wife pushed for an open marriage and now she's furious and going crazy cuz I am the one getting all the attention. I have been married for 6 years. We're both in our early 30s, no kids, decent careers, shared apartment.
For the most part, things have been steady. Not perfect, but manageable until recently. About 6 months ago, things started to shift.
She got really into self-help podcasts, journaling, growth work, therapy stuff I didn't mind at first. If anything, I encouraged it. But along with that came distance, not just physically, but emotionally, too.
She stopped checking in, stopped initiating anything, and when I brought it up, she'd say she was just working through things internally. I gave her space. I gave her patience.
I didn't pressure her. Maybe I should have. Then one night, out of nowhere, she sits me down and tells me she wants to open the marriage.
Says it's something she's been thinking about for a while. that monogamy has always felt unnatural to her, that she still loves me, but wants to explore connections with others to expand herself, and that we can both do the same. She said it wouldn't be about replacing what we have, just growing in different directions without limits.
I didn't want it. I told her straight up I wasn't comfortable with it, but it didn't feel like she was really offering me a choice. It was framed more like an evolved relationship model than a question.
And I'll be honest, at that point, I was tired. Tired of being the only one trying. Tired of feeling like everything was on me to fix or address.
So, I said fine. Not because I wanted it, but because I didn't care enough to keep arguing anymore. I was emotionally checked out already.
It felt like this was just the next thing to accept. I set some rules. I said no emotional entanglements, complete honesty, and safety.
And the most important one, we revisit this if one of us starts catching serious feelings elsewhere. She agreed. Of course, she was the first to dive in.
I think it was literally the same weekend. Two hookups backtoback. Came home beaming like she'd just discovered a new religion.
Told me about it in vague terms. Said it made her feel alive and free. I didn't know how to react.
I was numb. I didn't even bring up how messed up it felt. I just sat with it and swallowed the discomfort that was on me.
After that, she kept doing her thing. Meanwhile, I wasn't planning on seeing anyone, but figured if this is the new normal, I may as well stop sitting around like some placeholder. I didn't go on apps or chase anything hard.
I just started saying yes to more social things, being open to whatever happened. That's how I met Anne. She's a single mom, works at a small local business I frequent.
We struck up a conversation, met for coffee, and that turned into something more. It wasn't fireworks or some big emotional rebound. It was just simple and real.
She was kind. She listened. She didn't make me feel like I was trying too hard to be enough.
We see each other once or twice a week. It's not some secret relationship we're both aware of each other's situations. And even though we're not serious, she's probably the only person I've felt like myself around in months.
I told my wife about her. I wasn't trying to be petty. I just figured honesty still mattered.
At first, she didn't react much. Just kind of nodded and said she was glad I was exploring, too. But ever since then, she's been off.
Not angry, not cold, just weirdly quiet. Like she's watching everything now. I won't lie.
I don't feel bad about it. I didn't ask for this setup. I didn't want to play this game.
But if this is what she needed, fine. I'm not going to sit on the sidelines while she gets to feel new and validated. And I just keep playing the role of the supportive husband who waits at home.
I've been doing that for years. I'm not bitter. I'm just not blind anymore.
I'm not sure what she expected. Maybe she thought I'd fumble or back out. But now that I'm moving through it without her approval, she looks confused, like she never expected I'd actually benefit from the thing she designed for herself.
That's where we're at now. I don't know where this is headed. I don't know if I want this marriage anymore.
I haven't made any final decisions, but I know for a fact I'm not going to play the guilt card just because she's suddenly realizing this isn't all fun and games. If she thought she could change the rules and still control the outcome, she was wrong. I didn't start this, but I'm not going to roll over and let her dictate the pace now that it's not going her way.
I'm not mad. I'm just done pretending. She asked for this.
I just stopped holding the umbrella for her while she danced in the rain. Now it's my turn to walk forward without asking for her permission. Update one.
So I guess things got messier a lot faster than I expected. After I made the first post, I didn't expect much to change. Tiffany had made her bed and was clearly comfortable lying in it.
She was still seeing some guy she met on a nap, and at the time I had started seeing Anne here and there. Nothing serious, not intense. We'd go out to eat, hang out, talk, and it was just chill.
But what I didn't expect was how good that felt. Not just the attention, but the normaly. I didn't have to tiptoe around anything.
