I do think Tesla can get to like unsupervised FSD next year like just based on the feeling of what I felt so far with version 13 it feels like it's calculating its options and picking the best one version 13 is the first one where I have had several zero disengagement drives which is like huge for me once Tesla can move into unsupervised territory where people don't have to pay attention anymore I Think a lot of those worries and impatience anxiety whatever you want to call it will disappear by 99% % now with version 13 you
have them everywhere and it is improved everything everything do you see yourself ever trusting an unsupervised version of full self-driving where you don't have to pay attention yes absolutely I do it's still if you take a step back holy crap I'm just some random guy and my car is literally driving me anywhere I ask it Like 99.9% of the time like that's pretty crazy and pretty cool [Music] so we're going on a on a rampage Hans and I to talk to every v13 testers that has gotten this uh the update so far and thus far
we have spoken with JD from AI driver we've spoken with Chuck Cook from Chuck Cook we're going to speak obviously to you from Dirty Tesla and we'll also have a uh one schedule on Monday with Omar from hmar perfect it Seems like we have like the big four the big four of FSC test test on YouTube and x and the Early Access OG's yeah yeah we almost need to come up with like a badge for yall or like something like the big four ogs or something um the so the the prevailing Theory and so I'm
not looking for confirmation Hans and AR look I'm not looking for confirmation we're just really curious to get your take on what how how you're seeing the software developed so far uh from firsthand Experience so the prevailing theme that I'm hearing from JD and and Chuck uh JD especially is that v13 seems to be confirmation that Tesla is definitely on a path to offer uh self-driving rides at some point this year or next year rather 2025 and at the progress of the uh that they've made so far especially with v13 it's not hyperbolic to say
that it's quite found and amazing so that's that's the prevailing theme that theme that I'm hearing right and you know pull me back To Earth if you think this is hyperbolic but I'm really curious to hear what you've experienced so far and how it aligns with what you expected yeah sure thing for you okay yeah uh so it I I agree uh I do agree with that for the most part um the jump so I mean if we go back to like the beginning you know because I've been thinking about the beginning when FSD first
came out I mean it was just making mistakes all over the place and like almost swerving off the Road and doing crazy stuff and that type of behavior has been gone for a long time and we've seen these big leaps and the past year maybe year and a half it's been like wow this thing can do like almost all of my driving like yeah it kind of uses the brakes weird sometimes or stops a little late or I need to take over here and there for whatever reason but for the most part it's doing everything
version 11 to version 12 was a big jump in the cars just overall feel And capability as like a real driver I I don't know if that's a good way to put it um because version 11 was still doing a lot of stuff uh correctly version 12 then started doing a lot of stuff correctly and well instead of just like yeah it did it but it was a little goofy it was like whoa now it's doing it it like it feels pretty good version 13 is like building on top of that where it's like okay
now Everything feels good like like pretty much everything in terms of Accelerating and breaking and uh and turning and and waiting to turn and the way it moves the way it moves in relation to the cars around you because you know when you're driving you're not you don't sit at a stop line and then this car goes by and as soon as they clear then you go it's you're rolling as other people are moving right because you're kind of signaling to other drivers especially something like a four-way stop like yeah I know it's my Turn
here here I go don't don't go because I'm going it does all of that really well too and uh on top of that if like the nav is kind of weird it can just ignore it like it'll if the nav says to turn right and do a U-turn and do something weird instead of just turning left it'll like just turn left and from the driver's seat you have no idea how it knows how to do that why it's doing that but it's doing the right thing and you're like okay well all the Information I see
here shows that it kind of should have done something goofy it still would have got us a to B but it would have been weird but it didn't do that um so all of that's there and then the feel like I said I mean every every move every break so I have I don't know 300ish miles on it so far um and you need a lot more than that to be like yes this is fully driverless but so far everything feels amazing now where I'll pull back on that and this is a little Bit outside
the car or outside the software is I do think Tesla can get to like unsupervised FSD next year like just based on the feeling of what I felt so far version 13 I I do believe that but what exactly does you know then you got to get into the weeds exactly does unsupervised mean does that mean I'm sitting in the driver's seat and Tesla says Hey version 13. you know8 you can now text while you're driving and There's no driver monitoring we don't care but we need you there in case the car asks for help
or bad weather pops up or something that I see I mean I honestly I would never do this today because it's illegal and irresponsible but I honestly feel like the software I'm my car right now is pretty much capable of that any intervening I've done any anything I've had to do is mostly just like personal preference or trying not to annoy the drivers around Me so a good example of something i' I've had to do or I felt like I had to do driving on the highway in the left lane you know we're passing people
FSD has a top speed of 85 miles per hour which is pretty fast most people in Michigan don't drive that fast but they can we're going about 80 we pass everybody and there's someone on my butt they want to go 90 which you'll see you know occasionally FSD just does not move it just sits in the left lane There's plenty it doesn't move so I I used the turn signal that that's the whole thing I did it was like a third 45 minute 40 mile drive that's the only thing I did the whole time were
we gonna you know crash and get stuck and hurt someone no of course not it was just annoying um so those are the types of things I'm doing now um and then the last thing I'll add to all this is like unsupervised like a robo taxi with nobody in it that's where I'm still Kind of skeptical because yeah it it does all the driving but like one time already well multiple times already I've had it get stuck in scenarios where like it should have just popped into reverse back you know done a two point three
point fiveo turn and got out and it just doesn't move it just doesn't do anything so so then what do you have the remote driver remote in and drive it away do you have someone come pick it up like like wh does um so that's where I'm Still skeptical but yeah in terms of like a a customer car my car having unsupervised where I can take a nap or text or something and I have to be ready to hear a beep and kind of help it out yeah I I definitely see that super interesting okay
have you had any safety critical interventions yet with3 no I I I wouldn't say so um so when I T again you really now we're getting to the point where you got to get really detailed on what you're Talking about here so what I consider a safety critical intervention or disengagement is the car was about to crash or I think it was about to crash or someone was about to crash into me or about to hit a cyclist or something like that and I saved it and it's like whoa if I wasn't here it would
have ran into that tree or whatever those no I haven't had anything like that not even close like not even close the what I have had it do wrong That some people would consider safety disengagements is it's it uh broken the law a couple of times so it's turned right on a no turn on red which is so funny because and and I disengaged I stopped it I didn't let it do that and maybe not half the responses but a good amount of responses are like why would you stop humans do that all the time
