After I warned my wife about her toxic friends, one of them sent me a video of her kissing two guys claiming it was empowerment. Now she's begging me to take her back, but I'm warning their partners about them. I'm not here asking for help saving my marriage or any kind of relationship advice on how to fix things.
I'm not interested in that. I already know it's over. What I'm trying to figure out now is whether or not I should give a heads up to a few guys who are in the dark about what their partners have been doing.
So, I've been married for four years, together for six. It wasn't perfect, but I thought everything was honestly amazing between us. We had our bad days, but we also weren't cruel to each other.
We talked about starting a family in the next couple years. But all of that started to change about a year ago when my wife reconnected with two women she went to college with. One had just gotten divorced at the time, and the other had recently walked away from a long-term relationship and was posting online about her new era of self-love and freedom.
I didn't think much of it at first. Figured she could use a social circle outside of our shared friends and work. I didn't see it as a threat, but over time, things started to change.
Subtle at first. More girls nights, more clubbing, drinks during the week. She'd come home later and later, makeup smudged, sometimes tipsy enough to just collapse on the couch.
The stories got weirder. Stuff like the three of them mocking people in serious relationships or bragging about getting free drinks by flirting. Then the secrecy started.
She stopped posting photos when they were out, turned her location off on her phone, and rolled her eyes if I asked where they were going. I raised concerns at first gently, then a bit more direct. I told her the way they talked, the way they encouraged her to hide things from me was making me uncomfortable, that they didn't seem like the healthiest influence.
Her response was pretty much what you'd expect, that I was insecure, old-fashioned, controlling, that I didn't understand what freedom looked like. She said I was trying to police her friendships. So, I dropped it.
I backed off. I didn't want to be the overbearing partner. We still shared a bed.
We still had dinner. We still had amazing sx, but it felt different. It was more colder and forced.
I pretty much swept it under the rug mentally and left her to her own devices. I figured she'd get bored of the late nights and loud bars eventually, that maybe this was just a phase of some kind of delayed rebellion she needed to get out of her system. Then came the video.
Out of nowhere, one of her friends messaged me. Not a warning, no heads up, just a video and a sarcastic caption about how free women live. That was the tone like it was a joke.
In the video, my wife was at some club, clearly drunk with her friends hyping her up. She was sandwiched between two random guys, arms around both, laughing and taking turns kissing each one. There wasn't anything explicit in terms of sx, but it was enough.
Way more than enough. The camera pans to her friends cheering and filming it all. One of them even yells something about empowerment like it's some kind of feminist act.
I must have watched it 10 times before I processed what I was seeing. It didn't even feel real at first, like I was looking at someone I barely recognized. When I confronted her, she tried to deny it.
Claimed it was just dancing. Said the video didn't show everything. Then she admitted it.
Said it was a mistake. Blamed the alcohol. said she felt pressure to keep up with her friends and didn't want to seem like the prude.
Then came the emotional play. She was confused, overwhelmed. Said she felt suffocated in our marriage and like she hadn't been herself in a long time.
She said she never slept with anyone, that it was just a stupid drunk moment and she'd take it back if she could. But the damage was done, not even because of the physical act itself, but because of how she handled it. the way she doubled down, tried to spin it back on me, then only apologized when she realized I wasn't giving her the reaction she expected.
I wasn't screaming. I wasn't breaking things. I was calm, quiet, and completely done.
That scared her more than anything. I told her I couldn't do this anymore. That whatever this version of her was, I didn't want to be part of it.
She started crying, begged me to work through it, said she'd block them, go to therapy, change her number, whatever I wanted. But it was already dead for me. There was no coming back from watching the woman I married kiss strangers while her friends filmed it like it was a prank.
I left a few days later and got my own place. Haven't moved toward a divorce yet, but that's just paperwork at this point. Emotionally, it's over.
Now, here's where I'm conflicted. Her friends are both in relationships. One is engaged.
The other's living with her boyfriend. Based on what I've seen and what I've now heard from a couple of people who were there that night, this wasn't some isolated moment. These girls nights are not what they're telling their partners they are.
And that video wasn't sent to me out of guilt. It was essentially sent to mock me, like a way of saying, "Look what we can do, and you can't stop it. " Part of me wants to forward that video to the other guys.
Not to be petty or vengeful, but because I'd want someone to tell me. If it wasn't for that message, I would have had no clue what was going on. And I'm sure they don't either.
