my boyfriend thinks burping in my face and farting on me is funny but after he did it to me during intimacy I'm starting to think it'll be funny if I leave him for good posted by you/ Throne throw Throne hello Reddit this is really awkward and embarrassing to share but I can't think of anywhere else to get advice I 23f have been dating my boyfriend James 25m for just over a year we have a really good relationship and are good at communicating any issues that arise I am very much in love with him and we
are happy now maybe he's very comfortable with me which I know is a good thing but I'm very frustrated and I don't know if it's just me this is the only issue I have with him he's just constantly farting and burping and it's starting to really gross me out it feels stupid to even type that but it's really become excessive we are both out of school and working full-time we don't live together yet but he is starting to move into my apartment this started about 5 months into our relationship and it has gotten progressively worse
he will burp constantly and blow it into my face to the point where will start dry heaving because he thinks it's funny he does the same thing with farting always trying to do it on me because he finds it hilarious I know it's normal I grew up with four brothers but he is constantly forcing it to happen this is not just once or twice we've spent almost every night together over the past 6 months and it happens all night all night I have asked him to please stop because I find it really gross especially the
burping since he does it in my face and it turns my stomach he apologizes but still continues to do it he even lean in for a kiss and burp in my face instead then laugh himself to the point of Tears when I act disgusted at first I thought maybe he was just really gassy and I should be more understanding because it's a natural bodily function but he does not act like this when we're out to dinner or with friends a few months ago we went to a wedding with some of his family members and he
accidentally burped really loudly like he normally does when he's alone with me our table went silent and glared at him I didn't want him to feel embarrassed so I high-fived him and said good one the whole people started laughing and cheering afterward he pulled me aside and said he was thankful I did that because he felt humiliated but I broke the ice I was a bit drunk and frustrated so I asked him why he does it to me constantly but wouldn't do it in front of others his reasoning was that I am his girlfriend and
he should be able to play around with me like that he said I was being a typical girl for finding it rude uptight and high maintenance I didn't want to argue so I told him I was none of those things he knew it and we talked later when we were sober I just wanted to enjoy the party and we did but nothing has changed I've tried to make plans to be out of the house when we see each other because even though it seems ridiculous it's starting to stress me out I can't talk to any
of my friends about it because they think it's so funny he is a very sweet guy and I like spending time with him but I feel nauseous when we're alone together because it's just so gross he's also starting to work longer shifts so he wants to stay in most nights to relax he's even started doing it during bedroom intimacy as a joke and our bedroom life has really suffered because of it a few nights ago he was texting me before he got off work complaining about his day and seeming really stressed out I told him
I'd come over make his favorite meal and help him forget about it I went over to his house and started cooking while he finished work after dinner he leaned in to kiss me and I turned my head because I'm so used to him burping in my face we ended up arguing because he accused me of cheating since we haven't been having bedroom intimacy I told him it was because of the burping and he said I needed to get over it that he was only joking and I was being such a prud he insisted his girlfriend
shouldn't reject a kiss from him and so on I told him I've been saying this is a problem for a while that I don't think it's funny at all and I have even thrown up because of it he started laughing as I said that I just lost it I don't usually yell at people I'm calm and collected so I think I scared him a bit I told him it was disgusting and I'm getting to the point where I'm no longer attracted to him I've been trying so hard to be understanding but it's a two-way street
it wasn't about something being gross or funny anymore it was about respect he got defensive trying to claim I was overreacting and being ridiculous but I shut it down he eventually apologized saying he didn't realize I felt so strongly about it and would try not to do it anymore I don't care that it happens I only care that he forces it Etc after talking it out for the next couple of hours he actually didn't burp in my face or fart on me I was so happy I could finally enjoy cuddling with my boyfriend without feeling
like I was going to vomit so I started initiating bedroom intimacy to help him forget about his his bad day you already know where this is going it's humiliating but I'm going to type it out anyway as I was trying to go down on him he pushed my head down so I couldn't get away tensed up and started farting loudly while laughing I was so frustrated I immediately started crying I think he realized he did something wrong because he let go of my head tried to hold me and kept saying I'm sorry I thought you
meant to do it less I thought it would be funny to break the tension from before but I got up and left his apartment that was 2 days ago he has been calling and texting me constantly I haven't responded his messages range from being very apologetic to very angry back and forth I don't know what to do I feel like this relationship is over but I still love him I also feel really gross and violated in a way our mutual friends have been texting me to ask if everything is okay and I've tried explaining the
