This happened 2 years ago on New Year's Eve. I went over to my girlfriend's apartment who lived about 10 minutes away from me at the time. I lived in an apartment a little ways across town.
And my girlfriend and I didn't have any big plans that night, but we're just going to go out to eat and then come back and hang out. We were going to stay up past midnight to ring in the new year and then I was going to leave and go back home to my place. So, we went out that night and then we arrived back at my girlfriend's apartment at probably 9:00 p.
m. or so. She lived in a pretty typical apartment building at the time.
There was a complex of about 3 or four buildings there, and each one on its own had about four floors, so it was pretty large. My girlfriend's place was on the second floor of one of the buildings. We hung out in her living room watching TV and just hanging out, sitting on the couch.
It was a relaxing evening, but about an hour after we got back, suddenly we heard the door knob to her apartment start to turn. Somebody was trying to open the door. However, it was locked.
This caught both of our attention, obviously, and when it happened, I looked over to the door. Then, moments later, somebody started loudly knocking on it. I got up from the couch and then walked over to the door.
My girlfriend stayed on the couch and watched from a distance. I went up to the door and there was still someone knocking on it. I opened the door and whoever was there was still knocking on it when I did.
I saw a young man standing there right outside. He looked surprised somewhat to see me. I asked what he wanted and then the guy mumbled before saying that he was at the wrong address.
I told him okay and then shut the door. Then I watched through the peepphole as he walked away. I went back to the couch and asked my girlfriend if anything like that had happened before and she said no.
She could see the guy from where she was on the couch and I think he could sort of see her as well. She told me that she did not recognize the guy as someone who lived in the building. I figured maybe the guy was there to visit a friend and got the place mixed up.
Seemed like a pretty innocent mistake. At least that's what I hoped it was. The next few hours went by and then it was the new year and we watched the celebration on TV.
A short time later, we both got tired and I decided to head back to my place. By then, it was probably about 12:30 a. m.
and I had forgotten about the man at the door from earlier. I left my girlfriend's place and then started walking through her building to get back to my car. As I was walking down the hallway, I approached the area where the elevator was.
I was still on her floor, but when I approached the elevator, I noticed the same guy who had knocked on the door. He was just standing around sort of near the elevator, but as soon as I walked over there, he looked at me, turned, and started quickly walking away. It seemed kind of odd.
I continued to leave, but when I did, I texted my girlfriend and let her know that I saw the guy. Then I left the building, got out to my car, and started driving home. I made it just a few minutes into the drive when my cell phone started ringing.
I was getting a call from my girlfriend. When I answered, she said that the guy was back. She told me that he tried entering her place again and then he was knocking on the door.
She looked through the peepphole and saw him there, but did not answer. I asked her if he was going away and she said no, he was still there. So, I turned my car around.
I stayed on the line with her as I drove back and arrived at her apartment a couple of minutes later. I re-entered her building as she was able to unlock the main doors for me through her phone. I quickly went up to her floor and when I got there, the man was still there.
I saw him standing right out front of her door. When I started approaching, he looked over at me and seemed surprised to see me again. I asked him what he was doing in an angry tone.
The man said nothing, but turned and started quickly walking in the opposite direction. I chased after him. At that point, we both started running.
The man ran to the stairwell, which was at the end of that hallway. He got in there and then ran down the stairs all the way to the first floor and then left the building. I didn't bother to chase him down the street or anything, but I yelled at him that if he came back, I would kill him.
I obviously did not mean that literally, but I was just trying to scare him. After that, I went up to my girlfriend's and stayed the night there to give her peace of mind. He didn't return that night and the rest of the time that my girlfriend lived there, he never came back.
In fact, she said that she never saw him again and she doesn't live there anymore. I'm guessing he knew that she lived there, but either he didn't know about me or he didn't think that I was there. I also know that he didn't live in the building.
The guy was a creep and I'm glad that I was able to scare him off. This happened many years ago back when I lived in a very popular city and I had only been there for a few years at the time and lived in an apartment downtown. I met this guy through one of my friends and we started dating.
We dated for about a year and he also lived in the city not too far away from me. One year he invited me to a New Year's Eve party that was going to be at one of his friends apartments. Now, I had met a few of his friends, including the one that was hosting the party, so I was excited to go.
When the night came, we arrived at the party, and his friend's apartment was very nice. It was high up in a tall building downtown, and the apartment had quite a bit of space. There was a very large living room, as well as a kitchen, and off that was a hallway that led to several bedrooms and a bathroom.
There were quite a bit of people at the party, a lot of which I did not know. At first, I talked a lot to my boyfriend's friends and some of their wives or girlfriends. I was talking to one of the other women there for quite a while, and my boyfriend went off somewhere.