Didn't feel like I was stuck in a one-way emotional dead zone like I had with Tiffany for months and didn't pressure me or ask too many questions. She wasn't trying to get anything out of me. She just liked being around me.
And I actually felt like myself again. Meanwhile, Tiffany's hot girl Summer started crashing fast. The guy she was seeing ghosted her.
literally just stopped replying after one weekend. She acted like she didn't care, but she kept bringing it up randomly like, "It's just weird because we had such a good connection. " And I kept nodding, sipping my coffee, saying nothing.
Felt like I was watching karma happen in real time. Then I started seeing someone else briefly. Nothing deep, just someone I met through work.
A few drinks turned into a weekend thing. We both knew what it was. We didn't lie to each other or play games.
No messy aftermath, just mutual respect. And then we both moved on. Tiffany didn't even notice at first because she was still in this weird haze where she assumed I was still stuck on her.
But then she started getting quiet. Not cold weirdly quiet, like she was always watching me. She started asking little things like, "Are you seeing Anne again tonight?
" or "Did you tell her about our situation? " It wasn't like she cared about my safety or anything. It was like she wanted to measure how far away from her I drifted.
Then one night, I came home from dinner with Anne and Tiffany was just sitting on the couch, arms crossed. She asked if I could stop emotional cheating and just focus on our marriage. If I still wanted to fix it, I just looked at her and told her straight.
You were the one who said this wasn't enough for you. You wanted freedom. I just took mine, too.
She didn't like that. She got mad. She started listing off things I was doing wrong.
Apparently, texting Anne daily was disrespectful. going out to dinner with her was crossing lines. And continuing to see someone she didn't approve of made her feel unsafe.
I didn't yell. I just reminded her that she went out and had sex with someone else within the first weekend of this new arrangement. She didn't ask for permission.
She didn't even give me time to process. She just did it, then came home grinning like she discovered a new life hack. And now that her side of things isn't going well, I'm expected to what?
Put down what's working for me just to protect her ego? She tried flipping it again, saying she didn't realize how serious things could get if we both followed through with the open marriage idea. She thought it'd just be hookups, nothing more.
And honestly, I could have believed that if she hadn't spent the first month acting like I didn't even exist. When she was getting attention, she was untouchable, smiling, laughing, dressing up, walking around like she found her purpose again. Now that it's me getting the attention, suddenly it's about emotional loyalty and respect.
She told me she felt neglected. That one really made me pause because I spent the last year feeling like I was invisible. I tried.
I asked her what was wrong. I asked if we could talk. I asked if she wanted to go out, reconnect, do anything that didn't feel like roommates, trying not to bump into each other in the hallway.
Every single time she brushed me off. So now number I'm not going to put her feelings ahead of mine anymore. She didn't when I needed her, so I'm not doing it now that she's uncomfortable.
A couple days later, she told me she wanted to go back to being monogamous. Just like that, as if flipping the switch would undo everything. She said she realized how much she missed me and how maybe she wasn't ready for all this.
I told her that was fine, but I wasn't rushing back into anything just because things didn't go her way. I told her I wasn't interested in pretending nothing happened, especially since she only brought up monogamy the second her options dried up. She didn't like that either.
She got quiet again, then started talking to our mutual friends. I started getting texts from one of them he was being polite, but it was clear he had questions. Apparently, Tiffany told him I was being cruel and not giving her a chance to fix things.
I wasn't surprised. She's good at painting herself as the one who tried. What she didn't mention, of course, was how she'd already rewritten the rules of our marriage and was only now backpedaling because I wasn't sitting in the corner waiting for her.
I didn't argue. I just showed him the texts, the ones from her laying out the new arrangement, how excited she was, how she told me this would grow us, how she reassured me it would be no strings attached and equal freedom. All I did was send them, no commentary, no drama.
He didn't text back after that. I don't feel smug. I'm not trying to win anything.
I'm not out here flexing or acting like I beat her at her own game. I'm just not lying down and pretending this didn't happen. I played by her rules.
She just didn't expect me to get good at the game. So, now we're in this weird limbo. Still living together, still technically married, but not really partners.
She walks around like she's waiting for something for me to come back to the table and fix everything for her. But I'm not rushing anything. Not this time.
I didn't choose to break this. I just stopped pretending everything was okay. We'll see what happens next.
But I'm not the one who's lost. Not anymore. Update two.
