[Music] hello English Learners welcome back to English pod my name is Marco and I'm Erica and today we're going to be looking at English slang and informal words used in the 1980s so this is the next part of our decades dialogues exactly so the 1980s maybe for many of our listeners is a little bit more familiar and there are a lot of phrases and a lot of words that were born in this decade and we still use them today so we're going to learn those words and phrases in this dialogue but before we start we
need to preview a couple of words so let's go now to vocabulary preview vocabulary preview so one of the words that we're going to hear in our dialogue is ride is that your ride is that your ride so a ride normally we know this word as a verb right right to ride a bicycle in this context it's an informal way of referring to your car so a ride is a car yeah so I just bought a new ride all right well maybe you'll take me for a ride in your new ride in your new ride
yeah all right and we all we're also going to be looking at this word loaded he's loaded so if you are loaded you're really rich you really you have a lot of money you are loaded with money mhm so loaded and ride those are two words for vocabulary preview and well let's listen to our our 1980s dialogue and see what happen Jim what's up man Charlie is that your ride it's butt ugly dude don't be an airhead this is a 1969 Chevy Impala I just need to fix it up a bit in a couple of
months this baby is going to be Wicked not even check it out now that's a fresh ride too bad the driver is a major dweeb anyway can have a car like that if their daddy's loaded like his he's coming this way be cool hey guys what do you think of my automobile isn't it bad to the bone word the ladies are going to be lining up to get with you when they see you driving around in that car you really think so for sure awesome psyche you totally fell for it you're a real scumbag Charlie
when I do the nasty with the prom queen we'll see who has the last laugh dude don't have a cow all right so typical high school students of the decade right definitely very very 80s very 80s and well of course you always have the situation with the cool kids and maybe the the kids that are not so cool and well they're making fun of him right yeah but they use some really cool words so let's look at them now in language takeaway language takeaway all right so the first word that we saw in language takeaway
and was really interesting this word butt ugly it's butt ugly that car is butt ugly so when something is butt ugly it's really ugly right it's very ugly it's not just ugly it's very ugly mhm and what would butt is like from your your bottom from your bottom yeah yeah so he said the car was but ugly and the other guy answered by saying hey don't be an airhead an airhead don't be an airhead so an airhead is someone with air in their head in their head so they're not very smart they've got no brains
they've got no brains right so he said don't be an airhead don't be such an idiot mhm all right now for the third word he described his car as being Wicked it's wicked wicked that's wicked it's going to be Wicked okay so this is a very 8s way of saying it's going to be cool y it's going to be awesome it's going to be Wicked all right and now when they saw another car pulling up a new car he described it as a fresh ride it's a fresh ride now we understand that ride is a
car right so a fresh ride it's another way of saying cool okay so kind of similar Wicked and fresh yeah now finally at the end of our dialogue they said you're a real scumbag Charlie so this word scumbag is interesting you're a scumbag a scumbag yeah it's interesting and it's still used today I would say yep so when someone is a scumbag they're just really not a nice person yeah they're not nice or they're not maybe to a certain point honest they're not kind exactly you're a scumbag mhm okay but it's not a very harsh
word right it's not harsh to say call somebody a scumbag well it's not like a swear word but it's certainly not a nice thing to say to someone okay exactly all right so let's listen to all these adjectives that we've just looked at right now again in our dialogue and then we'll come back and look at some more phrases Jim what's up man Charlie is that your ride it's butt ugly dude don't be an airhead this is a 1969 Chevy Impala I just need to fix it up a bit in a couple of months this
baby's going to be Wicked not even check it out now that's a fresh ride too bad the driver is a major dweeb anyone can have a car like that if their daddy's loaded like his he's coming this way be cool hey guys what do you think of my automobile isn't it bad to the bone word the ladies are going to be lining up to get with you when they see you driving around in that car you really think so for sure awesome psych you totally fell for it you are a real scumbag Charlie when I
do the nasty with the prom queen we'll see who has the last laugh dude don't have a cow okay well you know what Marco I love the80s I love the language of the'80s I love the music of the80s and I'm really uh loving these phrases from the80s so why don't we look at them now in uh fluency Builder fluency Builder all right so on fluency Builder today let's take a look at these phrases that you were talking about and the first one is very interesting so these two guys that were making fun of this other
person that was in this nice car and he called him a major dweeb a major dweeb he's a major dweeb what a major dweeb now let's break this into two parts first um well let's see what dweeb means well a dweeb is a very uncool person okay so kind of similar to a nerd yeah a small kind of guy with no power okay he's a dweeb now this word major it just means big really serious so it's a way of emphasizing right yeah and you can say anything you can have a major anything like ah
I've got a major headache or I can say I have a major problem this week mhm okay so major a very big problem yep now they're talking about this really cool car and the the guy who is a bit of a dweeb he said isn't it Bad To The Bone Bad to the Bone it's bad to the bone all right now this is also part of a famous song Bad To The Bone but what does it mean well when something is Bad to the Bone it's super cool it's like it's so dangerous that it's cool
