language learning is an awful hobby that no one should engage in it's a waste of time and it'll suck the life and soul out of you the whole process is a nightmare first you have to pick a language which is one of the worst Parts there are just too many shiny juicy languages to choose from it's like bro why is the world so effing big and why is everything so freaking interesting should you learn Mexican because it's useful German because it's super easy some smaller relevant language like Albanian cuz you're quirky or Japanese because you're
a body pillow collecting weeaboo and once you've picked a language now you can spend weeks trying to choose which dialect to learn because for some reason people can't all just speak the same okay so now you have your target language and assuming you can resist the urge to cheat on it with other languages how on Earth are you supposed to study maybe try to read it but you can't read it a lot of languages are cringe and use non-standard alien alphabets that will frighten you and cause you to lose sleep other languages are written in
the normal American alphabet but they freaking change the way the letters sound and sometimes they don't even pronounce half of them you need need advice time to go to YouTube but you're quickly overwhelmed by how many different polylock gurus there are trying to sell you things should you listen to this guy or this girl or this guy or this girl and why are they all saying completely different things what the is a comprehensible input and where do I get one time to start studying but what will you use to study good luck finding resources you
like that can actually keep you engaged should you download the murderous green chicken app the be app the owl app the deer app or should you wait for the dolphin app why are they all animals maybe just try to find a language exchange partner yippee now you have hundreds of thirsty men in your DMs who want to date you instead of helping you with their language and if you want a serious exchange partner hopefully you're learning a language with more than 20 million speakers because if there are less than that good luck finding anyone and
any resources for that matter maybe hire a tutor instead but that's too expensive get some flashcards but physical flash cards remind you of middle school when you were depressed it's 2023 do it virtually download anky is it pronounced anky or anky I'm losing my mind enroll in a language class but you'll be the only person who actually cares in the class and your peers will make fun of you for trying textbooks suck anyway be lazy watch movies and TV in the language but should you turn on subtitles and what language should the subtitles be in
so maybe try journaling but handwriting is so 2005 journaling is boring listen to a podcast crap they speak too fast and it sounds like gibberish PE yets maybe you just need some good oldfashioned full immersion go to a country where the language is spoken but plane tickets are expensive and you're poor also you have a job or you're in school so you can't just do that and if you do make it to a foreign country everyone will immediately switch to American with you and they smell your accent so once you found your learning method congrats
go use it but don't forget about grammar should you focus on grammar or learn it over time focus on grammar or learn it over time stress out about cases conjugations prepositions and gender why is a car a woman in French but non-binary in German and if you get over all these mental hurdles get ready to grind and grind gr and then grind and then grind some more language learning takes forever so hopefully you can keep that initial motivation Flash Forward a few months and you've learned a bunch now you have a false sense of confidence
that will be shattered when you first make a mistake with a native speaker and they call you out on it hello is language are you stupid it's not cling on to that one embarrass ing moment until the day you die and have performance anxiety for the rest of your studies up until you reach fluency but what is fluency and can you even reach it no one knows no one can agree on a definition instead look into the official number and letter system that will make you feel bad about yourself and cause you to constantly compare
yourself with others and don't forget about the dreaded intermediate Plateau you'll never get off it and if you try you'll never make it out alive watch videos of polyglots bragging about their skills on YouTube get sad about how much better they are than you with much less effort record yourself speaking the language and realize that you have a thick accent that you'll probably never be able to get rid of and God forbid if you ever decide to learn multiple languages can you imagine how hard it'll be to maintain them all you'll mix them all up
you should probably just quit I mean why even study languages artificial intelligence will soon replace any remaining use we have for learning them recently I took a break from YouTube and I had the pleasure of attending the polylock conference in Budapest and then traveling around Poland and the trip was very restorative I spent several days with some of the best and most accomplished polyglots on the planet and I gained many insights that made me remember the true nature of language learning so let's run this video back AI is not going to replace our beloved hobby
remember the coolest part of all of this is true human connection so don't quit this is a hobby for everyone and I'm glad that you're a part of it you too can become a hyper polylock gigachad if you want to learn one two or 68 languages at once do it who's to say you can't and your accent is an awesome unique and adorable personality trait don't stress out about sounding native remember that a lot of YouTube polyglots have rehearsed what they're saying Andor they're reading from a teleprompter just view them as entertainment or inspiration intermediate
Plateau my left cheek just keep having fun and you'll Blast Off it soon enough who cares about the cringe number and letter system it's a useless scop that will only make you feel bad about yourself and cause you to compare yourself to others and stop woring in about fluency as long as you're enjoying the process I promise you'll reach your goals but remember it's not a race everyone makes mistakes in language learning but mistakes are necessary to make progress They're laughing with you not at you it's not embarrassing it's cute people love when you learn
their language so be confident in yourself gender prepositions conjugations and cases are cringe and scary like the boogeyman but it feels great when you finally get the hang of them stick with it and I promise it will come natur naturally go plan that dream trip to a country where your target language is spoken the locals will love your effort and they'll give you gifts and do back flips to show their appreciation and if you can't afford travel you live in the internet age there's still so much you can do with the language and homeboy use
whichever method works for you and allows you to have fun and stay motivated every method can be effective and everyone is different even all the greatest polyglots learn in different ways if you want to read open your eyes if you want to listen to podcasts open your ears if you want to use flashcards do do it just remember that it's pronounced anky if you want to use luod dingo use luod dingo but stay safe you like Rosetta Stone use Rosetta Stone just make sure you're enjoying it and combine the knowledge of all the great polyglots
and create your own study routine none of this should be intimidating alphabets are easy and fun it just takes time and unless you have eye issues like me you'll learn them quickly and finally learn whichever language you want no matter how hard easy useless or impractical it may be as long as it's not espiranto no one said it was going to be easy but it's sure as hell fun and no one should be afraid to start language learning has changed my life for the better and it can change yours too I have merch now merch
Tango mucho [Music] merch mercha in