situation to my best friend but he found it hilarious I'm afraid to explain it to anyone else this is just so stupid I literally feel like I'm crazy maybe I'm uptight Etc I also have a lot of his stuff here and I'm worried he'll come back to get it and I'll have to face him what should I do am I just overreacting update one day later thank you to everyone who replied to my original post and also to those who PM me I wasn't really expecting so much support but I'm glad I'm not alone last
night I was pretty miserable and I just felt confused and sick about the whole thing reading what everyone had written really helped me process what I was feeling and rationalize everything I just want to clear a few things up before I get into how this has escalated for me my boyfriend did not start out doing this constantly I remember the first time he did it I was confused and calmly told him right away that I did not like it and he seemed to understand I have never laughed when he did it on purpose I know
the difference between an accident and what he does a lot of the replies help me examine my relationship as a whole we have had other problems that seemed to follow the same pattern he had the same behavior with driving very fast for fun and he also had a Sim issue with playfully pinching and tickling me but he was doing it so hard that it left bruises I always expressed that I did not like this but he insisted that I was overreacting when I showed him that he was actually hurting me he stopped completely and never
did it again I didn't think it was important to bring up I know a lot of people suggested that I do the same thing to him or retaliate in the same way it might sound nice to entertain that fantasy but I'm really not like that I will never let someone else's actions define who I am as a person I know I will never intend Al hurt someone and that makes me have faith in myself a few of you made me cry because before I wrote my post I felt completely unsupported and alone and well really
ridiculous and dumb so thank you very much for taking the time to help me even though I'm a stranger and none of you owe me anything let alone your time and kindness now onto today I have not replied to any of James's messages I blocked him on all devices I feel like I basically told him it was over and he knew that I messaged a few of our mutual friends back saying that I would really appreciate it if they would just drop it that everything is okay with me but the relationship is over a post
said I didn't have to explain the situation completely so I did that they seemed very understanding except one who replied saying over a onetime incident get real low but whatever so long as you're happy it didn't really bother me because I know the truth it was hurtful that James may have lied but I'd rather surround myself with people who value honesty I also invited my best friend over and asked him if he could help me box all of James's belongings to which he agreed right away he kept asking me what happened and if I was
okay so I showed him this post and he was disgusted he apologized for laughing when I had tried to tell him earlier because he said he didn't know it was so serious he offered to take James's belongings to him but I made him promise not to be hostile or I'd ask someone else he agreed we spent a lot of the day in my apartment when the front door opened it's hard for me to articulate myself but I'll try to type it exactly as it happened we both heard it and stopped talking immediately it was James
I'm not going to lie I was immediately frightened maybe I could have handled it better but I kind of just stood there I just didn't expect to see him he has never shown up at my home or work without warning my friend asked him what the f do you think you're doing here James kept staring at me and ignored him saying I thought you were dead or something why have you been ignoring me my friend stepped in front of him handed him one of the boxes and told him he could take his stuff and leave
that it was over and I didn't want to talk to him James laughed made a move towards me and said I needed to talk to him alone but my friend moved in front of him again and told him that he shouldn't be in my house Uninvited that it was illegal and he was going to call the police then James got really mad twisted his face all weird and I can't explain it but he started yelling and it was like he wasn't the same person at all he called me a SLT and a CNT and said
that I was some ridiculous princess and he just kept going my friend said that's nice now you need to leave or I'm going to make you then James threw down his box and punched my friend in the face I don't remember exactly what happened but my friend fell back and James came up to me and grabbed me he started shaking me saying I was stupid for throwing this all away and that I was probably sleeping with my friend I was very afraid and I couldn't believe this was happening my friend got up grabbed him by
the back of his shirt threw him off me and shoved him out of my apartment James ran away down the hall kicking people's doors and screaming my neighbor had come out of his apartment and asked what was going on I told him to call an ambulance because my friend was bleeding from his nose I was so embarrassed at the hospital I kept embarrassing myself by crying and apologizing to my friend while we were in the waiting room his nose is broken he keeps making Owen Wilson jokes SL Impressions but he is okay I'm at my
friend's house for now because I am afraid to go home he said I can stay with him for as long as I need to I feel really awful that my friend got his nose broken because I was a bad judge of character I also feel really guilty that I got so scared I just kind of stood there and let my friend get hurt my friend is taking me to the police station to file a report but I just want this whole thing to be over he is insistent because I need to do this to ensure
my safety this is my first relationship and I don't even know if this person was real how do people hide that kind of anger for over a year I didn't think something like this could even happen I don't understand what I missed I feel ashamed even writing all of this because it's started from something so small and juvenile so I don't know if I'm just handling it weird or if my head is blowing it completely out of proportion