it was just once get over it my girlfriend snapped when I caught her cheating he's better in bed anyway she smirked I simply nodded and left this morning my inbox had 43 desperate emails as she lost everything for context my GF and I have been together for 4 years met in college moving together 2 years ago and until Thursday night I thought we were solid we've been talking about marriage kids the whole nine yards I'm 28 she's 27 Thursday night I got off work early my boss let us go around 3:00 p. m. because we landed a major client and he was in a celebrating mood I decided to surprise my GF by picking up her favorite sushi on my way home what a joke that turned out to be I used my key to get in quietly as soon as I opened the door I heard it that unmistakable sound coming from our bedroom bedroom I stood there for a sec the take bag getting heavier in my hand pardon me wanted to just leave pretend I never came home early but something pushed me forward when I opened the bedroom door there she was with some dude I'd never seen before they didn't even notice me at first I cleared my throat and they both jumped what the is this I asked surprisingly calm my GF scrambled to cover herself but her face didn't show a trace of remorse just annoyance at being interrupted Jesus You're supposed to be at work she snapped like I was the one who' done something wrong the guy started grabbing his clothes mumbling about not knowing she had a boyfriend but I couldn't care less about him my eyes were fixed on her how long has this been going on I asked it was just once get over it she shot back rolling her eyes you're always working lay what did you expect you should leave I told a guy who bolted from the room still buttoning his shirt once he was gone on she switched tactics look it was a mistake okay it didn't mean anything when I didn't respond she got defensive what are you just going to stand there judging me you're not exactly MrPerfect yourself I've never cheated on you I said quietly something shifted in her eyes then if she'd shown remorse maybe things would have gone differently instead she smirked well maybe you should know he's better in bed anyway I simply not noed turned around and walked out I grabbed my laptop wallet and car keys as I was heading to the door she followed me where are you going don't be so dramatic I didn't answer just closed the door behind me and drove to my buddy's place I turned off my phone and spent the night staring at the ceiling feeling numb the next morning I woke up with a strange sense of clarity I knew exactly what I needed to do first I called work and requested a personal day then I called our landlord see the apartment is in my name only my GF had credit issues when we moved in so I signed a lease I explained the situation he was cool about it these things happen son he said let me know what you want to do with the lease then I called the internet and utility companies all in my name and arranged to have the services disconnected that day by noon I got to the bank and separated our finances we didn't have joint accounts thankfully but I removed her as an authorized user on my credit card I spent the afternoon at a coffee shop still ignoring the flood of calls and texts from igf around 400 p.
m. I turned my phone back on briefly and saw 17 Miss calls 36 texts and nine voicemails I didn't read or listen to any of them instead I texted my buddy to ask if I could crash at his place for a few more days already made up the couch for you he replied at 6:00 p. m.
I drove back to the apartment knowing she'd be at her thir yoga class I packed my Essential stuff and was out within 30 minutes I left my key on the counter with a note lease ends in 30 days utilities disconnected good luck I was just pulling away when I saw her car turning into the lot for a second our eyes met the look on her face confusion quickly turning to panic almost made me stop almost this morning I woke up to 43 emails from her escalating from anger to panic to pleading apparently she tried to shower but found the water shut off tried to watch Netflix but the internet was gone tried to order food but her card was declined because it was actually my credit card she'd been using the last email sent at 237 a. m. was just please call me I'm sorry we need to talk I haven't responded to anything yet part of me is still in shock at how quickly I dismantled our life together the other part is waiting to feel something grief rage heartbreak but all I feel is empty edit holy this blew up overnight thanks for all the support to answer the most common questions one yes I have screenshots of everything two no I'm not going to try to work things out with her three yes I'm doing okay surprisingly okay actually I'll update when there's more to share update one it's been a week and her life is unraveling faster than I expected first thanks for all the support on my last post reading your comments helped me realize I'm not overreacting it's been 7 days since I walked out and a lot has happened I'm still at my buddy's place though I've started looking for my own apartment work has been cool my boss told me to take whatever time I needed turns out his ex-wife cheated on him too so he gets it now about my ex The Fallout has been significant remember how I mentioned the lease ends in 30 days well I wasn't completely honest in my first post I didn't just call the landlord to chat I actually gave notice to terminate the lease early our agreement had a clause about breaking the lease for a fee equal to one month's rent which I paid up front the landlord gave her 30 days to