But I also know how this can look like I'm trying to blow up lives because mine just fell apart. Like I'm dragging others down with me. So I'm stuck.
I don't care about my wife's excuses. I'm done with her. That's settled.
But do I have a responsibility to let these other guys know what kind of stuff is happening? Or is that overstepping? I haven't said anything to anyone yet besides one friend I trust, but I'm leaning toward doing it.
I'd rather deal with the fallout than stay silent and let someone else live in the dark like I was. Not sure what Reddit will say about this. Some people will call it revenge.
Others might call it fair. I don't care if I come off as bitter. I'm just tired of the lies.
Update one. I moved out the same weekend I saw the video. There wasn't any screaming or dramatic exit.
I packed a few bags while she was still sleeping, left my key on the kitchen table, and went to stay at a friend's place across town, who was kind enough to let me use their spare room for a bit. I didn't want to be in the same space with her, and I needed time to think without being pulled into more conversations that just went in circles. She didn't take it seriously at first.
She was texting and calling, thinking I was just blowing off steam. When she finally realized I wasn't answering, she came to my friend's place that evening, banging on the door, crying. I spoke to her outside for 5 minutes just to stop the scene, and it was more of the same.
That she messed up, that it was just kissing, that she was drunk and caught up in the moment. Said she thought I was blowing it out of proportion. When I didn't engage with that, she switched gears and said her friends pressured her into it, that she never even wanted to go out that night.
Everything but a straight apology. When I told her I was done and wanted separation, she looked at me like I'd grown a second head, said I was really going to throw away our marriage over one mistake, that's what she kept calling it, a mistake. But to me, the actual kiss wasn't even the worst part.
It was the leadup. The way she'd been acting for months, the mockery, the dismissiveness, the way she let people into her life who clearly had no respect for me or our relationship. And now somehow I was the unreasonable one for not just letting it slide.
By the next week, the spin had already started. She unfollowed me on social media and started posting cryptic stories. Nothing directly naming me, but you didn't need context to figure it out.
Vague quotes about controlling partners, feeling trapped, choosing yourself. Two of our mutuals unfollowed me within a day. I got a message from an old acquaintance we hadn't talked to in years asking if everything was okay and that they'd heard some stuff.
That was fast. Then I got a message from one of the other women's fiances. He said he'd heard I was spreading lies about them and wanted to know what was going on.
I hadn't reached out to anyone at that point, but I wasn't going to sit back and let them paint me out as some bitter ex causing drama. So, I sent him the same video I got. No commentary, no accusations, just the clip and the date it was sent to me.
He didn't reply for 3 days. Then all I got was thanks. I didn't hear from him again after that.
Meanwhile, my wife started showing up more. The first time she brought over my favorite food and a card. The second time it was a photo album from our wedding.
After that, it was a long letter left under my door about how she didn't recognize herself anymore and that her friends were a bad influence. She offered to go to therapy, cut them off completely, and even said she'd moved somewhere new with me to start fresh. She kept saying she felt like she'd been swept up in something and wanted me to come home.
I won't lie and say I felt nothing. I still love her, or at least I love the version of her I'd been with before all of this started. But every time I thought about giving her a chance, I remembered that video.
Not just the kiss, but the way her friends were laughing and cheering like it was some kind of victory. And the fact that they were the ones who sent it to me, not out of guilt or honesty, but out of spite, just to rub it in. What does that say about the environment she put herself in?
And what does it say about how she saw me? Even if she cut them off now, she still let it get to that point. And when I first called her out, her gut reaction wasn't regret.
It was denial, deflection, then finally scrambling once she realized I was actually leaving. That's not how someone who respects you acts. That's someone who's afraid of losing comfort, not someone who values you.
I told her I needed space and I meant it. She didn't take it well. She's been telling people I've changed, that I'm cold, that I'm overreacting and making a mess out of something that could have been fixed.
And maybe to them that's true, but I'm not going to stay married to someone who can't even admit how badly they messed up unless it's in the context of damage control. I still haven't sent the video to the last woman's partner, the one with kids. I'm on the fence.
I feel like he deserves to know, but I also don't want to blow up a family if I'm wrong about how far things went. The other guy didn't confirm anything, but I've seen enough to believe it wasn't an isolated incident. Right now, I'm focusing on getting my work sorted, trying to get my own place.
My friends been great about letting me crash here, but it's not permanent, and I don't want to overstay my welcome. My parents know bits and pieces, but I've kept the worst of it from them. They've been married almost 40 years and still believe everything can be fixed with enough talking.
