I'm going to start here angel Reese wants credit she's not getting enough credit she did this too she taunted Caitlyn Clark she made this whole the the reason why WNBA is up is because of Angel Reese did you see what Jason Whitlock just said about angel Reese he didn't just disagree with her he completely exposed the financial delusion behind her demands for more money while Reese and Carrington are threatening to sit out if they don't get paid more they're ignoring one massive problem D I went from liking Ang Reese a little bit to now I
don't like Angel Reese I'm back to like she's just bad news the WNBA is losing $30 million every year that's right the league these players are demanding more money from is hemorrhaging cash and Whitlock just called out their entire strategy saying they're playing checkers in a game of chess is this the most outof touch demand in sports history and you know she she's falling right in line with the rest of the WNBA uh she's just an angry feminist you think Angel Reese's demands are reasonable wait until you hear what Jason Whitlock just said about the
wnba's financial situation while Reese and her fellow players are out there demanding bigger contracts and more money Whitlock dropped a financial bomb that completely shatters their argument he didn't just disagree with ree he exposed the uncomfortable truth that most basketball fans don't realize about women's professional basketball eyes uh they have a sit down on Angel Reese's podcast and start talking about the money they want and what the WNBA is planning if they don't get there the players don't get their money when Angel ree sits on her podcast talking about how WNBA players deserve more Whitlock
points to a harsh reality the league has been hemorrhaging money for years we're not talking about small losses either the WNBA is losing approximately $30 million every single year let that sink in for a moment a league that's bleeding cash at that rate is somehow facing players demanding bigger paychecks this kind of talk and they're not talking about this season they're talking about next season they're collective bargaining agreement this is a league that averages losing 25 $30 million a year Whitlock didn't pull any punches in his assessment he basically said these players are showing unprecedented
levels of entitlement while competing in a league that can't even financially support itself the most brutal part Whitlock suggested that instead of demanding more money these athletes should actually be paying to play given the dire Financial circumstances of the WNBA can you imagine any other professional athlete being told they should pay for the privilege of playing that's how bad Whitlock thinks the situation is and these women are talking about if we don't get what we want if we don't get what we deserve if you got what you deserve you'd be paying to play in the
WNBA what makes whitlock's critique so powerful is how he frames the fundamental disconnect between what these players believe they're worth versus the harsh business reality while Ree and others talk about about their value and leverage Whitlock points to that 25 to 30 million annual loss figure as the only number that truly matters in this conversation in his view how can you demand a bigger slice of a pie that doesn't even exist NBA but to be fair and you're right about that silence is golden and sometimes less is more when it comes to players talking and
and using their platform and getting out their message things got even more interesting when Whitlock addressed Reese's specific threat to sit out games if their salary demands weren't met you know how he responded he basically dared her to follow through because he knows it would have zero impact on the League success or viewership I wonder though if the average WNBA player that none of us knows is actually saying hey Angel would you shut the up seriously cuz this does not help the perception of the Le whitlock's dismissive reaction isn't just about calling Reese's Bluff it's
pointing to a Strate IC disaster happening in real time the overexposure of today's athletes through constant social media presence and endless podcast is fundamentally changing how fans view them and not in a good way according to Whitlock we're watching these WNBA Stars sabotage themselves tweet by tweet and podcast by podcast you know Steve when I watch that video one of the main thoughts that goes through my head it's just like overexposure have you noticed how practically every player has a microphone in their face these days Whitlock directly called this out saying everybody's got a podcast
everybody is getting interviewed non-stop everybody's putting themselves out there and they don't understand they're harming themselves it's like they're willingly removing the Mystique that once made sports stars special just overexposure everybody's got a podcast everybody is getting interviewed non-stop everybody's putting themselves out there and and they don't understand they're harming themselves when Whitlock says Angel Reese is playing Checkers in a game of chess he's highlighting a fundamental strategic error these players are broadcasting every thought grievance and demand to the world without considering the consequences that we're getting too much exposure to Angel Reese and D