After the conversation, I had to use the restroom, but I did not know where it was. But I figured I would easily be able to find it. So, I wandered off the living room and around a corner to the hallway.
Now, in this hallway, it seemed like a logical place for the bathroom to be. I hadn't seen one, and I didn't know where else it would be. All the lights in the hallway were off and it was darker over there.
In the hallway, there were about five doors and they were all closed. I could see in the small crack at the bottom of the doors that each one had the lights off as well. I went to a door that I thought was the bathroom and opened it, but this was not the bathroom.
It was just a small closet. There appeared to be mostly coats in there. However, as soon as I opened the door, I saw someone right on the other side.
It was a man who was wearing all black, including a ski mask which covered his entire head. This surprised me. It seemed really odd, but I thought that maybe it was a joke or a prank that I didn't know about.
As soon as I opened the door, I think I said something like, "Oops, sorry. " And then I closed the door back within a second or two. The person inside the closet didn't say anything, but I could see that they were looking at me.
Then I walked down the hallway and I opened a door on the other side, which happened to be the bathroom. I went in there and closed the door behind me. As I was in the bathroom, I heard a door open down the hallway, which I figured to be the closet.
Then I heard someone walking towards the rest of the party. I realized that the masked man was probably leaving. Still, to this point, I was assuming it was a friend of someone and it was all just a joke.
However, not long after that, I started to hear some commotion. And then I heard the sound of a man's voice yelling, and everything else got really quiet. The music that had been playing in the background stopped and the chatter from the conversations did as well.
From where I was in the bathroom, I couldn't hear very well as to what the yelling man was saying. I could have left the bathroom at that point, but I decided not to. Instead, I put my head to the door and listened.
I could make out a word here and there, but not everything. However, as I listened, it sounded to me like the guy was robbing everybody at the party. He was giving orders and no one else was speaking.
After he spoke for a while, I heard a couple of other voices, but they were far too quiet to understand. Then, after a period of silence, I heard the loud man start talking again. I clearly heard him say, "Do not call police.
" And something about if anybody does, but I couldn't make out exactly what else. However, I got really nervous realizing that the mass man was quite possibly robbing everybody there. Did he know that I was in the bathroom?
Was he going to hurt anyone? There had to be about 30 people at the party, and so it would be hard for the robber to remember them all, so I didn't know if he would recognize me among the crowd or realize that I wasn't there with everybody else. Going against the robbers's wishes, I took out my cell phone and called the police.
I whispered into the phone that I believed a robbery was going on and gave them the address of the location. Then I hung up so as not to cause that much noise because it was really quiet other than that. I had locked the bathroom door, so I felt fairly safe in there.
But those feelings of safety quickly went away. After things were quiet for about another minute, I heard the man say something that I couldn't make out. Then about another minute later, he started to walk in the direction of the hallway that I was in.
I heard his footsteps get closer and closer. Soon, they seemed to stop at the hallway where the bathroom was. I was hoping that he wouldn't go any closer, but after a few seconds, he did.
His footsteps got closer and closer to the bathroom. Then he tried to open the door which was locked. He loudly said, "Is anybody in here?
" I did not answer. He tried opening the door hastily a few times and then took a few steps back towards the living room. As he was walking, he loudly asked if anybody was in the bathroom.
I heard someone quietly say something and the man said, "Then why is the door locked? " I was extremely nervous and basically holding my breath to not make any sound. I heard a little bit of quiet chatter which I couldn't make out.
But then I heard another door which sounded like the main door to the apartment open and close. Things were completely silent for a good minute or so. Then slowly the chatter picked back up again of people talking.
I thought that the guy must be gone now and I emerged from the bathroom. When I came out of the hallway to the living room, I saw everyone at the party all sitting and standing at the back corner of the room staring at me. Everyone looked surprised to see me.
I asked what had happened and they said they were just robbed. I was informed that the mass man had come out of nowhere and brandished a firearm to everyone as he stood in front of the door. He then demanded everyone's cell phone and wallet as well.
He had everybody put it in a sack and took a few people's jewelry such as watches and rings. Within minutes, he had everything in the sack and then left. He told them not to call the police.
They couldn't call anyways because the phones were stolen, but I already had called them and I still had both my wallet and phone. Just about 5 minutes after this, the cops arrived. They talked to everyone and then slowly people left the party.
It was one of the craziest things I've ever experienced. I felt sort of guilty for hiding in the bathroom while my boyfriend and everyone else got their stuff stolen. But also, why would I go out there and willingly let myself get robbed?