who cares and I'm like because it's illegal and I don't want to break the law and possibly get a you know $200 ticket That's fine you know and it's technically wrong like yeah pretty logical pretty logical yeah it was perfectly clear again it's not like there was a car driving and we were GNA cut them off or something it's just it's illegal you shouldn't um and then the other one is I did have it it it ran a red light it did technically and this is on one of my videos you know you can fully
see it yourself we had a green light going Straight that's what our nav told us to do and traffic was really backed up going this way we were trying to go straight traffic was so backed up that our light turned green this traffic was still blocking us we had one human in front of us also trying to go straight people started honking and stuff FSD just goes and just turns left to take another route now technically that was a red light for that left turn lane even though we had a green to go straight Again
there were no there was no traffic coming towards us it was perfectly clear you know for several seconds before it made that manuver interesting I just let it roll because I was like we do have a great I I was kind of you know myself like well we're kind of stuck here really looking back the car should have just waited should not have turned left there um but again if you go back to like was it safe it ran a red light but technically yes it was safe because the It was clear so yeah okay
so that's that's really interesting to hear so it's kind of like it's kind of like making it's making human decisions in in a lot of these situations and like we know humans are not I mean literally the NIT stop is something that almost no human does right like who actually stops at a stop sign to zero and then uh you know Waits and sees if if the intersection is empty and then goes right if you approach the the the Intersection I hope no I don't get arrested for this if there's a cop watching in in
the Austin Metro area if you see an intersection that's empty you come up to the stop sign at 2 miles an hour you're like no one's here you go right it's it's not that well and you say to miles an hour but try to try to have somebody film you or film yourself and and forget like film yourself driving for an hour I mean you probably don't probably like 10 miles an hour It's like it'll be like five six miles an hour you think you're getting down to one or two you're going five six miles
an hour through those stop signs I've done it I've seen other it's just what people do again when the intersection is clear that's what you do um and yeah and you can really feel FSD and this was with version 12 too but with version 13 you can feel it thinking now maybe some computer scientist is like no it doesn't you're you're wrong but it feels like From an end user perspective a not computer engineer who doesn't know exactly how all this stuff works that thing is like oh oh well oh actually if I do this
that will be that's what it feels like it feels like it's calculating its options and picking the best one and maybe in the middle of you know there's option a BC it starts with option A and it goes actually option b would be a little better and it switches it up and you're like interesting uh a Good a good example of that is the the parking stuff so it'll it can now park itself kind of again I don't know exactly how it tries to decide this and even the release notes say that it's coming soon
where we can like pick parking spots and it's going to be better supported but um uh I've had FSD 13 it'll go into a parking lot there'll be parking spots on both sides and it'll stop right in the middle like in the aisle and just park like put itself into Park like okay whatever obviously there's still a human there that's not the right thing to do but it's also not supported in the release notes other times it'll do that and you're like oh it's going to park itself and then it starts rolling again and it'll
back into a spot or it'll pull nose first into a spot um so you can see it's like it thinks it's done with the journey and then it goes actually hold on let me finish this and and it does the next Thing uh that it's supposed to do interesting so that that's it's fascinating to bring that up because that was another theme that was brought up by Chuck and JD is that it seems like the car has some form of intelligence it it understands context a lot better it's able to plan uh in the future
you know third fourth fifth order sort of like effects or whatever like it's it it truly does understand that it's car and it's trying to get to a point and there Are different ways to approach it and the way the car drives makes the driver feel like it is actually thinking like a human right and that that is such an insane thing to hear from three different people that the car feels like it's actually thinking but if you really think about how do you solve self-driving at scale with AI I feel like that's one of
the variables that we would need to see to say okay wow it's actually being so Because if they're using human data to train the AI it would make sense that it behaves like a human right for sure yeah I mean you know if I take a step back it's like okay it's not it's not thinking it's not sensient but if you're if you don't think too much about it it's like a proxy yeah it feel it really feels that way it really feels that way like yes at the end of the day you sit back
yes it's not actually thinking but it feels like it is it feels like just Like you do as your brain is going through the day or going through a t any task it doesn't have to be driving just think of the tasks you do you got to set something down and you go oh there's something in the way and you just shift it off to the left a little bit you don't think of that as intelligence it's just what we do but it's a form of intelligence and it it feels exactly how the car is
operating it gets into the parking lot and it's Like oh we're going to go to this pin and then it sees whatever's around its spot as it as it approaches it or once it gets to it and it goes well actually there's parking spots right here let me just let me just pull in and if you if you saw the one where it parked at the GameStop I mean that was like the big example of this I mean it was just like and I even said to Stephanie I was like okay it's going to put
itself in park here because I had seen it do that Several times already I'd been driving it over and over again to test this stuff and then it just it it started moving oh oh and then it pops itself in reverse and Z it's smoother than any the best parking person you've ever seen just parked right in the spot in between two cars no problem at all crazy it was crazy I couldn't believe it unb it was like way smoother than Auto Park actually works 99.9% of the time yes that part that specific Parking maneuver
was better than than Auto Park and it made me kind of think uh I'm glad you brought that up because it made me kind of think like oh is Auto Park improved too and I have used it like once or twice I just it's hard to remember to do all these things all the time um and it seemed good but you know you got to do it 50 times before you really are like oh yes this is now better um so yeah auto park has seemed good I've been happy enough with it I Get people's
kind of qualms of like it's too slow cuz it's pretty slow and if there's somebody like behind me I wouldn't use it um but I do use it especially on the cybertruck I use it regularly and it's good enough that it's worth using in my opinion hun did you want to uh jump in here because like Chuck and JD I I'm gonna Haw Chris well I was thinking about what you're saying with thinking and you know Maybe the word that a computer scientist would use is planning like it is planning what it's going to do
and it is adaptable so it's calculating what its plans are you know Moment by moment and making those adjustments um and yeah like is that thinking I don't know maybe but it maybe not technically but it is that is part of what we are doing when we are thinking and so yeah that feel is very very similar yeah that's exactly what it Feels like it I mean there's that's the best way to describe it is thinking weighing its options uh which yeah planning is like another form of that and you know the older FS versions