J Carrington and the rest of these and so athletes from previous generations that didn't have podcast didn't have social media think about it in previous generations we barely knew anything about our favorite athletes beyond their performance on the court Michael wasn't giving daily updates about his contract negotiations or posting his thoughts on League policies they had the advantage of we didn't know much about them we didn't know how greedy entitled stupid what we didn't know because they weren't Overexposed did you hear that Whitlock made that exact point explaining that athletes from previous eras benefited because
we didn't know how greedy entitled stupid they weren't Overexposed when today's players constantly appear on podcast and social media they're revealing sides of themselves that fans might not want to see the entitlement the lack of strategic thinking the shortsightedness these guys are Overexposed and they're playing a game of Checkers in a game of chess the podcast conversation between Reese and Carrington is the perfect example of this problem by publicly discussing strike plans and salary demands they're showing their hand to everyone including League Executives and fans who might not be sympathetic to their cause what's more
they're potentially creating division within their own ranks anyway this is just a bad look for the WNBA Angel Reese just wants content for her podcast she's she's playing checkers in a game of check can you imagine what other WNBA players might be thinking right now Whitlock certainly has suggesting many of them are probably thinking Angel would you shut up every time ree speaks out about these issues she's potentially hurting the League's image and making it harder for all players to gain public support for better conditions but to be fair to the rest of that League
I wonder how many other women are thinking hey Angel be quiet be quiet you make a lot of other money doing other things we actually like this job and need this job we're all working for a vision don't ruin it for the rest of V speaking of players who might be thinking Angel would you shut up there's a glaring Omission in reese and Carrington's entire leverage discussion that Whitlock immediately zeroed in on how can you talk about WNBA player value for an entire podcast without once mentioning the name Caitlyn Clark and and if I'm an
average everyday WNBA player who appreciates what we have I'm thinking would you just be quiet seriously Whitlock didn't let this calculated silent slide pointing out that the two players most publicly antagonistic toward Clark somehow managed to have a full conversation about League leverage while completely avoiding the elephant in the room the very player driving unprecedented interest in wom's basketball it it it's funny that the two people having this conversation are two people that absolutely hate Caitlyn Clark and are jealous of Caitlyn Clark you see Whitlock didn't just call out this Omission he hammered home what
it reveals about Reese and Carrington's real agenda it's no coincidence he explained that the two players most hostile toward Caitlyn Clark are the ones plotting a work stoppage while ree is out there demanding more money and threatening strike Clark is quietly putting in the work letting her game speak for itself this stark contrast wasn't lost on Whitlock who praised Clark's approach while criticizing Reese's constant need for attention and couldn't think to say during this entire deal like because of the leverage that Caitlyn Clark has given us we may actually get paid more than what we
deserve but Whitlock didn't just make claims he backed them up with hard numbers that don't lie have you seen the attendance figures for WNBA a games with Clark versus games without her the difference is staggering Indiana Fever games are selling out Arenas Nationwide with ticket prices soaring to levels never before seen in the WNBA when Clark plays viewership spikes dramatically sometimes tripling or quadrupling normal figures meanwhile games without her often return to the League's historically modest audience numbers because it's it's all Caitlyn Clark but instead you have two very delusional pe oh we deserve this
we we blah blah blah we we we Whitlock didn't mince words about what this means 90% of the renewed interest in the WNBA is based around One Singular player Caitlyn Clark he argued that Clark's arrival has single-handedly transformed the League's visibility and marketability yet Reese and Carrington refus to acknowledge the source of their Newfound leverage instead they're effectively writing Clark's coattails while simultaneously refusing to give her credit I what did they lose I think 29 Million last year they're saying they lost that's an improve may maybe it's 50 yeah maybe it was 50 million it's