Tiffany's reaction over the last two weeks has been unreal, like a full-blown personality shift, but not in a good way. She went from distant and smug about her little dating adventures to suddenly overbearing and weirdly clingy. I could see her trying to reclaim control, and it wasn't subtle.
She was trying to act like nothing had changed between us, while also hinting that we should slow things down with the open marriage, even though she was the one who bulldozed it through when I didn't even want it in the first place. She canceled two of her own dates back to back and started doing things like cooking my favorite meals and setting up movie nights. The effort might have meant something if we weren't already this far gone.
It just came off as panicked damage control. I didn't reject her outright. I didn't want to be cruel, but I also wasn't playing along.
I kept it cordial and kept my distance emotionally and physically. I had no interest in trying to fix something that only started mattering to her when she stopped getting what she wanted from it. Then she crossed the line.
I was out one night, nothing crazy, just a coffee run with Anne and we ended up sitting in the car for a while just talking. When I got home, Tiffany was waiting up. She didn't ask where I was or who I was with.
She just hit me with a cold, "How long have you been laughing behind my back? " Apparently, while I was out, she'd gone into my laptop and found a group chat between me and two of my buddies. It wasn't malicious.
We weren't roasting her or anything, but yeah, I vented. I shared how ridiculous it was that she wanted an open marriage and is now acting like I'm the villain because I didn't fail at it. One of my friends made a joke about her liberation backfiring, and I said something like, "She's finding out the market isn't what she thought it was.
" She went off full meltdown screaming about respect, betrayal, how I humiliated her. She demanded I delete all my dating apps, block an apologized to her face. I just stood there, let her finish, and asked her if she remembered why we were even in this mess.
I reminded her that she was the one who set this up, who pushed this path like it was some kind of higher relationship enlightenment. She made the rules. Now she hates that I didn't lose.
She stormed out after that, took a bag, and said she was staying with a friend. I didn't chase her. I didn't even text her.
I figured some space might help her see how deep this all really went, but nope. A few days later, I start getting texts from her brother. He's clearly heard a very filtered version of events, and he's calling me manipulative, saying I emotionally abandoned Tiffany and am playing mind games with her.
I told him to stay out of it and sent him screenshots from early on when she laid out the whole open marriage pitch like it was the most empowering thing ever. Never heard back from him. Then came the online drama.
Tiffany made this vague pity bait post on social media. Stuff about how consent can be violated emotionally, too, and how some men punish women with silence and coldness when they feel threatened by a woman's freedom. She never named me, but it wasn't hard for anyone mutual to put the pieces together.
I ignored it at first, but then a couple people messaged me saying they were disappointed in me, assuming her version was the truth. So, I made my own post. Straightforward, nothing petty.
I laid out the full timeline. I didn't insult her or attack her character. I just showed the receipts, the initial pitch, the terms we agreed on, how she hooked up with two different guys before I even went on a single date.
I made it clear I didn't want this in the first place. I didn't need to twist anything. The truth spoke loud enough.
People saw it. Her post disappeared within the hour. She came back the next day.
Quiet, no drama. I asked if she was back for good or just grabbing more stuff. She said she didn't know yet.
Then she started hovering around trying to talk. I kept things civil but short. I didn't want to rehash anything again.
She sat me down that night and asked if I still loved her. I told her I didn't know and I meant it. It's not even about anger anymore.
It's the emptiness. I spent years loving her, compromising for her, trying to be the man she could feel safe with. But somewhere along the way, she stopped valuing that.
She wanted excitement, freedom, validation from outside. And now that I'm not falling apart without her, it feels like she doesn't know what to do with herself. She keeps trying to initiate intimacy, but it's awkward.
Like she's performing. I'm not stupid. I see it for what it is.
She wants to reestablish emotional dominance. She wants me to need her again so she doesn't have to feel like she lost something, but I'm not playing that game. I'm not rude.
I'm not spiteful, but I'm not falling back in line just because she regrets the consequences. She doesn't like this version of me. The one that doesn't chase, doesn't fold, the one who doesn't make excuses for her anymore.
And honestly, I like this version of me better, too. I haven't made any final decisions yet, but if she thinks we're just going to pretend none of this happened and pick up where we left off, she's kidding herself. I'm still seeing an still talking to her.
Still feeling good when I'm around her. It's easy. There's no drama, no passive aggression, just peace.
