the jerk and the way he's acting is incredibly entitled am I the jerk for agreeing with my wife when she called my mom a piece of garbage parent after she brought up something that I did when I was 14 despite the fact that I've grown up and done a lot with my life ever since then here's what happened okay to start things out my birth family never respected me I always got treated
differently from the rest of my siblings LS and I was never ever good enough I'm the only one with a college education and I received my Master's Degree no one from my side of the family came to my graduation or even acted like they cared while my wife's family threw me a huge party now I don't know if it stems from me being a weird emo kid when I was a teenager because my family still says dumb things like oh remember when you had green hair as if that was a defining moment in my life
and for reference I had green hair for maybe 3 months when I was 14 years old and that's really an odd thing for my family to be hung up on my sister-in-law was pregnant and I share the same name with her father who passed away last year for the sake of the story we'll say that name is Larry she named her baby after both of us because I helped her out financially and encouraged her to finish her degree well I saw my mother and me and my wife were babysitting little Larry because my sister-in-law was
working my mom then said that we should dye little Larry's hair green well when she said that this set my wife off and she started yelling at my mom saying how pathetic think it was that with all of my achievements my mom was still upset that I dyed my hair green as a teenager and then she called my mom a pathetic piece of garbage parent my wife then asked my mom to leave the house because my sister-in-law wouldn't want little Larry around such judgmental trash well I stood there for a few seconds and then I
responded by saying she's right you should leave well my mom thinks that I should have stood up for her but I believe her obsession with my once green hair is really odd and my family needs to let it go so am I am I the jerk for agreeing with my wife what should I do no I don't think you're the jerk and yes it is very weird that they're holding on to what you did when you were 14 like seriously they're holding that much of a grudge that you did something that they didn't approve of
like that is seriously toxic and so weird it sounds like you've done so much with your life but these people want to keep you as that weird kid at 14 who was trying to understand himself and that's not fair for you in the slightest like seriously you've grown up since then and it's also so funny that your mom's like wait a second she can't talk to me like that you need a stand up for me when I make condescending remarks about you because that's basically what she was saying like it almost sounds like she wants
this to be some kind of like inside joke with a family but this is definitely not reciprocated on your end you have not done anything to indicate like yeah this is funny let's keep this joke alive or anything to suggest that you're in on the joke in some kind of way so in my opinion her remarks were completely out of line and it's so cool to see that you have a wife who's willing to stand up for you when someone says something awful and if anything I think your mom absolutely needs to apologize when you
subscribe make sure to hit the Bell to turn on notifications to finish listening to all the stories check out the playlist at the top of the description and if you want some chill music to put on in the background check out easy mode.com if you like Mi The Jerk subscribe to Mi the genius everything will be linked Down Below in the description