especially it's it's weird because the super old versions were just very robotic all over the place and as and I realized version 12 is the first time they're like using the AI and you know blah blah blah and deleting all the code but as the years have gone on and Tesla Has increased the capabilities of the car you'd see this in different scenarios so like one of the best ones was stop signs especially four-way stops those were always just horrid because uh in in older versions because the car would do the even when we had
rolling stops a long time ago it would come up to the stop sign if there's a bunch of people it would stop and it would just wait and wait and wait and then it's your turn and it would just wait and Wait you're like no you have to go immediately and then someone else starts to take your turn and then the car is so slow and it's I don't know processing or decision making or whatever you want to say that they would start to go and then it would start to go and then they'd hit
their break and it was just and and that was regular occurrence now it's like a nightmare for anyone with anxiety oh dude and and I I don't have anxiety too bad I I I would say I don't have anxiety At all but when I'm driving my car I really don't want to be I don't want to confuse anybody I don't want to be an inconvenience you know you want to be that guy yeah I don't you know and and here's the other part that so so I always say people will say like oh you need
to let the car do more I'm like listen I let it do a lot I'm not out here to ruin everyone's day and piss them off and get in their way and the other part about this and and I I have This in videos because I do let the car do a lot people when when a human sees a vehicle you've done it I've done it do something weird on the Road swerve over the line not use their blinker whatever you go whoa that car is now stuck in your head and you're like I better
look out for that car yeah one thing one thing you go two miles an hour under the speed limit are they drunk are they lost are they from are they not from around here they don't know where they're going You know what I mean so that car is now highlighted in your brain for the rest of the drive if you're driving around them and so I had FSD and this was like version I want to say it was version 12 to this yeah yeah definitely version 12 because version 12 always likes to go below the
speed limit um and and it would still do some goofy things so it went into this like right turn only lane when we were going straight and again there's nobody there It's whatever this guy comes out of his neighborhood where the right turn only lane was going to lead into and I wasn't even in his way he could not have proceeded whether I was turning right or going straight because he would had to wait for me to get out of the way it's kind of a long story but it's worth it the car goes straight
and I see his hands go like this CU he knows it's a right turn and he lives there and I go oh great so we're on this road it's I Don't know 50 m per hour road whatever it is FSD wants to go 40 45 and I'm like I'm recording a video I don't want to hit the accelerator yet so I let it go for I don't you could go watch the video maybe 20 seconds and I finally go all right I I can't you know get in this guy's way I need to press the
accelerator I speed it up we get to I mean this is like three four minutes later we get it's a single lane road we get to a left turn as I get in this left Turn lane he gives me the finger as he drives by I'm like my man that okay the first maneuver didn't affect you in any way the second thing where I went under the speed limit for 20 seconds probably cost you a fraction of one second of your day yeah you know it's just man that guy really holds grudges oh and you
could tell he was right on my butt the whole this is how drivers act and maybe it's a Michigan people do Drive pretty aggressively no it's a New Jersey thing Too when I lived in PA and I drove in New Jersey and Pa too yeah yeah yeah for sure so that's how people are around here so I it's a cold climate thing people don't have time get me out of here yeah give me out here yeah yeah no I I get it so anyway uh the point of all that is FSD needs to be able
to fit in at least while we still have human drivers which will be for a long time of course um and it's doing that better than ever for sure that's yeah go ahead Hunt I'm with you on not letting it do too much I I prefer to disengage and then tell Tesla like I I'm sure whoever listens to or it's whatever llm it is that has to transcribe my notes gets a kick out of the things that I say I'm like what the heck you absolutely cannot do that in this situation like stop it for
sure I I always try to include some key phrases like we were G to crash imminent collision and like maybe that gets highlighted you know so it's like Brought up on the pro I don't know I'm just making it up but maybe they'll look at that one um but again I'll say with version 12 or version 13 it's I like don't even I don't leave notes it's crazy I mean it's it's there's it's really that good yeah and you know I'm excited for it to roll out to more people because uh you know I've had
this experience before I was like wow this is a huge step up and yeah it's still doing this and this but but it's a big step up And then it rolls out to everyone and then people will come back to me like uh you told me is a huge step up and this is worse than before I'm like I'm sorry I don't know what's going on with your car or your area but for me it was huge I don't think we're going to see much of that with version 13 just because it is so so
good but the other thing that comes into that is is personal preference you know um because of course some people drive Really fast some people like to drive exactly the speed limit whatever um and 13 definitely is like Speed Demon it likes to speed speed speed if you let it of course you have to enable that in the settings and everything um but man in a 25 mile per hour Zone it's going 35 and I get the same feedback you know I'm like that's inappropriate you can't go that fast and people like that's so dumb
a cop's not gonna pull you over for going 10 over and I'm like I don't know Where you live but yes they are um no they're not exctly exactly uh but so a big part of it I think people you know people that are excited for this or are getting ready to to try the software or whatever keep in mind it's not going to drivve exactly like you that doesn't mean it's wrong you really got to keep an open mind you know um and let the car do its thing safely and you'll be very surprised
yeah yeah that whole Discussion too and I'll throw it to you Hans here I think what's really interesting about it is when when my dad gets an FSD update so he he lives in Pennsylvania East Pennsylvania and he drives into Jersey 5 times a week he his roundtrip commute is like 150 miles like 3 hours almost about and his feedback for FSD is always it's too slow it's not confident enough I got people riding my ass in Jersey and it's it just needs to go and I feel like what you're Describing with this is going
to be like heaven for him you know this guy he's in his mid-60s he he has been driving forever he deals with New Jersey drivers on The Daily he knows exactly what the car needs to do and it's it's so funny you bring it up because it's so true it's so true it's almost like you know my thesis has been that once Tesla can move into unsupervised territory where people don't have to pay attention anymore I think a lot of those worries And like impatience anxiety whatever you want to call it will disappear by like
99% for the people that use unsupervised because they no longer feel responsible for the behavior of the car and that's why people behave that way cuz they don't they don't want the d like people to watch him and be like oh my God what did you do wrong if you can create like a separation layer between the car and the Human by not having to pay attention I bet you a lot of those things go away And it's like it's inconsequential in the long term it's just more of a preference thing but I feel like
