my ex kicked me out mid- road trip now demands I drive two states to return a watch he stashed in my bag to test me original post so yeah like the title says we were both remote workers and decided that we could van life and see things while still working we lasted about a month and last week he flipped out over the way I sipped my coffee and told me I had to leave I thought he meant like we would pack up and figure out how to get me home no he meant I needed to
get out with all my in the middle of a state park in New Mexico and figure it out I was scared and pissed so I hurridly packed everything and got out a very nice older couple had heard the screaming and saw me with a pile of my stuff and asked if I needed help I said yes and they said they would drive me to Albuquerque in their RV and we could figure out what would happen next well it turns out they are the sweetest people ever and we eventually came to the conclusion it would be
easier for me to travel with them home to Kansas and now they've allowed me to stay paying them insanely Fair rent food Etc I just have to edit the wife's book and help the husband with his guitar playing well it turns out in the hurry of packing I grabbed my ex's watch that was his dad's I got in touch with him and told him I was sorry it was truly an accident and I had no intention of keeping it how would he like me to get it to him he said I needed to meet him
in Utah I said that was ridiculous I could send it to him he said that it was too valuable to trust to male or FedEx and needed to be hand relieved I said I was in Kansas and not coming to Utah but I would return the watch to his brother when I go home in March he said no the only solution was for me to drive it to him I said I didn't even have a car he said you're probably half of Lawrence use one of theirs at that point I blocked him the watch is
pretty valuable and has a lot of sentimental value and I will return it it was my oversight that I have it in the first place what are my obligations to follow his instructions to get the watch back to him edit wow this blew up for the people asking it is a lower-end Rolex watch it still has all the original box and even receipt when his dad bought it but it was well worn so he's never been sure how much it's worth I guess a few hundred maybe a thousand so I'm not sure I'm not going
to keep it or destroy it since it's not mine in any way top comments comment one you gave reasonable options let's say he files a police report that you stole it you have proof that you contacted him and asked where you could send it he declined comment to dude sounds like a psychopath do not under any circumstances willingly meet up with him in person ever again don't let him know where you live this of douchery is a sign of something being very off and you don't want to be there again when he short circuits again
you were extremely lucky to have found the people you did who knows where you'd be if that had not happened update so I posted exactly a week ago link below but the short story was I was Van living with my ex-boyfriend he kicked me out after a tempered tantrum and I caught a ride with some awesome people I discovered I had an ex's dad's watch that had lots of sentimental value I told him asked where I should send it he demanded i' drive from Kansas to to Utah and return it even though I don't have
a car well so lots of mixed advice but most people said the best option was to contact his brother before I did that I decided to unblock my ex just to give him one more chance to give me an address where I could ship the watch actual text conversation me hey I'm sorry I blocked you I just didn't appreciate the insults but I want to get her dad's watch back can you let me know where to send it I'll pay for shipping no problem like less than 30 seconds later him I stashed the watch in
your bag because I wanted to prove to myself what an awful person you are and do a good job at proving me right again I was like wow so many people in the original said that he probably put the watch in my stuff as I was packing in order to force communication and force the opportunity to see him again well you were exactly correct I didn't even respond to his text and blocked him again I have no intention of keeping the watch so I decided now it was time to contact his brother who along with
his wife has always been very nice to me he was super appreciative and we spent a couple days going back and forth figuring out the shipping but the watch arrived to him on Friday and all is good he even venmoed me $1,000 for being so honest contacting him Etc I make really good money so I told him it wasn't necessary at all but he insisted so we agreed to donated to a food pantry here in Lawrence but I'm still so creeped out thinking about the day when he kicked me out of the van and he
was screaming at me calling me all sorts of names and he was planning to stay in touch with me he was slamming all my stuff into bags but that was cover for him hiding the watch the fact that it was so deliberate yet he thought of it so quickly is so scary to me we got along so well before we left and he always seemed like such a great guy I don't know if the confined space of the van is too much for any couple or if it brought out a side of him I didn't
know was there makes me sad and scared at the same time but relieved it's over relevant comments comment one he he framed you to prove to himself that you were awful he he's dumb enough to fall for his own frame job I really truly can't wrap my head around how stupid he must be comment too what I don't get is his logic that this would prove op is a bad person how the was she supposed to know about the watch when you kicked her ass out in a state she didn't know about it until after