either sign a new lease or GTFO she found this out when the landlord left a notice on the door according to her text she went to the leasing office crying only to discover her credit score and income weren't enough to qualify for the apartment on her own the utilities weren't just disconnected temporarily they were closed out completely new accounts would need deposits and setup fees which she's complaining she can't afford but here's where it gets interesting the guy I caught her with he's her coworker a married coworker with a pregnant wife I found this out because on day three of my radio silence my ex showed up at my office the receptionist warned me and I had her escorted out by security but not before she caused a scene screaming about how I'd ruined her life over one mistake a coworker recorded it all when I watched it later I noticed my ex mentioned the guy's name a quick Facebook search confirmed it Mary baby on the way works at the same company as my ex I sat on this info for a day before making a decision I'm still not sure it was right I found his wife on Facebook and sent her a message with a date and time I caught them together along with my ex's name just facts no drama the wife responded within hours she suspected something but had no proof she was devastated but grateful she asked if I had evidence and I sent screenshots of my ex's emails where she mentioned the affair had been going on for months not just once as she claimed yesterday all hell broke loose my ex called me 19 times in 2 hours when I finally answered she was hysterical how could you tell his wife do you have any idea what you've done I stayed calm I just told her the truth he's being transferred to the Austin office they were going to promote me to his position but now HR is investigating both of us I could lose my job are you happy now she screamed is this what you wanted I didn't want any of this I replied you made your choices she broke down then cry about how she was sorry how she do anything to take it back I can't afford this place on my own she sobbed my parents won't help me I have nowhere to go that sounds like a you problem I said and hung up this morning I got an email with a subject line what I'm going to do it was just a list of Demands one I need to move back in and pay the rent while she finds a new place two I need to turn the utilities back on three I need to give her access to her credit card again four I need to tell the guy's wife it was all a misunderstanding five I need to talk to her boss and explain she made a mistake I haven't responded I don't plan to my buddy thinks I'm being too cold that I should at least help her find a new place maybe he's right but every time I consider it I remember her smirking and saying he's better in bed anyway some wounds cut too deep for kindness edit wow thanks for all the support to clarify one no I'm not helping her financially or otherwise two yes I've documented everything three no I don't feel guilty about telling the guy's wife update two found my own place while she found out actions have consequences it's been about 2 weeks since my last update and things have settled into a strange New Normal first the good news I found my own apartment it's smaller than our old place but in a better location closer to work and with a rooftop deck for my morning coffee moved in last weekend with help from my buddy and some friends now for what's been happening with my ex and there's been a lot the day after I ignored her demands she sent me a novel length email with a different approach suddenly it wasn't just her mistake it was my fault too I worked too much I didn't compliment her enough I didn't understand her emotional needs classic blame shifting I didn't respond to that either 2 days later her sister called me we'd always gone along so I took the call she started by saying she wasn't taking sides but then explained how my ex was really struggling and asked if I could at least help with rent I understand she made a huge mistake her sister said but don't you think cutting off all financial support is Extreme what financial support I asked we split expenses the only difference is now she has to pay for her own things instead of using my credit card her sister went quiet she told me you've been supporting her for years because her job doesn't pay well I laughed we split rent 50/50s she makes about 5k less than me annually the only thing I covered fully was the internet bill oh her sister sounded confused that's I'm not what she told the family we talked more and I learned my ex had been painting herself as financially dependent on me for years she'd even told them the apartment was too expensive for her but she let me pick it because I insisted when actually she was the one who wanted the fancy place with all the upgrades after that her sister texted I'm sorry for bothering you I need to have a talk with my sister a few days later the rail bomb dropped remember to the married cooworker his pregnant wife didn't just confront him she went nuclear she contacted their company's HR with evidence of the affair including the screenshots I'd sent her the company has a strict policy against supervisor subordinate relationships which they violated plus they've been using company time for their hookups booking conference rooms for meetings that were nothing of the sort both of them were put on administrative leave pending investigation I found this out because my ex showed up at my new apartment Monday night I still don't know how she found my address she was drunk mascara running down her face pounding on my door at 11 p.
m.