going unsupervised will delete a lot of those worries like if if that becomes like a mitigating like a thing for people to be like I'm not I'm never going to use it well you don't have to pay attention oh [ __ ] I can go on my phone now okay or whatever I can take a nap now okay you know value proposition changes go for it Hans yeah I was just going to say can You you know expand for the audience a little bit more the your experience with speed profiles uh from say 1254 to
1256 and now into 132 yeah for sure um I I will do that and then I'll let you know Stephanie is ready if you guys want to talk to her for a minute oh yeah hell yeah Okay cool so so with the speed profile so 125.4 didn't have them and it was um uh the the worst thing for me was the speed degradation thing which really Came with version 12 in that you know the the road is say a 55 m per hour Road in the older versions version 11 whatever we could set the speed
right and when you set 60 miles per hour for FSD it went 60 miles per hour you know unless you're going around a band or whatever it would slow down but it would go that was like the target speed like go this speed with version 12 it brought Max Speed where you tell the car like the most you can go is 60 you can't go More than that and the car cannot go more than that but it can choose whatever speed it wants below that that it thinks is appropriate for the scenario to go so
you set the max is 60 and the speed limit is 30 and it thinks it should go 40 it will right the opposite of that is true though also which is awful when you're living rural or in these you know aggressive or assertive driving areas where uh um sorry my dog's playing over there where Um uh you know speed is 55 you have the max at 70 and the car is like I'm going go 48 you're like n don't no this is bad people are tailgating you whatever and you have no you have no control
over it I mean this is still true to this day you have no control over that you can't make the car go faster without pressing the accelerator or just turn it off um with the speed profiles now you have chill standard and hurry which is basically what they sound like I don't Haven't really used chill much so I'm notna talk about that because who wants to drive chill um but in hurry this thing is like it it it goes It goes like mostly your target speed sometimes it goes below it um but it just brought
so much better Behavior to the speeding like the type of speed you go and the way you get up to the speed and everything um along with like getting closer to the speed limits especially on hurry and going a bit over but if you Don't like that you know we need these controls for now because we're still in control if you don't like that you can cap it you know if the speed limit is 55 and you don't want to go more than 60 just cap it at 60 you don't have to think about it
anymore the car will go you know 60-ish maybe 58 or something like that um and now with version 13 and so with version 12.6 or 12.5 six that was Highway only and then they you know eventually brought them down to uh Streets 50 m hour more now with version 13 you have them everywhere and it has improved everything I mean everything my my biggest complaints with with uh version 12 speeding stuff either going too fast or too slow are all gone now because if I do go into 25 if you're in hurry mode in a
25 M per hour Zone this thing will go 35 or 40 okay so it will do it if you allow it but you don't have to you can now be in the standard profile or the chill profile and I have Found that chill will still speed sometimes but on top of that you just do the right scroll wheel down to whatever you you want your max speed to be and then it can't go any faster than that and we lost that ability in earlier version 12 versions which I think was inappropriate you know and I
I understand Tesla's vision and just like what you said once this is unsupervised nobody's gonna care like well as long as Tesla pays your ticket if you get a Ticket um but if you know let's say that's the case and nobody's gonna care if it's un supervis but for now we need that control and I'm very glad Tesla's brought it back I still think the versional implementation is technically the best only because I can say like I want to go this speed go it all the time you still don't really have that ability but hurry
mode drives so fast in general that it's like 99% better got it okay so that's That's so when we're talking about Improvement I mean we're really seeing improvements across a a multiple different variables here with v13 it's not just like Behavior breaking like you said it's like there's just so many different things that does better oh every everything everything there's and the other thing is and then I'll I'll put Stephanie on the other thing is there's there's no regressions you know which is like that Doesn't mean it's not doing anything wrong like like I said
it's still I don't know no turn on reds are working for me for a long time now they don't anymore I don't know why um but that was older that's older that's not ver it's not like version 13 came like oh now they're not working anymore right there's no blatant thing that was working great before that now doesn't work on version 13 with version 11 it was uh Lane drift I had the car would Always like just kind of drift out of the lane and it's like I remember the one time you just scream it
it was like a year voice was just screaming it was a year of this happening and it's like I know you guys see the videos I know you guys are active on X like what is happening they didn't fix it till version 12 then version 12 comes along we get speed degradation I'm like come on now you Can't even go to the speed limit like you're going and oh I didn't speed degradation is is more than going below the speed limit it loses speed over time you stay on the same road and it would be
at 55 and just slowly go down to I I was in going 3 three and a 55 that's also gone so anyway the point is version 13 didn't bring any of those anything I found yet which you can usually find in one or two drives No regressions no that I found so Far I never want to say anything to 100% but it's looking that way so awesome let me throw Stephanie on here and you can grill grill her I love it thank you yep it let's see let's see what Stephanie says CU so far so
far everyone's been pretty pretty positive let's see if we can get mic same level of confidence hello hi nice to meet you officially how are you nice meet you too good how are you for making time yeah great yeah definitely uh we we've been Uh conversing with uh all the different beta testers uh that have received v13 and since uh you're really the star of the show of dirty Tesla let's be honest here okay so we definitely wanted you on to uh talk about your experience with the software we spoke with Chuck we spoke with
JD obviously we spoke with Chris a little bit uh we're bringing on Omar as well so like the big four of uh v13 testing and the reason why we wanted to do that was Tesla has been on a path Of trying to solve for self-driving for God knows how long and everyone that follows us including ourselves are always like when the hell are they going to get to a point where it looks like they're going to get this thing figured out right and with the neuronet approach with this V12 v13 thing it seems like they're
making some crazy jumps and so we just want to talk to people that uh have a very close experience with the software that are able to give unbiased Opinions how the software is performing um and so since you've uh I'm assuming have had a lot of experience with v13 so far you know with Chris what what's your takeaway so far with what Tesla has done with this version um to me it's a huge jump um because even with version 12 I still was not like fully fortable with it making turns even all the time like
I would almost always disengage like when I was waiting to turn left or like if we were At a stop sign to turn right just because it takes so long to make the complete stop and then go and sometimes it would like still be a little UNC about the turn and do something a little awkward and it was enough to frustrate me where I would just be like okay we're just going to turn you off for a second but um version 13 is the first one where I um have had several zero disengagement drives which