been 29 straight years of losing money now what do you think would happen to the WNBA if Clark wasn't part of the picture Whitlock laid out this brutal truth that strips away any illusion about where the power really lies without Clark driving viewership attendance and media coverage there would be absolutely no leverage for Reese or anyone else to demand higher salar the league would simply return to its pre- Clark Financial struggles making Reese's threats completely Hollow second we haven't heard anything from Caitlyn she's just gotten to work just gotten to work in the off season
yeah she doesn't have to run her mouth for attention she can actually let her play on the court uh run her mouth for her whitlock's warning about what happens if WNBA players go on strike should terrify Angel Reese and anyone else threatening work stoppages unlike a established sports leagues with Decades of fan loyalty the WNBA is walking on thin ice with its Newfound momentum Whitlock flat out says that work stoppages will irritate fans and there will be lasting impact from that he's not just speculating he's seen this movie before what and I'm telling you they
do have obvious leverage because of Caitlyn Clark and because of you know the momentum that women's basketball does have remember the 1994 lb strike that disaster nearly killed baseball's popularity overnight the sport had to rely on the steroid fueled home run race between Mark Maguire and Sammy Sosa to win fans back but here's the crucial difference Whitlock points out baseball had generations of deeply embedded cultural relevance to fall back on the WNBA doesn't have that luxury they've had mere months of genuine mainstream momentum primarily thanks to one rookie even understand the history what happened to
Major League Baseball in 1994 work stoppages will irritate fans and there will be lasting impact from that these guys had the steroid up and hit a bunch of home runs in order to get those fans back the timing couldn't be worse for strike talk just as casual sports fans are finally giving women's basketball a chance players are threatening to take the ball and go home Whitlock cuts through the fantasy with brutal Clarity he's pointing out what should be obvious fans aren't yet loyal to the league itself they're following the Clark phenomenon you should just be
careful Major League Baseball there could be a work stoppage in Major League Baseball in 2026 which if that happened that's more of a spotlight for the WNBA think about what this means for Angel Reese's bargaining position the foundation she's standing on while making demands is essentially quicksand Whitlock emphasizes that the last thing they need is some sort of work stoppage because it would just ruin a good thing this current golden opportunity for women's basketball could vanish overnight and so they're going to risk ruining a good thing the last thing they need is some sort of
work stoppage what makes whitlock's assessment so devastating is that it exposes a fundamental strategic error the wnba's collective bargaining agreement doesn't even expire until 2027 yet players like Reese are already floating strike threats with the League's financial situation still precarious these players risk killing the goose before it has a chance to lay golden eggs Major League Baseball has so much history that they could survive to some degree what they did to their reputation and their fan base whitlock's final verdict is merciless these players are actively harming themselves through their short-sighted demands instead of nurturing The
Fragile growth the league is experiencing they're impatiently demanding immediate rewards that the economics simply can't support they're not just playing a dangerous game with the League's future they're putting their own careers at risk they podcast as WNBA players striking would be the most toned deaf pro aete move in history the WNBA has never made a profit in its entire existence not going to lie I'm rooting for this to happen so whitlock's prediction is even more mind-blowing than we thought he's not just talking about the wnba's current problem he's suggesting we might see a completely different
League emerg from all this think about it l if the WNBA continues bleeding money while players like Reese keep pushing for more Whitlock believes we could see alternative opportunities pop up for the top women's basketball Talent the WNBA was founded in 1996 and has never made a profit in 29 years question for the business gurus can you think of any other for-profit business in America that is 29 years old has never made a profit and still exists I honestly can't the WNBA may be be the only one what's Most Fascinating is how this fits perfectly
with his Clark analysis if the WNBA implodes under Financial pressure where does Clark go she becomes the centerpiece of whatever new Venture emerges it's like Whitlock is playing 3D chess While others are stuck in the present so what do you think are we witnessing the beginning of the end for the WNBA as we know it or will cooler heads prevail before it's too late drop your thoughts below