I was going to wait for the penguin to finish before giving a review of the season but every night I stream I'm asked if I'm watching it and what my thoughts are and I decided you know what time to just throw the meat on the table I'll let you have a little peek into my Noggin here with my perspective on the penguin I think it's the best show of the year I think it absolutely slaps I watch it every Sunday right when it drops and I am scratching at my neck before I get my fix
I am loving the show there's only a couple episodes left and I'm pretty confident that they're not going to Fumble it now that I say that I've probably put some evil out there in the world and it's going to absolutely suck major [ __ ] in the last couple episodes but if that happens I'll look like a real fool I'll look like an absolute clown but I really think that it's going to stick the landing I said it I hey let the cards fall where they may now I think the show has just been such
a surprise I didn't have high hopes for it I it wasn't even on my radar until I saw Colin frell talking about how miserable it was to get in a costume for the Penguin and then I started watching it and I was hooked right away Colin frell is the Penguin if he doesn't win an award for this performance then the whole system is truly [ __ ] rigged I think he has done such a great job this is the only character in any Series this year that has actually made me audibly giggle like he walks
the perfect line of being like really comedic at times and super serious at times and even when he's being comedic it's being serious it's not like he's going up there with like a stand routine like hey what's the deal with salt shakers or something he is just so naturally entertaining in this role I couldn't help but laugh at some of the [ __ ] that he was saying in the most tense situations I absolutely love him in this role and it's a damn shame that I don't think he will ever come back as the penguin
because the way he describes the makeup process makes it sound like a [ __ ] saw trap but damn what a great season we're getting out of him for it like the star that burns brightest Burns Out quickest I guess this [ __ ] is extraordinary the writing on the show I think is so good I went into this expecting some kind of like normal superhero cape [ __ ] type thing where it wasn't really going to be all that serious and it was going to be pretty generic it's so far from that this is
not a superhero show at all yes it's set in the Batman Universe but this is much more of like a mafia crime Style Show it's all about the penguin conniving scrapping from the bottom to get to the top doing anything necessary lying to people manipulating people killing people and making a friend along the way that he kind of corrupts to his side and becomes like the father figure of his name is Victor Victor is a great character like Colin frell is by far the best part of the show but it's not like he's putting the
show on his back it's not like it's entirely on his shoulders for this show being good everyone around him is really good too like Victor like Sophia Falcone Sophia Falcone is extremely good too Oz got her with the classic schmeckel dorf where in order to go from just a driver in the Falcone family he may have snitched on Sophia and embellished a couple of details about her to Carmine which had her locked up in Arkham for a decade where she was tortured and just broken and now she's out and she's looking for Revenge she's looking
for power and she is so good I just think the entire world they're building here really has brought Gotham even more life to see like the underbelly of Gotham to see the drug trade to see all the crime families to like it's I I I can't glaze it enough to be honest there's not enough come in my sack to glaze it like it's so surprisingly good cuz I went in with no expectations and I've been blown away I really hope that I'm not proven wrong about it sticking the landing cuz it has set up so
many great pieces that I feel like it's a [ __ ] layup at this point every episode keeps one uping itself like I think it is only getting better there hasn't really been a moment where I was like oh it's it's starting to fall off a little bit oo there's some cracks here it hasn't it's been so [ __ ] tight this [ __ ] is tighter than my busy and it is staying that way it is not floundering it's not going in weird directions the only thing that I was a little skeptical of was
the most recent episode had a pretty significant time Jump I'm not talking like years or anything this isn't going to be like the Post Time skip Arc for for the penguin like he's not going to come out here with a devil fruit power or anything but it starts with him well the episode prior ends with him having the start of something a little bit of something and then this episode picks up with him now having a lot of something and a lot more of things without getting into spoilers and he kind of fills you in
with how they got there but the show just been like a like a grind like you're seeing him grind and now all of a sudden a lot of time passes and I guess things just were kind of smooth sailing so that was a little abrupt but it's not a big deal like it's not even a complaint because I like where it goes right after that it immediately picks up with the most intense it's ever been now with oh I don't want to get into spoilers but it's it's getting even more extreme I just really think
that they've done a great job with having the main character be the bad guy you know he's a villain you know he's evil but you can't help but root for him sometimes this is a guy that started from the bottom he was dealt a terrible hand in life you see his mother is struggling with an illness that's taking away her mind it's literally rotting her and Oswald's doing everything he can to provide for her to keep her safe to keep her alive and he talks he gives these speeches to like the crime families about what
he fights for it's you know the elite in Gotham are doing so much corrupt shady [ __ ] like at one point they are literally stealing the power from Crownpoint to power their [ __ ] mansions and City Hall and [ __ ] so the people in Crownpoint are are suffering they have no heat they have no food no water nothing so like yes Oswald is definitely a bad guy like the murder big thumbs down like you you don't really like murder but I mean how do you not like at least understand how a character
gets to this point that's the sign of good writing where you can kind of see where the villain is coming from now of course he's not a good guy he's no [ __ ] Saint or anything nobody in the show is I hate to keep comparing everything to Warhammer but it's very much like Warhammer 40K where everything's just Grim dark like there are no Heroes it's only villains and only them doing things that are sensible albeit morally wrong like Oswald obviously wants power but with the power comes him wanting to help his mother help the
people around him and kind of like uplift like the ones that matter to him to a certain degree Sophia Falone her whole family just [ __ ] threw her to the Wolves to be tortured in Arkham knowing full well she did nothing wrong and like you can see where these characters are coming from they're not good guys but they're not like cartoonishly evil mustach twirling villains and I can always appreciate that cuz that is a hard thing to do and the show just does it so well now I don't want anyone to go into this
show under the wrong impression this is not like a high octane action show you're not going to be getting a ton of scenes with like heavy chugging power cords while guns are blaring titties flopping and blood spraying it's not that kind of show there is action in it you know gunfights that happen from time to time but that's probably the smallest part of it it's much it's not a slow show by no means this show a slow burn at all really in fact things move along a lot and it stays very tense it's just not
really an action oriented show and when there is action there it's good but it's nothing like crazy it's nothing you haven't seen before it's normal firefights you not don't expect the penguin to be doing like John Wick Maneuvers cuz he's not going to be doing that he's going to sit there like a [ __ ] turret just blasting everyone fearlessly and he does it really well and there is some moments of like some gore that happens like a character getting shot in the neck and then pissing blood out of it and all of that but
it's not the focal point of the show the show is really at its best when you're watching Oswald Cobb get into a very sticky situation with a ton of his lies that are starting to collapse around him and them starting to figure out oh this guy's a [ __ ] weasel and we'll we'd be better off killing him and they have him in what appears to be a Checkmate position and you have to wonder how the [ __ ] is Oz going to get out of this and somehow he's been finding ways that don't feel
like just ass Poes or anything they feel so logical the way he's able to use people is incredible like it's all very sensible like nothing feels unearned or like you have to suspend disbelief it all feels like oh like he's making a good point I can see why they wouldn't just put a bullet between his eyes like I can see why people would get into bed with Oz after what he was just saying and it keeps him alive and he keeps slowly but surely gaining power gaining favor getting a lot under his belt as he's
working in the shadows doing the dirty work it's just so good I really do think the penguin is the best show on TV right now for me it's my favorite show of the year so far I really hope I don't look like an absolute [ __ ] buffoon when the season finale airs in a couple weeks and it's trash that would be awful that would truly be a shame but for now love the show I do highly recommend it I think it slaps that's about it see y