is like huge for me and I trust it to make all those turns because It's just super confident like it knows what it's going to do it gives you little hints along the way so you can predict what it's going to do which makes me feel more comfortable and so it's just been so much more confident and smooth and I'm enjoying it do you see yourself okay so let me ask you this did you so when self-driving first started coming out for for Teslas or or cars were you like somebody that thought would like how
in the weeds where you Were you're like eh I don't trust it I don't want to like mess with that kind of technology or were you open to the progress help me understand sort of where your head's been at with this whole thing at first I was totally uninterested like anytime Chris even tried to put just like autopilot on I was like this is ridiculous like turn this thing off it was like I was always yes yes so if you see like his older videos that he did with me back in the Early days I
the whole time was just like like yeah okay and and would you would you say CU you know I experienced this with my wife too Cindy it's like you know I poor woman I dragged her along on my videos early on too you know and uh you know she she's going to be back of she's going to be back on on the videos but you know she's been pregnant and she we just had a little baby so she know we're going through that whole process thank You uh and uh her her thing at the beginning
was like please turn the [ __ ] off like this is crazy like I I just don't want to deal with it you're giving me anxiety I hate this right and then over time and it's almost like what I'm trying to decide is like okay is she just getting used to the software or is it getting materially better now not at the point where when she takes the car she just has it on like it's just part of her Routine and and we're on 125 I think or 12 I don't even know which one we're
on but we're in Hardware 3 cars and that's been her journey it's like it's gone from it's very similar to yours I don't care or like I'm just not I don't want a part of it necessarily to becoming a not only a US useful part of her uh say driving but it's something that she would prefer like you know when we go rent a car uh she'd be like man I wish you know we had autopilot man I wish we Had self-driving does that sort of mirror your experience yes and I think that it's a
little bit of both a little bit of like getting used to it but also that FSD has tremendously improved since like version 10 I think think is like the first one that Chris tortured me with but um but yeah especially like you said renting a car somewhere when you're in an unfamiliar place and letting the car make all those turns for you when you Don't know what the roads are and where you're supposed to go it's so helpful and um the big thing that really turned me on to FSD or just even autopilot in general
was when there was a time where Chris and I were driving back to Michigan from Tennessee and he had terrible food poisoning and he just like he he's like I can't drive I can't do this and I was trying to get us home as fast as I could because it was like an awful experience and I needed autopilot Like just for like it gave me so much relief to just have that the extra set eyes keeping me in my Lane keeping my speed for me and I was like wow this is actually like really relaxing
and really nice and ever since that day I was like I can try this more and more until the point where now I just let it do everything super interesting Hans let me bring you in before uh again I take up all of Stuffy time yeah I don't know if I can think of any more specific Questions for that but I I do Echo I haven't gotten Britney to this point yet she uh she does not like 12543 very much she's like this thing is a teenage driver is what it feels like it's always uncertain
you know she hates when we're turning into the neighborhood and then we've got you know our the entrance to our neighborhood has a little median in it and I don't know at least half the times turning in it gets confused by the median right at the last Second and it wants to like do I turn left or do I turn right and so it's like Shifting the wheels and that drives her crazy and um then there are some other yeah speed thing like when it waits to slow down uh right up to a stop sign
or a line of traffic or whatever that makes her anxious and so she doesn't give me too much of a hard time for turning it on but I have as yet to get her to turn it on and when I talk to her like what do you think about the system right now Yeah she's still in the camp of like I can see that it's going to be you know if they can fix these issues that then I might consider it but for right now no thanks yep well if she wants to try a little
bit the the first thing that I did was I would just engage it like on roads that I was comfortable with and just going straight like if getting to the point where you trust that that the car is not going to hit other cars and that the car is going to keep you in Your lane like that's huge so once you have that confidence then the other stuff kind of starts to come yeah hopefully as it gets better and better she'll be more comfortable yeah that that's been one of the things we've been talking through
for so long is like the safety is one thing but like making the person behind the wheel comfortable with the decisions that the car is making is almost more important because you need to get through that that like wall of I'm going to turn it on right like it could be the safest thing in the world but if I feel like the car's an idiot I'm not going to keep it on right so and and and it's and it and it feels like the only way to Sofer that truly is by having a system that
can really mimic how a human would drive which is a lot easier quote unquote with an AI system than say a coded system that everyone else's is using which is like a heuristics um let me ask you one more Question one more question then I got to run but yes go ahead uh so unsupervised so do you see yourself ever trusting an unsupervised version of full self-driving where you don't have to pay attention yes absolutely I do okay have a good day thank you step thank you thank you for having me of course awesome and
I think one of the things that she said there was really important in that um that she felt like she could predict what it was going to do a lot Better so I think that that goes hand inand with the Comfort like it made her comfortable because it was predictable yeah so thank you Chris for for uh throwing that over to Stephie I think course what was interesting uh listening to her is that it mirrors our experience too with our wives as well where at the get-go it was a why are you dragging me in
into the [ __ ] and then and then it ended up as wow this is actually very useful and to the point Where I I prefer having this a system and and sort of where we ended the conversation was and Hans sort of uh um give a little bit of a clue to it is the comfort of the system that gives the confidence to the driver that it's going to be safe versus actually it being truly safe is almost more important it's like Tesla can throw as many data points as they want at the wall
and at the public that says our system is going to be 10 times safer than a human 20 times Safer 100 times safer great but if the car doesn't behave in a way that gives me the confidence that it's safe it doesn't really matter if it's safe right right yeah and it's yeah I was going to say version 12 still had that problem and it was weird because when version 12 first came out this wasn't an issue and it came up later with late breaking it never was going to run into anything ever not even
close I've been having that issue with with my version yes yeah Oh yeah and but it go it's going you're like H they're stopped up there it's going and going and then it it stops at the end and it's not even a boom big hard stop it still is like I can't even explain it because it's still a soft stop it's just really late nobody that you know nobody wants to feel that or or experience that especially when you're new to it or you're not a nerd about it you're like oh I'm just gonna do
