rev up your engines today I'm going to talk about things that used to work great but the new versions not so great 18-year-old Toyota Matrix still runs like a top gets 37 m a gallon on a highway body's held up no rust and aside from the crappy plastic handles of which I've replaced all four and the passenger side too of course it's definitely the best car ever bought for the money bought it Ed the new Corollas maybe not so bulletproof because the technology under the hood has changed too much Toyota just recalled over 42,000 Toyota
Corolla cross hybrids because the braking boost system may not boost the brake while you're taking a corner now interesting enough this is a Cambridge Ontario build 2007 matrix it's got power disc brakes the booster but they didn't have a law back in 07 in Canada that they had to make these things with abs so it has no anti brakes so there's no computer systems to go bad but in the case of the Toyota Corolla cross hybrid that also has regenerative braking everything's run by computers the computers are screwing up so when you're taking a corner
you step on the brake the booster isn't boosting the brake system correctly you don't have enough brake power that can't happen in this car it doesn't have such technology and Honda's just recalling 720,000 Civics Accords and CRVs because they high pressure fuel pump might start leaking gas and start a fire now Hondas have always made pretty reliable cars and of course the original Hondas just like the Toyotas when they had carburetors had a little mechanical fuel pump that bolted on the engine put out 2 and A2 lbs per square in pressure to the carb pretty
simple right I went on like in The so7 Matrix they had the fuel pump inside the gas tank because it's a fuel injector car not carburetor and those pumps can put out like 4550 PSI not all that much pressure but in the GDI fuel injection systems that many modern cars use they have two pumps they got one in the gas tank that puts out just a few PSI and it pumps it to the main pump which is on top of the engine and that GDI pump gasoline direct injection pump can set up pressures anywhere from
300 to 2200 PSI that's a lot of pressure they're not made right they leak and where are they almost all of them put them on top of the engine where are they leak you're going to have a fire and here's the sad part is they're leaking now I've been working on cars for 57 years now I just had a birthday the oldfashioned ones that only put about 2 and a half PSI they would wear out over time because they were just a rubber diaphragm it would leak and they'd cost 30 bucks take you 20 minutes
to put one out it was no big deal and they'd go out every once in a while but when they went to these electric pumps in a fuel tank I only ever had to change my whole history one electric fuel pump on a Toyota in the past and that was because it had sat for 15 years with the tank full of sludge and it rusted up and if you wonder how many Honda electric fuel pumps that they have in the gas tank I replaced the answer is none I never had to replace one at all
now they're making brand new vehicles that are either brand new or Oney old and Honda's got to recall 720,000 of them cuz that high press pump can crack and cause a leak so this is where you're being fooled by a name because they had a great name Honda Mak great engine Right Toyota made great cars a long time but both of them are starting to slip somewhat now I'm not saying go out and buy a chryler they're 10 times worse right dependability that used to be there just isn't there anymore not sure in this 07
I would have rather had metal door handles cuz I had to replac like I said all four of them over the course of the Years cuz they crack and break cuz they're cheap plastic junk and I did replace the grill with this cool Chrome plated one it didn't cost that much afterm Market because the old rubber plastic one was cracked and looked ugly and this looks a lot better but that's minor stuff when you're talking major stuff like the engine starting on Fire or the engine starting to burn oil and blowing up or the transmission
going out those are things that you don't want to get involved in buying that's why I tell people if you want a car that's going to last a really long time try to limit your exposure to this high technology for example I a guy that brought me a yundai Elantra the other day and it was a 1.6 GDI turbocharged engine Little Engine really had a lot of power to it he was already on the second engine and it only had 74,000 M on it they can't take the extra pressure especially when they're a lower quality
product like a y and I have a customer with a 2020 Ford Transit Connect the little bitty Ford Transit van not the big ones the little ones he runs a business where he delivers things all the time got the 2 L 4 cylinder non-turbo engine because he wanted something that would last forever he didn't go with a little 4cylinder 1.6 EcoBoost he didn't go for a big EcoBoost he went for the 4cylinder conventional engine that doesn't have a Turbocharger cuz he knows it's going to last longer I took your advice Scot he said I got
the non-turbo cuz I want something to last forever he bought it in 2020 and now almost 5 years later he hasn't had any problems with it at all but the customers of mine that bought the turbo chares ones the engines never made it to 100,000 miles before either the turbo or the engine blew on the things you don't want extra high press technology if you can get away with not having it if you want it to last a lot longer you want to try to stop as much planned obsolescence as possible so unlike the days
of your where you just oh I'll go buy Toyota Hana no problem you can still buy them but you got to be pickier you got to do some research you got to see hey is this the one with the CVT transmission or does it have an actual automatic transmission cuz there's a big difference in all of them for example Nissan makes some of the worst CVT transmissions in the world jck call they're absolute crap right on the other hand Toyota's hybrid vehicles that have the ecvt the electronic CVT that's a completely different ball game Toyota's
electronic CVT transmissions aside from early teething problems decades ago are pretty bu bulletproof now in this case at least as of today in 2024 in the end of the year Toyota's still making no Z cvts really well I see Camry that are hybrids Priuses that are hybrids that have well over 400,000 miles on them and the Transmissions the East evts have never been touched so when Toyota came out first with their Toyota Corolla hatchback which really was a Toyota Matrix but they didn't want to use the name so they called it Toyota Corolla hatchback was
original CV they were garbage and Toyota didn't even want to sell them they had to do them all over but the ones they have now they haven't had any problems yet but you do have to do a little bit of research when you're going to buy something you can't just say oh it's a Toyota it's great oh it's a Honda it's great no cuz it doesn't work that way anymore and of fortunately there's a lot of other products like that this new finish it's not a wax it's a paste they say you can polish your