I had no weapon, and there was nothing that I was going to be able to do to stop it. Eventually, some of the stolen property was recovered and the man was caught as well. However, some items were not able to be recovered.
At the end of the day, I'm just glad that nobody got hurt. A few years ago, I went to a New Year's celebration in a park with my friends. We all live in a city and one of the big parks there was having a huge celebration.
It was going to take place the night of New Year's Eve and run until a little bit past midnight. The park is kind of on the edge of the city and it's very large. We live in a warm climate, so the weather would be nice and not too cold or anything.
At the park, they had food trucks, a live band, and things like that. They also have a big screen in another area that they occasionally use for movies in the park and stuff. So anyways, I met up with my friends there and I parallel parked on the side of this road that led to the park in one spot.
I walked there and met up with everybody else and we hung out for a while. I had got there at probably like 8:00 p. m.
and there were five of us friends in total, but overall there were hundreds of people at the park. We stayed until the big celebration at midnight of the new year. Then people started leaving.
At probably almost 1:00 a. m. is when we left, though.
Things were much quieter by then, but there were still a few people around. We walked to the end of the park and then sort of split up. Then I began walking back to my car.
It was maybe just two or three more minutes of a walk away. When I got around the corner to the street that my car was on, there were far less cars there. Next to my car was a grass area and then a woods.
There were a few street lights along the road that I parked, but overall it was sort of dark. I got to my car, hit the unlock button, and then got inside. Right when I did, I heard something to my right.
I looked over and saw this man emerging from the woods. I was not sure what he was doing in there, but the man then began to walk towards my car. I did not think that he was going to me and expected him to turn at some point, but he did not.
Instead, the man walked right up to my passenger side door and then knocked on the window of it. I rolled down the window a little for some reason. Looking back, I don't know what I was thinking.
some suspicious man walks out of the woods after midnight and knocks on my window and then I open it for him. I wasn't drunk or anything, so I don't have a good explanation. But anyways, when I rolled the window down, the man just stared at me and didn't say anything for a few seconds.
I was confused, but then suddenly he reached down and opened the car door. It had still been unlocked at that point. Then he started to climb in.
In an instant reaction, I knew that I kept pepper spray in my center console of the car. I quickly reached for it. When the man entered the car, he started to get closer to me.
Without hesitating, I sprayed him right in the face. He moved back and then quickly got out of the car, holding his hands over his eyes. As soon as he was gone, I drove away from there with the passenger's door still open.
However, it soon swung shut and I drove all the way back home. Finally, when I got back, I was able to take a deep breath and relax. I feel very lucky to have gotten out of that situation.
Okay. I'm not sure what that man's intentions were, but I know that it wasn't just to say a friendly hello. He also didn't say a word the entire time.
If I didn't have my pepper spray, I'm not sure what I would have done. Last year on New Year's Eve, I went out to a few bars in the city with friends. We all live in apartments that are pretty close by, some closer than others, and most of us walked and met up at a bar sometime in the evening.
There were about eight of us that night in our group, all women, and we've known each other since high school. That night was a lot of fun. We went to about four or five different spots, and we stayed out until almost 2:00 in the morning.
With it being New Year's Eve night, the city was very busy with people going out and celebrating. At the end of the night, nobody was super drunk, but we all had been drinking. That's one of the main reasons that we chose to walk and most of the places are not that far, maybe 10 to 20 minutes.
Mine happened to be the farthest away. I had considered taking an Uber, but I walked with my friends instead. It wasn't that bad of weather.
It was a little chilly, but not too cold. When I said goodbye to my friends where their apartment was, it was on the way to mine anyways. My place was now only a little less than a 10-minute walk from there.
So, I walked down the sidewalk and things quickly went quiet. I didn't live downtown, but very close by. Still, my neighborhood was quieter and not as well lit.
When I was walking down the sidewalk, nobody else was around, but I had walked to and from the city many times before, so I wasn't too nervous. Not long after saying bye to my friends, though, I heard footsteps behind me. They were a good distance back, kind of far.
And at first, I ignored them. But as I continued to walk, it seemed as though they were getting closer and closer to me, and I was not walking super slow or anything. So, I decided to look back and see who was there.
When I did, I saw a man who was about 20 or 30 ft behind me, and he was looking right at me. He had a short beard and dark hair. When I noticed him, I started to turn back around, but he waved at me.
He then started walking even faster. He spoke and said hi. I stopped and turned around and said hi back to the man.
It made me feel a little bit better that he was friendly. He caught up to me and said that he saw me at the bar earlier that night. I had not seen him, but the bars were all pretty crowded.
