right now is the best time in history to grow on social media the opportunity is insane I have never seen anything like this and I know this because content is all I do all day long I've made hundreds of videos billions of views I even Grew From Zer to 50,000 Subs in my first two months on this channel so if you feel like you're playing the content game on hard mode and you want it to be easier these are six things you have to change immediately and if you do I guarantee you will grow so
much faster now the first one is your approach and your mindset and I start here because if your mindset isn't right nothing else really matters but listen I'm not going to talk about the high level woo woo in the cloud stuff because you've heard all that that's not what you really want what you really want is the answer so I'm going to give you the exact mindset cheat code that I wish someone gave me when I was starting out here it is if you're struggling with content you either have a self-belief issue or a skills
issue and I'll solve both for you right now if self-belief is the thing that's holding you back like you have impostor syndrome or you feel like you're not interesting enough or whatever the negative selft talk you have in your head here's the truth you're probably right we're all imposters until we become the thing we want to become that's what an impostor is it's someone who's pretending to be something they're not so the easiest way to get over those negative thoughts or conquer that impostor syndrome is to just say okay I am an impostor so now
what and then now what is taking the first step to make that untrue to become the person you want to become interesting to become capable to become great at whatever it is the thing you want to be great at and so how do you take that first step well in this case with social media the first step is to get great at making videos and all that is is reps and skills and so the question isn't how do I get over my impostor syndrome because you are an impostor the question really is do I have
the skills today to make great content and if you're a beginner of course you don't have the skills because you haven't had enough reps doing the thing so how could you have the skills already the reason you feel like an imposter is because you don't yet have the skills to be the person you're pretending to be so you need to accept that stop pretending and Focus all your mental energy on getting the Reps to build the skills to become the person you want to become this is the answer this will solve all your mindset problems
and things will get so much easier mentally when you just accept that this is true and so now my job my only job with this channel is to make it easier for you to take better reps and learn those content skills faster that's all I'm doing here and so if you've been struggling mentally and haven't been able to get over the hurdle because of mindset hopefully that will help you now for the rest of this video I'm going to give you five more tactical content cheat codes that will make it easier to take better reps
and build those skills faster okay cheat code number two is that you need to learn how to drisk your effort let me explain when you're starting out making videos you really have no clue what good or bad looks like and so you're essentially sitting down making everything up pulling a slot machine and hoping for the best this is what I call a risky rep you have a super low probability of hitting a winner and even if you hit one you probably wouldn't know why so you wouldn't be able to extract the winning formula to apply
to the next rep taking this risky rep approach over and over and over will make you feel like you're wasting your time you spend 20 hours no idea what to do fail 20 more hours fail 20 more hours fail and it's really hard to learn and improve when nothing is working what you really want to be able to do is sit down and when you spend time making a video have the highest confidence that that will produce a winner and you want winners because it's easy to win again when you've won originally cuz you can
study the winners so what you need to feel like you're losing your time wisely is the highest probability chance that when you sit down you'll produce a winner I call this going viral at will now there's a way to do this it's a cheat code that will give you a much higher hit rate what you want to do is break down each piece in the video creation process and try to find a validated approach that has already worked either for you or for someone else in your Niche like you when it comes to a video
you have the following pieces the idea the hook the script writing or storytelling the recording the editing and the visual package those are the six components so to drisk each component and give you the best probability chance that you'll succeed you need to find previous vergs of success for each component and use them as an influence when you're making your video for example finding ideas that have worked in your Niche before will probably have a higher hit rate than just pulling an idea out of your head with zero validation it's the same thing for hooks
it's the same thing for thumbnails if you were to Just Wing each part which is what I used to do and what most of you are probably doing you're multiplying a super low probability of success across each factor which makes it nearly impossible to create a winner it really is like a lottery ticket if you approach content like this again you want winners and you want winners on command because when you have a winner you can extract Wyatt one and apply that winning formula again so the Tactical cheat code is that you need to find