it myself you know I I have a so my new Data point I use now did you want to finish what you were saying no please please okay so so Stephanie was always like my data point for someone who hates this or just isn't interested and is kind of you know a casual and whatever now she's into it she likes it you know I had said to her uh I don't know a year ago or something I was like man what do you think about that Rivia that r1s that's like the perfect Mom mobile thing
looks a and she was like but it doesn't Have FSD does it and I go like I was like what what did you just say I'm like no she goes yeah then I don't want it I like what's happening I could not believe it I could I literally couldn't believe it because I didn't realize she was that into it at that point um and I said who I didn't know that was such a big you know deal for you and she goes oh yeah I don't want a car without this now and I'm like you
would even use it a year ago and she goes well yeah but now I do like okay fine so my data point I use now is my cooworker he got a model 3 a little over a year ago uh I've worked with him for I mean six over six years now so he's known about all my Teslas I've given him rides and he's tried out the FSD with me and his his opinion was always like oh this is neat you know like he he appreciates the tech but he like doesn't care which is good that's
what I want I want someone that's not a nerd and not reading about it and blah BL blah so he's been getting the free trials from Tesla and his his thing it kind of sounds almost a littleit bit like like what you're saying with your dad his thing is basically like it's kind of rude it goes a little too slow for me he's like I already know what I want to do I might as well just do it myself like I you know I I don't want to wait for it and I'm like so it's
not worth 99 a month and he goes it's interesting and he's like I like the Highway stuff he goes but no I wouldn't pay that much for it when I can just do it myself you know um on top of that when he gets the free trials even he still won't really use it and I kind of probe him on it I don't want to talk to him about it too much though cuz I don't want SPO this is my like my last data point I have you know of a normal person yeah yeah so
I don't want to talk about it too much with him but he basic at least you have normal people around you You're lucky yeah dude I know I know I I'm I'm very lucky because you need that outside information otherwise you're just you don't know what's going on you know in the real world you're just stuck with all us nerds um and so he's just he doesn't even have a great reason he's just like I can just do it myself so I might as well and I'm like okay you know I kind of leave it
at that U but whenever he gets a free trial I you know I ask him about it so okay yeah that's Going to be very very interesting to see it's like I also also like my dad is one of those data points for me it's like because I know so he's in the camp and it's funny because we released a video with the three of us my dad my mom and I we were driving around an FSD and even though my dad's like I'm I'm not going to use this but why would you buy anything
else but a Tesla was sort of his conclusion like it makes no sense right to buy anything else but a Tesla Even if you're not going to use a self-driving because it could drive itself at some point and it's cheap to run blah blah blah maintenance and all you every everything that all of us Tesla owners are super aware of I do think that you know you tell me if because I I I'm curious to see if this actually pans out with your coworker because it feels like with v13 again early super early we don't
have enough miles but thus far talking what's Interesting is talking with you JD and chuck all three of you are from different regions you're from Michigan Chuck's from Florida JD's from Cali all three of you have been uh saying essentially the same theme which is it's better across the board really better across the board it hasn't regressed anywhere that I can uh notice and it's so damn good and I haven't had to really have any true safety critical interventions it's all just little Things here and there that are not that big of a deal but
they're things that have to get cleaned up right yeah for sure I'm really curious to see what happens when that becomes a free trial and or people really begin adopting uh this technology because of the virality of it that's you know that might be going on on the Internet it's like you to start see you know the AI freaking JDS his videos get like hundreds of thousands of views yeah we Talk a lot and I'm like what are you doing he goes I don't know come on man you got to help me out it's C
I think I think it's wonderful voice he has such a great voice you know so do you honestly you both have phenomenal voices and it's like but I don't I don't know what it is but so like let's think about that for a second right we have between you Chuck JD and Omar there's literally hundreds of thousands of people that watch Teslas Dry themselves right at some point that's got to mean something it's got to mean something you know is it Kim Kim Kardashian putting her Tesla gold Tesla bot in a in her model in
cyber truck and she's like oh my God look at me it's driving me around with v133 is that a thing you know that I'm curious to hear your thoughts yeah well there's there's hundreds of thousands of people watching and the important point about that is the car is doing things right it's very Easy to get those views when the cars making mistakes or screwing up there's drun point and you know because it's always easier you know negativity gets clicks and all that so when you like who this thing almost crashed like if you it's so
funny because people say to me they're like oh you're biased you want it to do good because you want to get more views and I'm like what you want the yeah if you look at the top videos of FSD on YouTube not from me from all of them in the whole world they're pretty much all oh it almost crashed or it almost hit this thing or what you know what I mean they're not they're not like we had a perfect drive and I did nothing like that's super interesting from like a civilization perspective but not
from an entertainment video perspective so um there's definitely curiosity and I think a lot of it is that it's it's novel and it's it's still pretty new Even though this has been around for four years it's still like if you take a step back like holy crap I'm just some random guy and my car is literally driving me anywhere I ask it like 99.9% of the time like that's pretty crazy and pretty cool um and so some of that'll wear off eventually but um yeah I don't know Tesla just gets all the clicks I I
still can't exactly figure out why you know um obviously it's a super interesting company but I don't know There's a reason that we all have kind of I mean I know you've branched out you do a lot more now than than Tesla um but it's kind of where a lot of us started at at least if nothing else um and that's why because people click on Tesla for I still can't exactly figure out why but um and well and it's funny because you talking about that I have a cybertruck video where I got it last
March we had one big snow after I got it um and it hadn't snowed since then and I Made a video about just the driving it and blah blah blah and the thumbnail is like problem and I point at the front because the headlights you when talks about the headlights that video is now blowing up again because I'm sure you know that other guy made a video and it's just oh with the headlight yeah and it's cyclical like now the snow's coming so people like whoa what what about cybertruck in snow I don't know why
people have these questions it's like Does it work in the snow like yeah they made a vehicle for $100,000 that you can't drive in the snow like what is the what are these questions but anyway that's a Land Rover exactly now the this video is you could see the I haven't done nothing I haven't changed anything it's just you know going up again and you know you get a couple comments a day like oh piece of junk you know that's yeah and then I'm sorry I'm kind of going off on a tangent But but I