I'm not interested in hearing about how everyone makes mistakes. I've read the comments on my first post. Some people think I'm just being vindictive by even considering warning the other partners.
Others say I'm doing the right thing. I don't know where the line is between looking out for someone and interfering in things that aren't my business. But I didn't ask for any of this.
I didn't go looking to expose anyone. The video landed in my lap. If they're going to smear me online and act like I'm the villain, then yeah, I'm going to speak up.
One thing I'm sure of now, I'm not going back to her. She can beg, cry, promise the world doesn't matter. I saw how little I meant to her in that moment.
I saw how much her friend's approval mattered more than my trust. There's no coming back from that. Update two.
After I sent the video to the fiance of one of the women, things got messy fast. At first, I didn't hear anything. Then I got a short message that just said, "Thanks.
" And I didn't know what that meant, whether he believed it, whether he was done with her, or if he was about to come after me. I left it alone. I'd done what I felt was right.
And if he chose to stay, that was on him, but it didn't stay quiet. A few days later, I started hearing from other people, mostly secondhand stuff, that there had been a breakup. Then another two of the three women's relationships ended.
I didn't ask how it went down and I didn't follow up, but it got back to me that at least one of them admitted to more than just kissing and dancing during those girls nights. Apparently, she'd been sneaking off for meetups with someone else and using the group as cover. That's when the story started shifting again, not just from them, but from others around me.
The third woman, the one who's a mother, stayed with her partner and didn't believe anything I said. I hadn't even contacted him directly, but somehow she spun it like I was obsessed with all of them. She told people I was targeting women, trying to control them, and making them unsafe.
I started hearing that word a lot, unsafe. The friend who sent me the video in the first place was now claiming I was harassing her. She went as far as saying I was putting her in danger, even though I hadn't responded to her since the day she sent it.
She made a post online painting herself as a victim, saying she was being stalked and punished by a bitter ex-husband of her friend. The irony was ridiculous. She literally sent me the video unsolicited, probably expecting to stir the pot and laugh at my reaction.
My ex-wife, I'm calling her that now, even though the paperwork isn't finalized yet, started getting involved again. She messaged me saying I needed to just stop, that she was getting threats in her inbox, that people had seen the video and were saying things at work. Then she dropped the bomb she lost her job.
Apparently, a coworker saw the clip. I still have no idea how. Maybe the fiance showed someone or one of the friends tried to use it for sympathy and it spread.
Either way, someone recognized her in the video kissing two different guys while clearly wasted and that was enough to start a conversation that ended in her being let go. She blamed me for it directly. Said I was the root of everything that had gone wrong in her life since that night.
I told her I didn't film it. I didn't post it. I didn't even send it to anyone besides the fiance who reached out to me.
The only reason I had that video was because her friend wanted to humiliate me. If they're upset it got around, maybe they should have thought twice about recording it and throwing it in my face in the first place. But the more this spread, the more people started backing off from me.
Some of my own friends said I was being vindictive. A few of them told me I should have just walked away and let karma do its thing. Even family started chiming in.
My sister told me I was obsessing and needed to let it go. My mom asked if I'd consider just forgiving her if she was willing to change. The part that really threw me off was how many people treated the whole thing like a minor mistake.
Like kissing random strangers while your partner is at home is just a blip in a marriage, not a reflection of your respect or lack of it. I don't care how drunk someone is or how pressured they feel to fit in with their friends. If that's the kind of decision you're making, you're not someone I can trust.
And I'm not going to pretend otherwise just to keep the peace. The isolation started creeping in. I'd wake up, check my phone, and see fewer messages than usual.
People weren't asking how I was doing anymore. They were trying to avoid getting caught in the middle. A couple of the friends who had been supportive at first went quiet completely.
One mutual friend of me and my ex even told me I needed to stop sabotaging her chance to make things right. That's what got to me. It wasn't just the cheating or the lies.
It was how quickly people decided the fallout was worse than the betrayal that speaking up or showing someone what they deserve to see made me the villain. My ex reached out again not long after, this time in person. She showed up at my place looking completely different from the last time I saw her, tired, pale, like the consequences had finally started catching up to her.
She told me everything had blown up. One of her friends blocked her after her boyfriend left her. Another friend was avoiding her calls.
She said she felt alone, like she'd been abandoned by everyone. I asked her what she expected. That they'd act like nothing happened.