car cuz it's a Polish not being a wax you can even see better than wax I polish windshields I polish the car you see it holds up quite well but but this is the old stuff in a can if you go back 15 years ago I bought a case of this stuff I still have some left in the back and it's phenomenal I polished the windshields so they don't beat up and the wipers don't go they don't make any noise makes the paint shiny not bad for a 17 18y old car right but I heard
in a rumor M that Scotty you know the new finish it isn't good anymore the old stuff was great but the new stuff that they have it doesn't work as well I noticed they're not metal tins anymore they're in plastic box squeeze bottles right well I have to thank all you viewers for responding to my request because almost every single person who responded said yes Scotty the rumors are correct the new version of that polish does not work as well check out this picture here's one that they sent you can see the paints all faded
off the clear coat just went off he said he used it regularly it says once a year he said he used it four times a year like I suggest to people anytime you're going to wax or polish your car do it once a season like the beginning of Spring the beginning of fall the beginning of Winter the beginning of Summer and then your paint's going to last like this thing did right but he did that so obviously it does not work as good as it used to work now I still got three cans left of
the stuff from 15 years ago so I'm using it sparingly right cuz I know I can't replace it anymore so I do have to say my new favorite is this lithium seal and squeal interesting enough it says the same thing it says it lasts for up to 12 months now I've still got some of my old stuff left and I'm doing this on so not changing but I'm trying this out on my motorcycles on my son's cars on my wife's Lexus and we'll see how this holds up over time I've been using it for over
a year and I haven't had any problems with it yet now it says it's chalk full of active Amino polymers I have no idea what that means but I got to say it's worked pretty good so far we'll see as the years go on if my motorcycle fade or if my son's trucks and vans fade we'll see how it happens over time but so far I've been pretty happy with this it seems to seal quite well now another product that used to be great but now isn't great anymore is the Optima batteries they came out
with the spiral technology that's the most efficient way supposedly do electricity and interestingly enough their headquarters in the United States they still in Wisconsin but every single battery they make is made in Monterey Mexico now and it's kind of an interesting story they were opening a factory in monter Mexico and the workers were told don't worry that's just for our overflow we can't make enough batteries for the rest of the world we'll still keep the Factory open and then a few years later guess what now they only make them in Mexico and let me tell
you something ever since they moved to Mexico their quality has gone down the toilet I saw many of the optimal batteries would last over 10 years the ones made in Wisconsin the Mexican made ones I saw them go bad at 6 months a year a year and a half and I asked my friends who managed Auto Zones well what's your take cuz they used to sell them on it they had their own brand but they sold some optim mods what about these Optima batteries he said you know we used to get them we never had
returns unless they were 8 or 10 years old but he says now sometimes 6 months later or a year we get tons of them coming back cuz they don't work when they went down to Mexico the quality went down the toilet and it was a great product I believe it started in Sweden 1972 but today no I would not advise anybody to buy an optimal battery their quality is just not there when they want to Mexico they want South and the quality wants South too you got to be careful where you look cuz when I'm
looking for all kinds of products let's say I'm on Amazon and I read the reviews you can't believe 3/4s of them anymore say verified purchased or this was one of these things where you get it free if you review it and they got so many positive views they make your head spin so if you're looking for something on a site like that my advice is go to the ratings then read just the bottom ones the one star ones and see they're present or past and if this is 2024 and you see a bunch of 2024
and they say don't buy this product it's a piece of crap don't buy it don't read the top ones where there's hundreds of ones that people are getting to paid to say how great it is read the worst ones and look at the dates and those are the ones that you put a lot more weight to than these fantasy ones on the top because a lot of people are either getting paid money straight up to lie or they're getting a free product and they want to continue to get free products so they say how great
they are I get a lot of new products in company they brand new products right so immediately I go look at reviews I say oh phenomenal product really works great lasts a long time and then you realize hey this product's only been out for a month how can you say it lasts a long time because it's only been out for a month that's why you always got to read the dates on any of the reviews cuz you got to read the recent ones yeah they might have made a great product 20 years ago but today
they might make crap and do you want to buy the crap no and a lot of companies have been bought up Chinese companies so a company that's got a great name you think oh great company but you don't know the Chinese bought them out and all the stuff they're selling you now it's just the cheapest crap that they can get their hands on you got to know which companies are making good ones and which companies aren't you can't just go by the names cuz the names don't mean anything anymore so hopefully all this information will
help you out so you don't get ripped off and buy the wrong car or the wrong product and if you've got comments on products you've tried out hey just email Scotty Kilmer gmail.com tell me your story tell me what works what doesn't maybe you've got a product tell me one I'll try it out I'm honest about it but just realize the product isn't any good I'll still talk about it I'll just talk bad about it because I don't think people should buy bad things plenty of good things out there right but there's an awful lot
of bad stuff now I don't want people buying bad things I hate it when I buy bad things it drives me nuts my wife always says why are you getting mad about just some piece of crap throw it away I'm like yeah but I wasted my money on it I don't want to waste my money and I don't want you wasting yours so let's all help each other out here so if you never want to miss another one of my new car repair videos remember to ring that Bell [Music]