I no please why are you coming to this video hate the I don't care you can hate the cyper truck you think is the ugliest thing ever never buy it what cool dude I don't care buy whatever carard you want why are you coming why are you searching for a video of cyer truck and then clicking on it and then watching it and then commenting about the content in that just we I just don't get it don't get it so anyway if you ever figure that out Chris please let me Know yeah we be we'll
be retired if we figure that out yeah but so um yeah I I think the the views and everything will get to a point where people will be like you know it draws them in initially and then they can start looking into it and then you got to get that affordability there right which Tesla's getting better at every year but you really got to get down to you know that $20,000 car or whatever they're talking about which if you look at used you can you can almost Get there um yeah so 100 perc Hans I
saw you came off you go go for it one of the things that you know Tesla's obviously bigger than this and this isn't why the Tesla name brings in eyeballs but as far as the FSD testing like what other company puts out software updates that their customers can literally go torture test in any way shape or form that they want to and let it drive itself you know like their willingness To expose full self- driving to so many different drivers environments GE geographies traffic conditions like everything whereas you know the only other alternative for self-driving
is wh Mo that you know it works in the couple cities that it works when it works as much as they want it to work and that's it like that is such a huge difference yeah yeah and it's very important because you know people will I don't get This reply as much anymore but people like oh wayo already you know would wayo would have done that right or whatever and my response I was like okay let me try it like it's that simple like yeah I I can see FSC screw up all the time but
if I'm making a video for the most part not all of them but if I'm going to make a video about it it's gonna be hard that's the point we're pushing the capability of this thing I want to see where it messes up if it messes up of Course I I throw some normal drives up too you know it's like okay I'm just I'm literally like I gotta go to Home Depot today I'm putting it in and letting the car do it and and it'll nail it pretty much every time um I I and like
you said your the willingness of Tesla to do this I put up videos where it screws up all the time especially the old ones oh my gosh crazy mess ups but I I did one of cybertruck FSD which I don't know what's going on There because cyber truck FSD is freaking goofy compared to on the model y um even when they were on like almost the same version it it's not not nearly as good talk about late breaking holy crap I've had a a lot of uh emergency breaking in the Cyber Tru like it'll trigger
its own automatic emergency breaking because it breaks so late that is not I don't know if you guys have experienced automatic emergency braking in any car not a fun experience it's not Fun oh man so cyber truck has triggered that on me multiple times now but so I put up a video where I you know I've done this multiple times before had the cybertruck on FSD I put some objects in the road it's not a per you know I am a Scientist but that's like my day job it's not the most perfect scientific test but
I do my best you know I try to repeat I I try to keep everything the same as much as I can um and cyber TR sucked it hit all kinds of stuff it Didn't care at all it was like oh I'm just going to run over this gigantic box it knows it's made out of metal yeah yeah exactly it knows um Tesla's not it's FSD tank mode exactly yeah yeah Tesla doesn't doesn't come at me and like take my software away or reprimand me I mean they didn't respond they didn't say anything to me
obviously but I think most companies especially when you're on getting the early builds which this was not an early build it was a Public build they'd probably come at you oh you're no longer part of this program blah blah blah they know that I'm pushing this stuff because we want to see what it's capable of and they want that feedback this is how they learn this is how they've made it so good is they let this stuff happen and they go whoa we need to fix that like one thing uh I'm debating okay I'll just
it's fine um the I haven't said this to anyone else NDA warning yeah no no NDA I don't Have any NDA it's um no um I heard that so my first ever cybertruck drive I started you know when it or sorry when it got FSD for the first time I was like Hey I want to try something and I put the tailgate down and I was like oh FSD works with tailgate down that's funny like what I didn't think much of it like why would you really want that I guess if you're hauling whatever so
then it works fine I I close the tailgate do the drive whatever months later I Hear that that caused lots of chaos I guess and because these guys watch the videos there's no like direct evidence but you know right you know they're aware of this stuff I guess that was seen as soon as it went live and it it was I guess it caused that's all that's all I know is that uh sh there was some chaos in the backgound like no no no no should not have worked so then so it doesn't work anymore
you can't do it and I've meant To do a followup I just I just haven't I just haven't done it I've meant to do a followup where I show that you can't engage FSD now with tailgate down I just I'm just gonna post it to X I just haven't done that yet but it's a funny story and guess what they were able to quickly fix that because this is how they operate this is how they iterate this is how they get stuff done so uh it's it's it's a great it's a great company and a
great um What's a what's a good word a great engine for progress I guess 100% yeah it's a it's a feedback flywheel yeah I want to Circle back to one of the things that you were mentioning earlier with the the free trials because I think that that Gap that you mentioned is actually kind of a significant one where they they roll out these free trials but then people don't actually try like they have access to the software but they don't actually try it so if you had the Ability to suggest to Tesla a modification what
should they do differently when they give these free trials to customers to get them to actually turn the system on man that is a great question um the the good thing they do excuse me the good thing they do I'll say is you do get the little pop-ups down there if you don't have it on I mean this even happens to me it's like turn on whatever you know if it's not enabled um so that's good to at Least uh make awareness because a lot of people don't even know they get these updates they don't
even know you know they don't know there's a free trial whatever so just off the top of my head think one of the good things they could do and they'd be taken away from you know my job a little bit but do a little intro video for people that like comes in an email or even in the Tesla app you know get the messages in the Tesla app do both because people aren't going to Notice this stuff just a a quick you know 20 second 30 second video that's like yeah if you enable this in
the settings your car can can drive you from A to B you're still responsible pay attention but this is our latest software and it's always improving so if there's something you don't like let us know give us speed feedback and we'll improve it for the next the next time um because that was you know my co-worker's big thing is he he sees it I don't know How he hears about these things but he'll mention it to me and like yo I got another free trial and and he gets excited because he likes to show it
to his family and stuff he's like this is perfect my dad's in town I was just gonna pay for the month but now I get a free trial um but so he you know he'll turn it on for a day and he's like oh it still does this dumb thing and he'll never use it again right and so I think one of the big things Tesla can do is Emphasize like we're always making this better it's always is getting updated so if you have you know a problem you can press this little button and tell
