Let's dive into this month's roundup. We're updating our ad suitability review process to improve accuracy and help you monetize faster. Now, during the check step during the upload flow, your video may receive additional reviews before an ad suitability monetization decision is made.
Previously, additional reviews only happened if you appealed the yellow icon monetization decision. Now, we're automatically sending videos that receive a limited or no ads rating for an additional review, which may be completed by a human. This new additional review helps give you a more accurate decision upfront.
Note that some of your videos initial checks may take longer, up to 24 hours in some cases. Add suitability decisions for most videos will still be made within minutes. If your videos are sent for additional reviews, you'll see additional review under the restrictions column in YouTube Studio.
For more info, check out the links in the description, including an in-depth video on this change. Streamers, we're launching sideby-side ads on live streams so that viewers can continue watching your streams while ads play. This new way to serve ads during your stream is less disruptive and replaces existing full screen midroll breaks while still generating similar revenue.
During a sidebyside ad break, the video player will shrink and the ad will run alongside the stream. The audio of the stream will be muted while the audio from the ad plays. When the ad break has ended or the ad has been skipped, the video player will expand back and the stream's audio will resume.
Side-by-side ads will be enabled automatically if you have mid rolls enabled on your live stream via the let YouTube decide setting. To access this setting, head to live control room, then edit, then monetization. We hope this update will improve the viewing experience for your live stream audiences.
In the coming months, the revert to original feature in the YouTube Studio editor will be deprecated. This means that you will no longer be able to revert changes made using blur, trim, audio replace, or song erase. With this change, we recommend downloading a copy of your video before editing.
The revert to original feature had a high level of abuse, and we want to protect our systems against these practices. So, we've made the decision to deprecate this starting in June. For more info, check out the links in the description.
You can now allow your viewers to upvote their favorite videos in a playlist, which lets them shape the playlist flow. Voting is turned on by default for collaborative playlists, and the top voted videos in the playlist will be shown first. If you want to turn on voting for a non-colaborative playlist or disable it on a collaborative playlist, head to YouTube Studio on mobile, then the content tab.
Choose the three dot menu on the playlist you want. Choose edit, then under voting, choose from everyone, collaborators only, or off. Check out the links below for more info on collaborative playlists.
That's it for this month. We'll see you next time.