That they'd go back to their lives with zero accountability. She told me this whole thing had spun out beyond what anyone wanted. That they were just trying to blow off steam.
That they didn't think they'd get caught. She said she was trying to belong and got swept up in it, that it was a phase, that she wanted to move forward and put it behind her. I told her I already had.
She asked if I regretted sending the video to the fiance. I said, "No, I didn't share it for revenge. I shared it because the guy had a right to know who he was with just like I did.
I wasn't going to let these women hide behind the girls just having fun excuse while throwing away relationships and lying to their partners. She told me again that she didn't sleep with anyone. I told her it didn't matter anymore.
She left crying. I didn't follow her. And for once, I didn't feel guilty.
I'd rather be alone than lied to ever again. Update three. I wasn't planning to write again until everything was finalized, but a few things have happened since the last update that I think are worth sharing.
I've kept mostly to myself since everything blew up, just focused on work and moving forward. But a mutual friend reached out asking if I'd come to a small gathering. Said it was nothing dramatic, just some people trying to talk things out face to face now that the dust had settled a bit.
At first, I wasn't going to go. I didn't really care what anyone had to say anymore, but curiosity got the better of me. And maybe part of me just wanted to hear it directly instead of getting third-hand updates from other people.
So, I showed up. The second I walked in and saw my wife and two of her friends there, I knew what it really was. No one else from the group showed up, just the ones involved.
The atmosphere was tense right away. No one smiled. No one really said hello.
The friend who hosted just gave a little nod and stepped back. It was basically a setup for a conversation I hadn't asked for. I didn't sit.
I just stood near the back wall and waited. One of her friends, the one who originally sent me the video, broke first. She got up, started saying she didn't expect any of this to happen and that she only sent the video out of spite because they were mad at me that night for trying to control my wife.
Then she admitted it was a stupid move and that she didn't think I'd actually leave. She kept repeating how she thought I'd fight for it or be more understanding. Said the whole thing spiraled way past anything they expected.
I didn't really have anything to say to that. My wife sat the whole time and just looked at the floor. She didn't try to interrupt and she didn't look defensive like she had during our last couple of interactions.
When it was her turn to talk, she said she'd cut them off after everything that happened. Claimed she hadn't spoken to either of them in over 2 weeks and that she'd started therapy to understand why she let things get that far. She kept saying she missed me, not in an emotional, tearary way, just quietly, like someone who was completely drained.
said she still loved me and that the last few weeks had been the worst of her life. She told me she wasn't asking to fix everything, but just wanted one chance, one conversation, one dinner, something. I didn't yell.
I didn't ask questions. I just told her straight I don't hate her. I don't wish her any harm, but I also don't trust her anymore and never will again.
That's not something time or therapy or one good conversation can undo. She started crying at that point. One of the friends left the room.
The other one said nothing at all the whole time. I stayed another 5 minutes, then left. Later that week, I heard through someone else that one of the women's partners had taken her back after she convinced him she'd changed.
Clean slate, she called it. Apparently, she's back to posting photos with him like nothing ever happened. I didn't reach out or say anything.
I didn't warn him again. If that's what he wants to believe, then fine. I've done what I could.
The third woman, the one who's been trying to flip the story online and say I'm a dangerous misogynist, has blocked me everywhere. She's been posting stories that I leaked revenge porn and tried to ruin her relationship. It's all nonsense, obviously, and I've saved everything in case it goes legal, but so far it's just internet noise.
People pick a side and stick to it, even when the facts are staring them in the face. It's exhausting. As for my ex, she's messaged me a few times.
Just simple things like asking if I've eaten or if I've talked to my mom lately. I don't respond. I'm not angry the way I was in the beginning.
I think I'm just tired of it all. She still doesn't get that this wasn't about one night or a video. It was the buildup.
The way she stopped respecting me. The way she kept crossing lines and expected me to be the one to bend. Some of my family still thinks I'm being cold.
They've known her for years and thinks she's trying. Maybe she is. But I also gave her plenty of chances before all this.
I raised concerns early on, was told I was insecure. I asked for boundaries, got mocked, and then when the truth came out, I was expected to be the bigger person again. I've played that role too many times now.
People keep asking what I want. Honestly, I just want it all to be quiet. I want to go to work, cook my meals, sleep in peace, and not have to keep explaining why I left a situation that was clearly broken.