other creators or businesses or channels in your Niche or in your format and rigorously study what they do how they do it and why it's working for them this isn't copying it's learning and adapting every coach in every space would tell you to do this if the spread offense started working in football the next season 10 other coaches are going to be trying it if a hedge fund tries a brand new strategy and gets 40% Returns the next year a bunch of new hedge funds pop up trying the same thing even on YouTube this is
why tools like one of 10 spotter Studio view stats this is why they exist they're trying to help you find Winners in your space so that you can der risk your effort because when you drisk each rep you have a higher hit rate a faster win rate and it feels like time is being well spent social media will then feel easier to you and you have a higher chance that you'll keep going this is the truth that nobody will tell you you should be spending as much time researching extracting and studying as you do creating
for yourself if you aren't you're putting a lot more executional risk and pressure that your ideas are Amazing Ideas which if you're a beginner is probably not the case and I know this sounds harsh but I'm trying to tell you what I wish somebody told me while I was spending months after months after months banging my head against the wall wondering why my original ideas were not working and they weren't working because I was pulling a slot machine with a super risky rep every single time the key is to drisk your effort by the way
I mentioned this earlier but the reason I built wavy World which is a completely free community for creators and entrepreneurs is because I'm trying to help everyone learn from everyone else there's an invite link below in the description if you're serious about making content I'd recommend joining it's completely free all right chod number three is the power of 1% better and incremental Improvement when you're first starting out you were going to suck at everything all six of those categories I just mentioned you're going to be terrible at all of them but it's hard to eat
an elephant in one sitting it's so hard to improve at everything at the same time the best mental framework for getting better at content and improving those skills is to pick one thing at a time and get 1% better from rep to rep for example when I started making videos I didn't like my Graphics my energy on camera my audio or the look of the video in the background all those things I hated so the first thing I targeted was the graphics so I just ignored everything else knowing the other categories would be bad still
and just focused on trying to make the graphics better that meant I had to go on YouTube and watch premere Pro tutorials and ask other creators that were better than me how they did stuff but I really grinded on trying to make the graphics better for each of the attributes I tried to increase the graphics alone while the other one stayed low whatever I could do I was just laser focused on the graphics and after a couple videos slightly improving the graphics I got to a point where I felt like I had maxed out on
what I was capable of for the graphics so then I'm moved to the audio but the graphics ability stayed where it was then I started working on the audio and slowly inching it up the beauty is after a few weeks all of the categories start to come up together and all of a sudden you've established a brand new Baseline if you make a 100 videos but you don't actually improve anything from one to the other you'll be in the same spot at 100 that you were at one it's critical that you have incremental Improvement every
single rep now slight improvements from rep to rep isn't an Innovative concept this is obvious but the helpful tip is to just just focus on one aspect one category of things until that is as good as you can make it then move to the next one don't keep bouncing around from video to video focus on one cluster and get that good first and the beauty of this is that 1% better is kind of an arbitrary number cuz at the beginning when everything is bad maybe one day's Improvement is really five or 10% better and then
when you get really good maybe that slight incremental Improvement is only .01% better 1% is not the thing the thing is that you're focusing on getting slightly better every time and here's one more tactical tip that really helped me when I tried to implement the 1% better strategy I found it really hard to get everything done and ship a video every day on time cuz let's say normally it took me like 3 hours to make a video and that was everything end to end as fast as I could go well when I tried to add
something new that I had never done before I had to learn how to do it try to figure it out fail a bunch of times and then still make the full video so it was taking way more than 3 hours and I was eating up all my time with the new thing and wasn't getting the video shipped I'd get super frustated so the strategy I came up with was what I call Pomodoro plus now Pomodoro Timer is a famous 25-minute productivity timer that many gurus talk about the way I used it was that I would
set a 25-minute pomodora timer just for the new thing so before I made the video I knew I had 3 hours to get that rep done I would spend 25 minutes just testing the new thing when that timer hit if that new thing wasn't done I would abandon move on ship the rep and come back to it the next day that way I time boxed my new learning and still ship the rep every day the most important thing is that you feel like you're making progress in shipping a rep and so you don't want to
abandon shipping while you spend a week perfecting this new skill that's really hard to learn instead time box the new learning and if you don't finish it the next day when you get to your time box you'll finish it then that's the strategy I used to kind of time control so I made sure I was continuing to ship while learning new things all right CH code number four is that psychology always wins making content gets way easier when you just accept the fact that everything works in line with base human psychology this means if you