I asked him which one, and he mentioned the last one of the night that we were at. He then said that he happened to live over there as well. We made some very small talk about basic stuff like the weather.
As we continued on, however, much of the walk, the conversation, and the guy's overall personality seemed really awkward. Soon, I arrived at my apartment and started walking towards it. I said good night to the guy, but he was still walking with me.
He then said that he lived there, too. It seemed odd because I had never seen him there before, but I believed him because obviously I didn't know everyone who lived at the place. I just thought that it was a coincidence.
So when I went to the building though, I unlocked the door and the guy walked in right behind me. Then I walked over to the elevator and he joined me there. By now this was seeming really awkward.
When I arrived at my floor, the man also got off the elevator there. I had never seen him on my floor before, much less in the entire building. When the elevator stopped, I offered him to get off first, but he waved me to go off first and then followed me.
So, he was now walking behind me as I went down the hallway to my apartment. When I arrived at my door, I said good night to the guy once again, and he said good night back. I breathed a sigh of relief when he continued walking down the hallway.
I realized that I guess he did live in my building. After getting back home, I was pretty tired, so I pretty much started getting ready for bed at that point. But in the middle of my nighttime routine, it was interrupted by a knock at the door.
I walked over quietly, wondering who was at my door at this hour. I did not open it, but looked out the peepphole. The same guy was there.
I still didn't answer, but kept watching him. He stayed around my door, but did not knock again. He was just hovering around there for like a minute or two.
Then finally, he walked away. I was really creeped out, but after that, I never saw him again. Never in the building or around it.
It is my belief that he did not live there. That's why he walked in the door after me. I never saw him get out a key or anything.
I think he just pretended to live there. This happened back when I was in college. During New Year's, most students would be back home for Christmas break.
There was no semester going on at the time, but a number of students would either stay there or go back early. The university was very large, so there would be a good number of people there. I was one of those people that would be on campus for New Year's, partly because the city I'm from is close by.
So, on New Year's Eve, I was back at my college house where I lived with two other guys, Cory and Justin. We were not necessarily planning on having some big party, but we were planning on having people over. Our house was good for hanging out at because we had two floors and a basement.
The main floor was just a living room, kitchen, dining room, and bathroom. And upstairs was all just the bedrooms. The basement was not really used as it was unfinished, and there was a lot of random poles and pipes down there.
Plus, the lighting wasn't very good. So, we had some good friends over on New Year's Eve and were just hanging out. A few other people that we knew came over, and by 10:00, it started to get busy.
Some people went out and others came over. The next thing I knew, there was pretty much a full-on house party occurring at our place. I will fast forward through the party as it was pretty typical.
Lots of music, drinking, and hanging out with friends. It went on until about 2:00 in the morning or so. Finally, by that point, people started clearing out and leaving.
Eventually, the place was empty, and my two roommates went up to bed. I was about to go up to bed as well, but before I did so, I decided I would quick make sure that nobody was in the basement. I opened the door and it was completely dark down there.
I took a step or two down and then turned on the light, just making sure. However, to my surprise, there was somebody down there. It was a woman, and she was just barely in my sight.
She looked to be college-aged and was not looking in my direction. She was alone and not on her phone or anything either. I called down asking what she was doing down there.
She didn't say anything, but looked up at me and then started to walk over towards the stairs. I didn't recognize her and was not sure as to who she was. The girl walked upstairs and then I told her to have a good night.
She still didn't say anything and walked over to the front door. I didn't know why she was in our basement because she wasn't with anyone. It's like she was just standing there in the dark by herself doing nothing and she never said anything to me the whole time.
After she left, I went upstairs and then went to bed. I fell asleep really quickly as I was really tired from staying up late. However, sometime in the night, I woke up.
I typically don't wake up in the night, so this was strange. My room was pitch dark inside and I just remember that before trying to fall back asleep, I turned over in bed. When I did, even though it was dark, I saw that someone was standing in my bedroom.
It was a woman. And I sat up really fast in my bed, wondering what on earth was going on. When I did, my eyes sort of adjusted and I realized that it was the same girl who had been in our basement earlier.
As soon as I quickly sat up in the bed, the girl turned around and ran out of my bedroom. I got up and turned on the light and then left the room. When I did, I heard her still running, and soon after, I heard the front door downstairs open and close.
I went down and confirmed that she had left. I locked the door and then went over and locked the back door as well. I looked around the house, making sure that nothing was stolen or broken or anything.
Things were fine. The rest of my time in college, I never saw that girl again. I have no idea who she was or what she was doing.
I mean, she was just randomly standing in our basement in the dark and then was just standing in my bedroom in the dark as well. It was one of the creepiest things I've ever seen.