That should be enough. I've also started unfollowing and muting anyone who keeps trying to drag this back up. That includes a couple of old mutual friends who keep sharing her healing journey posts and acting like I abandoned her in a time of need.
I didn't abandon anything. I left because I had to. At this point, I've accepted that there's no closure coming from anyone else.
Not her, not her friends, not even the other partners. People will believe what they want, and some will keep lying to themselves because it's easier than facing the truth about the people they chose. If there's anything I regret, it's not putting my foot down sooner.
I should have drawn a hard line the second she started mocking my concerns. I let things slide, told myself she'd come back around, and gave her the benefit of the doubt for way too long. That's on me.
But I won't do that again. Not for her, not for anyone. Final update.
It's been a while. The divorce is done. I signed the papers, handed over the keys, and walked out without looking back.
There wasn't some big dramatic final argument or a grand apology moment, just silence, her avoiding eye contact, and me giving her the one thing. She never gave me closure. I've sat on this for a bit before posting again.
A lot of people asked for an update, and a few told me to just let it go and move on. I get that, but I wanted to say how things actually played out in the end. A few weeks after the last confrontation where she and her friends tried to play peacekeeper, things quieted down.
The mutual friend who hosted that talk things out gathering texted me saying that I was harsh but fair and that the room felt different after I left. I didn't reply. There wasn't anything left to say.
Her friends, the same ones who helped drag our marriage into the ground and then turned around acting shocked when it collapsed, haven't contacted me since. My ex tried one more time in the form of a handwritten letter. No texts, no showing up, just a letter in my mailbox that I read while standing outside, keys in one hand, her handwriting shaking on the paper.
She didn't ask me to come back. No manipulation this time, just a rundown of everything she claimed to realize after the dust settled. She talked about how she got swept up in the excitement of feeling young again, how she started making decisions that had nothing to do with what she wanted, and everything to do with fitting into a lifestyle that didn't suit her.
She said she lost herself, that she never meant to hurt me, and that she hopes I can be happy someday. I didn't reply. I don't hate her.
I'm just done. That's the simplest way I can put it. There's nothing more to fix.
Nothing left that I want from her. Even if she were to get therapy, cut every toxic person out of her life, and rebuild from scratch, I still wouldn't take her back. Not because I'm angry, but because I know now how little I actually mattered when it came time for her to make a choice.
It wasn't about one kiss. It was about watching someone I trusted treat my boundaries like they were optional, and then act surprised when I wasn't willing to stay and pretend nothing happened. As for her friends, I know one of them is now single and blaming everyone but herself.
Another one apparently patched things up with her boyfriend. I didn't interfere. He saw the video.
He saw the screenshots. If he chooses to stay with her, that's his choice. I'm not the morality police.
I said my peace and I did what I felt was right at the time. If I could go back, I'd still warn them, but I'd do it quieter. No need to argue with people who've already decided what they want to believe.
You don't convince someone who's choosing to stay blind. A few people close to me, including family, asked if I regret putting the video out there. No, I don't.
I didn't record it. I didn't leak anything private. I just showed a few people the truth they weren't supposed to see.
I didn't do it out of revenge. I did it because I wish someone had done the same for me if the roles were reversed. That's the part that most people miss.
Not long ago, I ran into someone who used to be close to my ex and her circle. We talked briefly. She said something that stuck with me.
You scared them. You didn't do what they expected. You didn't fight, scream, or beg.
You just left. That's when I realized how rare that probably is. Most people get stuck trying to forgive the unforgivable just to keep the peace.
I'm glad I didn't. I started dating again slowly. No big plans, no rushing anything.
I don't even know if I'm looking for something serious yet. I go to the gym and I actually picked up my old guitar again. I didn't realize how much of myself I'd buried in that marriage until I got out of it.
There are moments where I still feel the weight of it all. Like when I'm cleaning up after dinner and think about how we used to plan vacations we never took or when a certain show pops up on Netflix and I remember us watching it together on the couch. But those moments pass.
They don't cut like they used to. And I'm not walking around bitter. I'm not some angry ex holding a grudge or trying to sabotage her life from afar.
I wish her well genuinely. I just don't want her in mine. I know now that love isn't just about forgiving people for hurting you.
It's also about knowing when to stop letting them. To the people who messaged me throughout this whole thing, both supportive and critical thanks. Some of your comments gave me perspective I didn't have.
Some challenged me in ways I needed, and a few just made me feel less alone.