And the longer I experience that, the harder it is to even think about rebuilding anything with Tiffany. I think she knows that, too, which is probably why she's starting to panic. Update three.
I moved out. It wasn't some big dramatic exit. I didn't storm out or pack bags in a rage.
I just quietly started staying at a friend's guest house while I figured out what I wanted next. I left a note, not because I was being soft, but because I wanted clarity. I wasn't running away.
I just didn't want to keep sitting in the middle of a crumbling relationship pretending it wasn't already over. Tiffany begged me to stay. literally cried the morning she realized I wasn't coming back that night.
She blew up my phone. Text after text. Then she switched tactics.
Suddenly, she was sorry. She was working on herself. She was in therapy now, apparently.
She said she realized she made a mistake with the open marriage idea and she wanted to fix things that we could get back to who we were. I didn't respond right away. I read every word she sent and yeah, it hit a few nerves, but I didn't move out on a whim.
I moved out because it was too late. And I think she finally realized I wasn't bluffing because her tone changed completely. She tried every angle.
The nostalgic route sending me old photos from our honeymoon. Texts about the early days when we were broke but happy. The guilt trip route saying I gave up too fast even though I stuck around longer than I should have.
the pity card telling me she wasn't in the right headsp space when she asked for an open marriage and that I should have stopped her because deep down she never wanted it. But the thing is, I did say I wasn't comfortable with it. I did hesitate.
She just didn't listen because back then she didn't care. She wanted freedom. She wanted to feel wanted by someone new to chase that buzz again.
And I gave her what she asked for. The problem wasn't that I walked away. The problem was that I walked away when she thought she still had time.
Anne was still around and honestly, she made things easier. Not because I was looking for a rebound or a replacement, but because she just let things be. No games, no layered expectations.
She never pushed for anything and didn't ask for more than I could give. She wasn't trying to fix me or play therapist. She just showed up consistently and made me feel human again.
I never told her everything, but she got the picture. and she never made me feel like I was wrong for choosing myself after years of putting someone else first. Tiffany didn't like that.
She didn't say it outright, but it was obvious. Her messages started getting more passive aggressive. She hinted that I was moving on too fast.
She said it wasn't fair that she was still hurting while I was playing house with someone new. She tried to paint it like I had emotionally checked out before she ever brought up the open marriage, like I was just waiting for an excuse to leave. I ignored all of it.
I didn't feel the need to defend myself anymore. I stopped explaining my choices the minute I realized she never gave me that courtesy when she made hers. Eventually, we sat down and talked face to face.
I agreed to meet her at a park near our old place. Neutral ground, no audience. She looked tired like she hadn't been sleeping well.
She opened with, "I've been thinking about us a lot. " And I let her talk. I didn't interrupt.
She said she missed me, that she missed us, that maybe things got messy, but we could rebuild, go to counseling, start fresh, that all couples hit rough patches, and this was just hours. I sat there listening to her talk about rebuilding something that didn't exist anymore. And when she was done, I said calmly, "I'm not angry.
I'm just done. " She went quiet. It wasn't the response she expected.
Maybe she thought I'd fight with her. Maybe she thought if she said the right combination of things, I'd cave. But I didn't.
I told her I wasn't trying to punish her. I wasn't trying to win. I just didn't want to keep holding on to something that already died.
I said I wasn't interested in going back to something I didn't trust anymore. And I wasn't going to set myself on fire again just to warm her up now that the spark was gone. We started talking about legal separation after that.
She was stunned by how cold I was being. But honestly, I wasn't cold. I was just clear.
For the first time in years, I wasn't second-guessing my instincts. The apartment's in my name, so I told her I'd be keeping it. She said that was unfair, but I didn't argue.
I just repeated what was already true. She packed the rest of her things a week later. There was no screaming match, no dramatic sendoff, just silence, broken by a few awkward logistics.
I didn't feel relief or revenge. I just felt done. She still sends the occasional text, small things asking if I got certain mail or if I remembered the name of a restaurant we once liked.
I respond when it makes sense, but never emotionally. And each time I see her trying to claw back into the comfort zone she once took for granted. I won't be giving her that.
Not again. Ann's still around. We're not calling it a relationship.
Not yet. But we're good. She comes over sometimes, brings dinner, watches old movies with me on the couch.
It's nothing flashy, but it's real, and that's all I'm chasing now. This whole thing was never about revenge or proving a point. Tiffany asked for freedom.