can understand how humans tend to behave and prefer to think you can engineer your content to work accordingly this has been one of the reasons why my videos have worked so well I'm just genuinely super interested in Psychology it's like a game to me for example a base psychology concept is that everyone does everything based on incentives if you want someone to save your video give them an incentive with information targeted at solving a core problem but then deliver it in a way that's super fast and hard for them to cons consume in one sitting
they will save it for later and you will get them to save it now I'm not saying that's the best strategy but if you're working backwards from the optimal outcome saves this is how you would do it now the magic really comes when you can combine base human psychology with the most important desired outcome for example on Youtube average view duration is a critical metric that drives most of the retention and growth on the platform and avd is basically how long viewers watch your videos for the longer the better if you want people to watch
for longer you need to string them along by hooking them and burying important information towards the middle and end of the video if you know this then you can use their own psychology against them by teeing up the importance of the thing that will solve their paino and then giving breadcrumbs throughout leading to the major outcome at the end this is an example of how you can use psychology and the preferred outcome together and this is what all the big creators are doing you just may not know it they're all essentially Master psychologist running experiments
at scale via content now if I get enough comments about the psychology stuff I'll make another video breaking down all of the little Advanced things that I do that make my videos perform so well the lesson here though at a higher level for you to take away right now is that you always want to think in psychology first principles when you're writing the hooks scripts and packages for your videos first ask yourself what would my core viewer want most what is their incentive and then work backwards from there you can reverse engineer the demand benefit
Loop and that will unlock a lot more attention and a lot more clicks now fortunately I only use my psychology tricks for for good I'm trying to help people learn but if you know these tricks it can actually help you avoid evil actors that are trying to use them against you I'm telling you the entire world will be at your fingertips if you can just understand how to apply base psychology okay chod number five is a big one it's the solve for overthinking so many talented people underachieve because they fall into these overthinking spirals this
happened to me for a long time when you're overthinking you output less when you output less there's less iterative learning this slows down your speed of growth and you don't want that you want to be on easy not hard mode overthinking is hard mode now when I was reflecting the reason I was overthinking really mapped to two things this is probably the same for you it's either because you're not sure if your strategy is right or you're worried about what other people will think on the strategy Point there's a big lesson here most people will
do the work when they're sure the outcome will come as a result of their effort but they are hesitant to do it when they don't know if that reward will come this uncertainty the fear of wasted effort is what holds people back this is hard mode the way to get over this is to realize that even if you take the wrong strategic step if your effort is drisk you will at least add a learning to the skill stack and so the results may not come from that particular rep but at least your competency and your
skills got better this helped me get over the uncertainty and wasted effort problem so I stopped overthinking I just started doing I watched my skills increase regardless of if I was walking in the right direction or not the beauty of strategy is that most of the best ones can actually be set in like 5 to 10 minutes you don't actually have to overthink on the strategy most people that are overthinking it's really just procrastination because they're lazy and don't want to do the work and when you realize this you can untether and just run straight
at it Chris Williamson and Alex horos say it best the magic you're looking for is in the work you're avoiding and so if you're overthinking because of strategy this is probably why it turns out that the dopamine receptors release the same chemical when you talk about doing the thing and when you do the thing and so there's a lot of people that think they're doing something but are surprised when they're not making progress because all they do is talk and think about strategy don't be one of these people this will solve most of your over
thinking problems and if the rest of your overthinking problems are worried about what other people are think know this it is so hard to get people to pay attention when you want to and so the fact that someone will stumble upon your stuff when you don't want them to see it they won't so that should solve that problem as well you shouldn't be worried about overthinking at all hopefully this Frame helps you get past that all right Cho number six is to start with the end in mind to avoid the dead audience trap now the