exactly it's very very cool it's bad to the bone now this is not used anymore no no no don't walk out of your house and use this this phrase tomorrow all right so but it's interesting to know because there is a famous song that has this phrase in it so bad to the bone all right so the car was so cool it was bad to the bone that all of the ladies would be wanting to get with the driver all right so somebody wants to get with you he just wants to get with you so
if you want to get with someone you have you want to have sex with them right so if you want to get with someone basically it means that you want to have sex with him but there's another phrase that was used in the dialogue that means pretty much the same thing yeah to do the nasty to do the nasty they're doing the nasty okay now this was a very popular way of saying it in the 80s it means to have sex as well yeah but it but this one is a little bit rude isn't it
yeah I think it's a little bit more direct if you and your friends are talking you say hey I think that girl wants to get with you it's a little bit more casual and less obvious yeah yes do the nasty is a little bit more a little more rude yeah a little bit more direct yep and now the last phrase that we're going to look at today was made famous by the cartoons The Simpsons mhm and it's don't have a cow don't have a cow man don't have a cow so to not have a cow
don't have a cow means uh to get really angry to uh to freak out to get upset all right so now we know that you say don't have a cow but can I say it and use it in the positive can I say hey my boss totally had a cow today in the office yeah and it means again so it freaked out got angry made a big deal of something okay he had a cow yeah so Frank's going to have a cow when he finds out I smashed his car of course Frank is going to
have a cow how can you smash his car all right but now it's time for us to listen to this dialogue for the last time and then we'll come back and talk a little bit more about this decade of the 1980s Jim what's up man Charlie is that your ride it's butt ugly dude don't be an airhead this is a 1969 Chevy Impala I just need to fix it up a bit in a couple of months this baby is going to be Wicked not even check it out now that's a fresh ride well too bad
the driver was a major dweeb anyone can have a car like that if their daddy's loaded like his he's coming this way be cool hey guys what do you think of my automobile isn't it bad to the bone word the ladies are going to be lining up to get with you when they see you driving around in that car you really think so for sure awesome pych you totally fell for it you're a real scumbag Charlie when I do the nasty with the prom queen we'll see who has the last laugh dude don't have a
cow okay so Marco when I was listening to the dialogue this time I heard a really cool word um they said psych right now this was a very popular thing during the80s when you would say to somebody psych so this is like saying just kidding right just kidding right so you would say oh Eric I really like your hat oh thank you psych that hat is terrible oh right so that's how you would use it you would give somebody a compliment or you would lie to somebody and then tell them psych and then like tell
them the truth like oh that hat is terrible or I was just kidding okay so psych what a great phrase it was very very popular and when I was in school we would use it as well we would psych each other out so do we still use this phrase today I don't think we use it today I don't think it's cool anymore well if You' use it it's kind of like you're joking right yeah and I think it would make people laugh like you know that's pretty funny yeah you're joking about how you're a little
bit oldfashioned exactly I'm very sure you would surprise a lot of your native english- speaking friends if you use this phrase a good one to try out now if you have any questions about this phrase or any other of the language come to our website at englishpod doccom right we're there to answer all your questions and also let us know any other lessons or topics that you would like to learn about in the future well thanks for listening to this lesson you guys and until next time goodbye bye [Music] the English pod audio review listen
to the meaning then say the vocabulary word a silly or stupid person Airhead information 411 nerd loser dwee relax chill out take a chill pill very good Wicked a male who plays a lot of sports jock to be romantic with to get with leave a place quickly jet Rich loaded leave me alone go away I don't care bite me a car ride very ugly but man dude new cool fresh completely cool bad to the bones just kidding I was joking psych get angry have a a cow let's try that faster leave a place quickly jet
very ugly but very good Wicked new cool fresh a silly or stupid person airhead a male who plays a lot of sports jock completely cool bad to the bones nerd loser dweeb a car ride just kidding I was joking psych man dude to be romantic with to get with leave me alone go away I don't care bite me Rich loaded relax chill out take a chill pill information 411 get angry have a cow now say the word and hear it in a sentence airhead I did a girl in college and she was a real Airhead
she thought Europe was a country Airhead Bob is a real airhead all I can talk about is girls parties and drinking Airhead can you believe that Nick called me an airhead he's such a jerk Wicked my brother is an amazing hockey player he has a wicked slapshot Wicked I just saw the new Terminator movie and it's wicked wicked there is a comedian that does a wicked imitation of the president it's so funny dweeb my classmates in high school thought I was a dweeb because I liked math dweeb stop being a dweeb let's go out tonight
you can study tomorrow dweeb Catherine has a new boyfriend and from what I hear he's a real dweeb loaded I wish I would like Bill Gates that guy is loaded loaded Jason's father owns stock in most Fortune 500 companies that guy is loaded loaded you want to buy a Ferrari dude you need to be loaded to even think about doing that to get with Tom has been dreaming of getting with Sarah but she already has a boyfriend to get with if you want to get with Lucy you have to be nice and sweet to get
with I heard you got with Daniel last night is that true [Music]