us and we can fix it they don't obviously they're not fixing every little thing all the time but uh just people having that ability to scream at it or you know whatever they have to do um I think I think helps a lot but yeah that's a that's a great that's a great point because a lot of people don't even Update their cars especially if they don't connect it to I mean come on all right we're nerds sitting here we get the new car oh we're add my Wi-Fi to the car who does that dude
most people are driving their car home they might not even plug it in at first you know they get home and they plug it in and that's it they're not going to connect Wi-Fi they're not why would they do that it doesn't do anything for them to connect the car to Wi-Fi they don't think about It eventually they'll get a notification that like update your car and they're like what does that even mean you know um so you really for people like us we really got to a huge step back you got to take you
got to jog backwards for five minutes to really get to the same point that people who are new to these vehicles are at and I don't also don't want to Discount anybody it's not like we're special and super smart because we're all nerdy about the cars it's just That these are things a lot of people have never thought about with vehicles um and they they don't have a good kind of jump drive to get into thinking about it in that way so that's a huge I mean yeah that's a huge that could be a whole
department at Tesla is figuring out what you just said the the way I think about it is I think at least for this this next this next free trial I think having words just like new and improved I think will Be will be it's not just like a pop-up in the car but it's also maybe a a notification on the app maybe when you open the app uh you have a new and improved version of FSD available v13 here are the things that we fixed that you may have experienced from before yeah U You Know
download it and give it a shot that's kind of where my head is going to on top of the email you know sort of like there has to be like a like a mass communication that goes out and Then but then you pocket that I feel like that's the only time you can do that cuz you can't keep saying new and improved so you do that and then the next one is unsupervised yeah it's like hey you don't even have to pay attention yeah yeah better better than ever uh you know they got to use
some clickbait to get these people uh checking it out like for sure we could help them out it's done it's over speechless yeah exactly yeah yeah Ever yeah exactly yeah so uh H did you want to jump in here I was just wondering about you know maybe even going beyond that a little bit with either some free supercharger mile credits or um even yeah like incentives to you know get $100 off your Tesla insurance this month for those that have Tesla insurance now every mile you drive on FSD you get a free mile supercharging or
you get two free milees superchar that yeah That's yeah like every mile gives you this incentive or you use it for an hour you get the like un oh you the gamify FSD yeah Y and then T it gets more data from more people W oh my gosh that's you just broke I really like the yeah because I was just thinking about it kind of in an onoff switch kind of way but I like the incentive based on usage like whether it is hours or miles or whatever that's really really smart well you you brought
me to that so like this Is why you got to talk to people because I didn't think about incentivizing him in that way but then it's just the next step is like the more you use it the more you get and that's the crazy thing about this whole value proposition right because Tesla has ways to get people to adopt it yes all all they have to do is get it to a point that is actually going to fit that bell curve of like people that download and use they need to make that sort of like
They need to make the area under the curve gigantic and then they'll just Hammer the different incentives to get people to use it because they they own the vertical they have the car they have the software they have the app like they control the they have the entire incentive structure they have insurance like you know they have their own freaking service centers use FSC for a month get a $100 credit towards your next set of tires I don't freaking know Like you can so many different things yeah no that's really good and the the the
big thing they're gonna have to overcome is uh the personal per uh personal preference stuff because you know the car will drive perfectly and if it's different than you you're going to you know without stepping back and oh that's bad you're wrong kind of you're kind of you know it's different than you would do it doesn't mean it's wrong but you think It's wrong so then you just don't use it anymore so you do man that per mile thing that's that's that's it man Hans a big who can we tell who can we tell because
you got to get them into it they're all watching right now Elon watches this Chris yeah he's our biggest fan on his on his airplane right now on his way to hell yeah his next meeting shout out star little little X is uh letting them know what happened yeah he's clipping Her right now and putting it on on his ex X is putting on his ex uh Chris we know you're a very busy man you have a lot going on thank you so much for making the time brother any any parting words um no I
just I'm excited for everyone to get to experience you know FSD 13 I I don't I one of the most common questions I get now is why aren't they rolling it out what are they I don't know I I don't know it there's no this is so much better than version 12 I Feel like they'd be stumbling over themselves to get this rolled out to everyone I have no clue I hope it's soon though because it's really really really good this is going to be a turning point for some of those people that have kind
of had just their stickling issues with FSD where they use it but like oh it does this kind of weird and it's a little slow here you know whatever I think this is gonna be the be a step up for a whole new set of people that are Now like wow now I'm into this this is awesome I'm already starting to see it um just from the clips and stuff on x people like okay this actually looks really good I've never really liked it but now I want this so awesome Hans any anything else would
like Chris go yeah I mean everyone just DM Chris so that he can make sure that get G3 straight away I'm actually curious how how did this how did this meme start I have at dirty Tesla uh it's it started a long long time ago years ago and I forget what the original joke was but yeah it was basically like DM dirty Tesla to get uh whatever some update like the holiday update or something and then it evolved into FSD and it was it's mostly bearded Tesla if you guys watch bearded Tesla it's it's mostly
him who he wasn't the first of the first but he was the one who revived it into what it is now and uh now everybody I mean joah even on Their website put a button that says like here's how you get FSD just click right here and when you click the button it opens a DM to me on x and so now I have people that are like oh I saw on Joe's website blah blah blah and I'm like oh you know I have to explain to some of these I mean I can't respond to
everyone it's literally hundreds of me hundreds of messages hundreds and so I can't like even respond to people I want to respond To and it is crazy and so oh my God so I I did I caught one guy and he you know had wrote me like a paragraph and I'm like hey I'm sorry this is a joke like people are just joking around and I just I send people like the magic wand Emoji like here you go I hope you get it and he's like wait so this wasn't true grew and he like was
so disappointed I'm like I'm so sorry like I wish I I I would do it if I could but I I just can't so I have the funniest idea for the pin Comment on this video oh no go for it I mean my it's a wasteland my uh oh man my DMs are a wasteland so my wife had to come come up to my studio and be like if you don't stop laughing so loud you're about to wake up the baby oh yeah that's just literally just like shut shut up don't do that man don't
do that all right man thank you so much Chris I really appreciate your time thank make sure you tell us St uh Stephanie thank you as well super Valuable content make sure you go check him out at dirty Tesla on YouTube and X thank you man I'm the recording here and if you can hang around for a second