she got to safety possibly thousands of miles away like you thought she was just going to be running back to you that dude comment three I think in his batshit crazy mind she was bad to not instantly head to Utah to return it he's clearly insane now to the next story story too the sun's behavior is starting to creep me out but I'm not sure if it's actually inappropriate or just a cultural difference original post hey there using a throwaway just in case so I'm from the US and recently moved to Italy to be a
nanny I feel this is important because so far I have not been able to tell if I'm struggling with a cultural difference here in Italy or if I actually have reason to be weirded out it is easy to tell that the sun Dario is in middle school as he is already several inches taller than me and his mom and has maybe 30 PB on me when I first got here some of the stuff that freaked me out a little I could handle and I chocked it up to being an Italy thing this includes stuff like
talking almost exclusively in a baby voice when addressing his parents calling his parents mommy and daddy fighting physically with his little sister over who gets to sit on Mom and Dad's lap multiple times throughout the day fighting with the sister over who gets to sleep with the parents getting extremely upset when mom or dad leaves for the day and whining about not getting enough kisses or time laying in bed kissing with Mom and having his parents blow on chewed food in his mouth because it's too hot now I really don't want to be critical of
this if it's normal here you know but in the US I seriously can't imagine a single seventh grade boy engaging in any of these behaviors so it's really new to me and really it hadn't affected me so I just let it be the problem is though that now I'm starting to get involved and it's making me really uncomfortable for example our rooms have adjacent Windows which allows the kids to see into my entire room at all times to me this is pretty inappropriate what am I supposed to do when I need to change clothes but
I also don't want to seem like I am sexualizing children or accusing them of anything so I just politely asked for curtains and took to changing in the bathroom after weeks without curtains the family finally promised me that someone was coming to put them up well he only put them in the kids room ever since then I find Dario peeping through the curtains at me multiple times a day now I'm sure he is just checking on me or curious about what I'm up to but it makes me so uncomfortable I didn't want to tell the
family though because I'm afraid they would think I was accusing their baby of like trying to spy on me changing so I just took matters into my own hands and hung a blanket up over my window another issue has been when we stay at the kids grandparents house there's a room for the parents with a bed for one child and a room for me with a bed for one child I figured we would split up boys and girls and I would stay with the daughter but nighttime rolls around and Dario is crawling into the bed
next to mine I was so uncomfortable I could hardly sleep I have talked to my friends at home about this and they all think it's really we weird because we aren't related and he's a teenager now but this is of course an American opinion so I can't tell for sure if we're imposing our ideas on this family again if this is really a cultural thing though I don't know how to tell the family that where I'm from it's kind of inappropriate for a boy so old to be sleeping next to me especially when he's been
spying on me lately without causing issues of course these behaviors affect other aspects of our life as well as it is hard to get Dario to do anything because he usually claims it's too hard to do making a better 13 too hard are you kidding and I often find myself wanting to tell him to grow up what I need help with is knowing whether he does need to grow up or if all this behavior is normal here and I'm the crazy American that needs to adjust is this Behavior normal for a 12-year-old or is it
immature I feel like the parents still really see him as a young child and usually he acts like it but for the most part it seems like he plays up the baby act because he knows it makes his parents cater to him more if this all is abnormal does anyone have any suggestions about how to bring this up to the family edit just want to clarify that at the grandparents house there are two beds and they are next to each other Dario was not in my bed but in the bed next to mine TL R
I am a nanny for a boy 13m whose Behavior makes me uncomfortable I'm not sure if he is actually being inappropriate or if there is just a large cultural difference between my home country and this country relevant comments the freaky it's normal behavior for a spoiled 13-year-old of course most adolescents would want to peek at you through the curtains the problem is the parents they have to stop that right now don't you have authority as a nanny to scold him I'm Spanish we have a very similar culture to Italy and that is inappropriate the parents
are educating a horrible child that will grow up to be an that thinks the world should cater to him oop oh my goodness the relief I am feeling right now to know that this isn't normal so far I have not particularly felt like I have much Authority because the times I would scold him the parents are sitting right there and how can I reprimand him in front of his own parents I didn't include this in the post but he is already showing major signs of being an he's always so rude critical and ungrateful every meal
I make he has something to insult about it he treats his little sister like even though she is a doll and often acts more mature than him and he loves ordering me around and telling me what I'm doing wrong it drives me up the wall B 186 we've established this kid's behavior is weird but w TF at the parents responding to your request for privacy SL curtains by giving them to the child oop I have no clue they've been really weird about some stuff like this is TMI but the mom knew I was on my