I just didn't expect I'd be the one who actually found it. And yeah, it stings when I think about how long I stuck around, hoping she'd come back to me before I realized she never planned to. But I don't miss her.
I miss the idea of what we could have been if she didn't throw it away. Now I'm just focused on what I won't allow again. What I won't ignore, what I won't apologize for.
I'm not playing the same game anymore. That version of me, he's gone. The moment she changed the rules, I learned how to stop asking for permission to walk away.
Final update. It's been 6 months since the last time I saw Tiffany. Everything's finalized.
We're divorced. It's official on paper, but honestly, it was over long before that. The day she asked for the open marriage was the day the relationship ended.
It just took both of us a while to admit it. I'm not writing this because I want sympathy or to be congratulated or anything. I'm just closing it out for anyone who's been following because weirdly enough, sharing it all here helped me keep my head straight.
People don't always get what it's like to go through this kind of situation where your entire marriage just flips upside down and you're left acting like you're cool with something that deep down you hate. I'm glad I'm not in that space anymore. So, yeah, the divorce went through.
No drama, no screaming, no long dragged out fights. Tiffany tried a couple times to steer it back in the other direction, but once I moved out, I stopped letting her twist it around. We split assets.
I kept the apartment. It was in my name. She didn't put up a fight about it.
I think she thought I'd be the one struggling without her. She was wrong. We had one final conversation in person when she came by to get the rest of her stuff.
That was the last time we spoke. It wasn't hostile, just weird, cold. She looked like she didn't recognize me.
And maybe that's fair. I'm not the guy who used to bend over backwards trying to keep her happy anymore. She told me she never thought it would actually end like this, that I'd go all the way.
She thought I'd give it time and eventually cave. She thought I'd miss her enough to undo it all, but I didn't. There's no hate.
I'm not angry, but I'm not sad either. I feel like I'm finally living in reality again. For years, I was stuck in this loop of constantly proving I was worth loving to someone who acted like she was settling for me.
And when she brought up the open marriage thing, I should have just walked away right then. But I didn't. I stayed and tried to make it work because I thought I owed it to the years we'd already spent together.
I was wrong. Tiffany moved out of state a couple weeks after everything was finalized. She said it was to start fresh.
Honestly, I think she just couldn't handle staying in the same city and watching me move on when she expected me to be stuck. It's whatever. We haven't spoken since that last conversation, and I have no reason to reach out.
I don't keep tabs on her, and I don't really care to know how she's doing. As for me, I'm still seeing Anne. Things are steady.
We're not rushing into anything. She's been patient and understanding, and she never made me feel like I had to prove anything. Being with her is different.
She doesn't come with conditions. I don't feel like I'm walking on eggshells or constantly worried about what I'm not doing right. It's not perfect.
Nothing ever is. But it's real. And I trust her.
That's enough for now. I don't look back and regret trying to fix my marriage. I don't regret giving Tiffany space or agreeing to something I didn't fully want at the time.
That version of me was doing what he thought was right. But I also don't regret walking away when it was clear she never planned on meeting me halfway. She wanted a new experience, a new life, a new set of rules.
But she expected me to stay the same, to stay loyal, to stay small. I didn't. People talk a lot about open marriages and freedom and modern relationships.
And look, I'm not against any of it. If it works for you, great. But what I've learned is this.
You can't build a new structure on a cracked foundation. And you can't give someone exactly what they asked for and then be made out as the villain when it stops serving them. Tiffany didn't expect me to thrive without her.
That's not my fault. She played a game she thought she'd win. She lost.
I'm not sitting here acting like I'm the good guy. I stayed too long. I ignored red flags.
I went along with something I didn't believe in just to avoid conflict. But I stopped doing that. I stopped letting guilt and obligation control me.
I drew the line. and when she crossed it, I walked away. That's not cruelty, that's self-respect.
So yeah, this is the last update. I'm not bitter, but I'm not pretending it ended on good terms either. Some endings aren't dramatic or explosive.
They're just quiet and final. That's how this one was. Thanks to everyone who followed along and called it like it was.
Reddit helped me keep my eyes open during a time when it would have been easier to convince myself I was overreacting or being petty. I don't think I'm a victim or a hero. I just stopped letting someone else decide how much of myself I was allowed to keep.
Tiffany wanted freedom. She got it. So did I.