dead audience trap is the biggest mistake I personally made in my first 2 years of doing social media essentially this is when you have a Channel of a significant amount of followers or subscribers but they either aren't concentrated around a specific audience Persona or they aren't aligned with the product or service you want to sell I call this having poor content audience product fit let's break this down if you're making content you're really doing it for one of four reasons the first reason I call the artist you genuinely just like the art of making videos
and you're really never concerned with making a dollar from it if this is you this advice is not applying to you congrats You've Won you won the game you won life you can move on bucket two we'll call Media it's you want to build a media business this is where you make videos about a topic and then you make money from Brand deals Affiliates and AdSense bucket three we'll call products you're pretty sure you want to make money from selling products or services this is where you make videos about a topic but the goal is
to drive a bunch of people down to a funnel to convert on those products or services and if you make any money on the media stuff on the brand deals it's just a bonus you're not really trying to do it bucket four will call The Wanderers this is you're not really sure what type of business you want to build you just want to start learning how to make content you think you're going to start with media and sell brand deals and things like that and you eventually want to evolve to products and services but you
aren't sure what they're going to be so those are the four main archetypes of people making content now I'm going to tell you which ones typically Fall Into the Dead audience trap can you guess for bucket one again artist you've won the game see you later for bucket two and three if you're pretty disciplined and you know that that's the end business you want to be you're not going to fall into that trap either because you are starting with the end in mind starting with the end in mind is picking the monetization route you want
to go and working backwards and the reason this is important is because when you know how you want to monetize you can be super precise with your audience match and your content audience product fit I've made a bunch of videos in the past talking about audience matching but is probably the most important topic in social media I will link that here the tighter that audience match the more Precision you will have around your buyer Persona the easier it will be to turn attention into dollars so we're not talking about bucket One artists we're not talking
about product or media who we talking about bucket four Wanderers this is where the dead audience trap comes from and this was me when I started I didn't have a product or service I didn't know what that was going to be I didn't want to wait to start until I had that because I didn't want to build something that I knew people didn't want so I wanted to start building an audience and then I said I'll sell brand deals on the way up and I'll figure out what products and services they want and pivot to
that that's what I said that's what a lot of people say and this is super common and it makes logical sense but what happened to me is what happens to so many and that's that social media goes from easy mode on the brand deal side into hard mode what do I make in the products and services the audience I ended up building was great for media monetization 30 to 50K a month but was not applicable to convert to the products and services route that I wanted to go to give more context on me I ended
up building a big audience around Tech and AI news but if you really test the only products or Services I could build for that Tech and AI news audience was more Tech and AI news I could do a YouTube I could do a newsletter I could even do a premium media subscription but I was kind of forced and stuck into that news Lane I didn't leave myself a ton of optionality on the products and services side which is where I wanted to go that's where the real money is and this is a perfect example of
the Dead audience trap it's not that my tech news audience is not valuable of course it is it's not that it's non- monetizable of course it is it's just I cannot now extend into products and services easily for that audience and the reason I bring this up is because why I felt such hard mode is that this created the Creator's dilemma it's the innovator's Dilemma for the Creator either I could stick with my Tech media audience and just do media forever I could abandon my tech media audience and restart from scratch or I could try
to do both which would be twice the effort and spread myself half as thin on each initiative I went to try to do both but it's been a be and super hard to do that the reason I share this as a cheat code is because if you can start with the end in mind and you know how you want to monetize the audience it will make it so much easier for you to decide what formats topics and routes to go now I left this one at the end because this is a little bit more of
an advanced tip if you're just starting out and you don't want to deal with the monetization don't worry just start building on the media route and you'll find this out in a couple years but I just want to say for those who are on their way this was a big mistake that I made that created the easy to Hard Mode transition that I'm just now unwinding all right that's all I've got for this video these chodes were kind of a mix of mindset strategic positioning as well as Frameworks if you found these helpful make sure
to leave a like and comment down below so I know what I should cover in my next video and guys really there is so much free stuff down in the description below I'm giving away all of my best stuff for free wavy World content Department make sure to subscribe to those things if you want to get better at video all right we'll see you guys on the next one peace