period because I had to ask her where to buy tampons here and we got to the house and there's no trash can in the bathroom or in my room I asked for one multiple times and she said she would get one and never did and when I asked last she said well the kids have a trash can in their room if you need it like WTF are you not an adult woman do you not understand how this works do the parents discipline the kids I asked about discipline when I interviewed and they said they don't
really have to discipline the kids I should have taken it as a warning sign honestly the mom is very strict about some stuff so they're very good in certain areas that she deems important etiquette cleanliness but when Dario picks on the daughter they just let the kids yell and scream and cry until I step in they also seem to encourage many of Dario's rude comments because technically he does word them politely for example I will bust my ass making a meal for the whole family to be kind and helpful it is not in my job
description and Dario will eat four plates of it and then say I'm sorry but why would you cook this like that and I'll say that's how we cook it in the US and he'll say well I didn't like it the Italian way is much better and then put his plate on mine for me to take it to the kitchen and leave no thanks for cooking no but I did like this part just insult clean my plate bye he loves to criticize is the child autistic I thought about the autism and initially but I'm fairly certain
it isn't that because when his parents are gone the baby act completely turns off and he acts like any other teenager albeit manipulative and critical I have ever known and I have worked in child care in the classroom and as a coach for years now update hi all I'm back yesh how long has it been three four months later with an update long story short I quit here's the long version for those interested the curtain issue like I said in my last post I had just hung a blanket for privacy and since then and there
have been no peeping issues I asked two more times for curtains and was reassured both times that the curtain man would come to hang them in my room he did come back once and hung more curtains in the kids's room but again not in mine then I was told that they didn't like him and would be finding another curtain guy to hang my curtains it's been 4 months no more mention of it I still use the blanket the vacation issue I have simply refused to go on vacation with them I'm off on weekends and I've
reached a point where I just refuse to be home for the entire weekend and manag not to see them from Friday night until Monday morning if I can help it I go on weekend trips crash on couches sneak into my room when they're eating things like that just to avoid seeing anyone on my days off the Dario issue Dario still acts extremely immaturely I've warmed up to him a lot and I figured out how to cut his rudess and such he's become a lot more positive and kind especially because his mom has been gone a
lot and he's with me every day I'm very upbeat and have worked really hard to get him to socialize and speak kindly unfortunately he seems to have almost regressed in terms of his childish behavior he still sits on laps kisses a lot and sleeps with a parent when the other is gone the baby talk is constant constant for example he loves to repeat back butchered syllables of words if that makes sense like his dad will say pasam and cucho pass me a spoon and he will clap and exclaim IO or voy Del Aqua do you
want water and he'll go quaqua he also has started eating kind of like a baby too like he'll take the remaining tomato sauce that we used on pasta and use the giant spoon to drink it out of the pot and get it all over his face and then suck on each of his fingers but when I look at his parents they're looking at him like when you see a cute baby trying to use a fork and getting food on his face but he's 13 so it's honestly sickening to watch and listen to he won't lock
the door when he goes to the bathroom or showers why I started locking the door when I was like seven and he even cried the other day when his sister sat on the foot of his bed he doesn't like things touching his bed and guess what the parents got mad at the daughter said it was her fault for baiting him she just had to tie her shoe for a second and declared that it's her fault Dario will be upset all night he also hasn't made any progress with friends and has taken to playing League of
Legends so he won't leave his room or do any activities or lessons with me or the sister it's pretty sad honestly basically the hardest part of this whole thing has been the mother I won't even go into it here but she's honestly clinically insane and I feel so bad for all the people in this house that have to put up with her she's just a power hungry jealous bitter woman who needs to see a professional basically I went home for Christmas to be with my friends and family and realized how bad this experience was for
my health I was going out drinking almost every night to escape the house I was sleeping horribly because I knew she was here and her presence gave me awful anxiety I was getting yelled at every day even when I did nothing wrong I was at home in the states and the thought of going back made me absolutely miserable so when I came back I told them I need needed to go back early for medical reasons not totally untrue and now I'm set to leave the last week of March they found a new girl look out
for her post here sometime in the future T Dario is still acting like a baby the mom is still crazy and I quit homies get me out of here thank you for watching if you haven't subscribed yet please do so and hit the notification Bell to stay updated with more shocking real life stories happening around you